We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Targa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlas Targa & Resort to your Saves list
Atlas Targa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Douar Bouchareb Targa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #323 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We read some bad reports about this hotel but what a lovely hotel it is like a four star, we had a lovely room with kitchen and lounge and was just given this. Food was very nice and lots to choose from. Pools lovely but one complaint which has been committed on before loud music playing which is not nice when you are trying to sun bathe but we got round this by going to the other pool further away. Mainly French speaking had some trouble at reception making them understand what we were asking but not a major problem to be honest. No trouble getting on the shuttle bus to town as lots of buses scheduled through out the day.

All in all we would recommend this hotel you will not be disappointed. Go on the spa trip reps recommend the one in hotel is rubbish.

Linda and Keith (couple) July 2013

Room Tip: Ground floor away from main swimming pool area, we had a room behind reception which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    325
    196
    117
    92
See reviews for
325
262
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently went on a weeks holiday to this hotel in Marrakech, our flight arrived late, after having to have our room changed because it was unsuitable for our party we asked for a bottle of water and were made to pay 20 dirhams for it in an all inclusive resort!!! the staff were rude, unhelpful, did not speak English and had no intention of helping anyone! the food was awful and you had to often hunt for glasses and cutlery! I would suggest you take your own beaker with you as the size of the glasses they provide is ridiculous. The actual hotel is lovely but let down by disgraceful customer service, odd times for food and drinks and the site shop opens when it feels like it! We did have a spa day there which was fantastic and I would recommend.
If you do not speak French fluently I would COMPLETELY AVOID this hotel as they do not cater for English speakers at all. The medina was good fun and the market traders are much nicer than the staff at this hotel!

Room Tip: take your own pool towel and a cheap large plastic cup/beaker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

very clean, hotel is very well persented, new towels everyday, maid is very efficient, restaurant basic evening meal could be better, overall enjoyed our stay, the trip we did with rashid was very good helped us a lot very useful knowledge of the old town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here not by choice - sent here by Ryanair after they cancelled our flight 12 June. With the exception of one gentleman on reception, the rest of the staff were appalling...rude, unhelpful and at times downright unpleasant! We arrived about 10.30pm after a long anxious wait at the airport for the Ryanair staff to tell us when they were going to get us home (queued for over 3 hours)...and when it got to our turn to book in, we were told there were no double rooms left and we would have to have a family room and share with strangers. There was no food, and couldn't buy so much as a packet of crisps at the bar, having not eaten since 2pm that day. We had been told we would be fed at the hotel on arrival. The reception staff were extremely stressed and rude - but they got to go home after their shift...we were stranded in a foreign country. We finally got some food at breakfast the next morning. I would like to say it was worth the wait but I would be lying. Indifferent. The poolside....unless you are a teenager or in your twenties (or very young at heart)..this is not for you...extremely loud music accompanied by the entertainment staff on the loudspeaker being amusing...NOT! Couldn't wait to leave the place...which we managed the following day by booking a return flight with another airline as the best Ryanair had managed was to book us on a flight in 8 days time. Will I go back to Marrakech? Oh yes...in a heartbeat...loved it! Will I be staying at the Atlas Targa? OMG - NO!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've never experienced nothing like this hotel, honestly the worse i've been in all our trip in Maroc. When compared to 2 star hotels where we stayed this is even worst. The staf is very rude and unprofessional specially the reception, it seems that they are doing you a favor. We arrived about 5 PM, and promissed our son a swimming at the pool, after a 750 km drive, when we arrived and after waiting a long time at the reception and after the check inn they took us at our room when we arrived the room was not ready and we were left without place to leave the bags and changing to go to the pool, i returned to the reception, and after a very long time they said they we're sorry and we're going to give us another room, we go to again to the new room and once again the room was not ready, we get back to the reception for the third time with our bags carried by us, and again after making a complaint and calling the manager he tried to appoligize and he took us to a third room, when we arrived at the third room the maids were inside cleaning it, he seemmed to get angry and shouted for them to get out and leave the room for us to get inside. Finaly we changed clothes and go the pool, when we arrived there and after 2 to 3 hours after we arrived at the hotel they told we could not go into the pool because it should be closed for them clean it. we've tried to explain that we only arrived at the pool at that time because they took 2 to 3 hours to get us a room and our son whanted only 10 minutes top to take a dip, they didn't care, nevertheless we took a bath. At dinner there werent not enough forks to eat, cleaned plates and no food, the staff are very young inexperienced boys who had to be asked several times the same things, and i could go on, please do youself a favor and get a cheaper and better hotel or riad even with lesser stars because you will get friendly staff, pay less and get better servisse overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were located in this hotel (resort) with other people by Ryanair, because our flight was annulated, due to a strikes (11 and 12 June) in France.
This resort is "in the middle of nowhere" and because Ryanair provided us only 1 night free hotel, we and other people had to return the next day to Marrakech, to look for an alternative till the day we could fly home.
Although the hotel has a continuous shuttle-bus service, they didn't allow us to take the shuttle to Marrakech-center. This was (so the manager said) because we had luggage and they only transferred people without luggage....The shuttle-bus left several times only for one third filled with guests!
We talked with the manager and explained him several times our situation (we were not there for "fun" after all!!), but he just said no and said: it's not my problem. So, we had to wait (since this was the middle of nowhere) for hours outside the hotel and had to pay an idiot amount of money to take a private taxi to Marrakech.
Never ever experienced more unfriendly Marcoccan staff then in this resort!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour. The hotel is a resort style and the room we had was big, quiet and comfortable. There are pools, activities, and a restaurant The hotel staff were variable and a times when we had to ask for information it was given in an off hand, blunt manner at reception. The breakfast was not fantastic for a resort style hotel with limited options and not set out well however as it was included in the tour I'm not sure of the price. There is a shuttle bus that goes to and from Marakesh centre but not often and although free it is necessary to book in advance. It is not possible to walk anywhere into town from the hotel, and the area around the hotel is predominantly residential and flower farms, with some restaurants on a main road close by. For us the location was a major drawback as we would have preferred to be able to walk to and from the medina in a less appointed hotel, especially to get to know the city a bit better. We ended up catching a taxi back to the hotel after dinner in the medina but it would have been better to have been able to walk and soak in more of the atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Atlas Targa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Targa & Resort

Address: Douar Bouchareb Targa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#133 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlas Targa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort offers a free shuttle service every 2 hours to the center of Marrakech, 10 minutes drive. It also has a pool and an Oriental spa and spacious rooms with balconies. Atlas Targa & Resort has a private tennis court and several bars and restaurants, including a snack bar by the pool. The rooms at the Atlas Targa & Resort are air conditioned and feature modern décor. They enjoy a view of the Atlas Mountains. Each is equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. On site you will find a shop, a nightclub, and a free mini-club for children. Guests can also relax by the fireplace in the elegant lounge or on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlas Targa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Targa Hotel Marrakech
Atlas Targa And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Targa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.