We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive outcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Avenue - CLOSED

L'Avenue
Rue Ahmed Chaouqi/ Angle Rue Echchouada | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 663-519992
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $61
Cuisines: French, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We aim to make every occasion a memorable event. Our talented & experienced team is here to offer a gourmet sensation with a unique experience in an atmosphere combining a stylish and trendy setting with exceptional fine dining. Whether for a romantic evening, an intimate dinner for a group or to celebrate that special occasion our attention to detail will make your visit to l'Avenue an unforgettable moment. Menus can be tailored to your needs and we will do our best to accommodate any special requests. You can also enjoy our piano bar for drinks.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Positive outcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Despite some confusion over our reservation upon arrival and my insistence that I had spoken with the restaurant earlier the same day and had confirmed reservations for 9pm the manager repeatedly insisted that he didnt have our reservation. After several minutes of bantering he suggested we take a seat at the bar and he would try to seat us as quickly as possible.
Thirty minutes later we had a table, Overall food was very good with good portion sizes. Wine list is somewhat limited, but there are some good options on it. Service was good, attentive and friendly. The restaurant is rather dark, but that is part of the overall ambiance and when you combine it wth a live singer the end result is good with a very relaxing enviornment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    32
    9
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
“The worst experience I've ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Well, we came to this restaurant at about 20.30 with no reservation. Only half of the tables were occupied. They told us to wait a bit in a lounge (half an hour or an hour maximum). We asked for coffee that was on the menu and it turned out that the coffee machine was broken. So, no coffee. Then we asked for a glass of red wine - instead they brought us white. The tea was not hot as it should be but warm. The toilet (one cabin only) was really dirty and the used towels were all over - I didn't manage to find a clean one. Some facilities didn't work at all. We waited for 1 hour 40 minutes. All this time the tables around were available. I would not tell a word about food as I didn't taste it but the restorant is really overpriced. In comparison wit Casablanca's Best restaurants the drinks and food costs 30-40 percent more. After we left at 22.10 it was really very difficult to find decent dinner. So, once again - my worst experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great modern resturant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

went with some friends to L"avenue based on internet recommendations. It is a place for the young and beautifull but even us old and uglies enjoyed our time there. The food was lovely, the service was excellent and the ambiance was most enjoyable, including the very good singer. It gets busy later in the evening and accordingly the noise goes up but this is totally in tune with what one might expect, so if you want a quite dinner go early. Overall, I'd recommend this and revisit without hesitation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasent Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Restaurant was fairly quiet, the decor is trendy if a little dark for us older ones when it comes to reading the menu
Food and service were very good and the singer (crooner type) was excellent

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

One of my best address in Marrakech! Would definitely recommend it.
The food is amazing and the decor stunning.
Service is also very good as the manager, Ludovic, used to work for the most well known and famed restaurants in Marrakech. Small insider tip: try the lobster ravioli!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Avenue also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.