We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad don't rate the spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Anika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ksar Anika
Save Saved
You added Ksar Anika to your Saves list
Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely riad don't rate the spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this riad from January 16th to 20th. The riad itself is stunning and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. The riad however is suited to warmer weather (marble and courtyard/roof) so was very cold while we were there - even by the fire we were still quite cold and we found that we constantly had to keep our room heated at 32c in order for the room to be bearable. This was a bit annoying for sleeping as I don't like fan noise. We had a dinner at the riad and the food was nice and the service was great so would recommend this one evening. The breakfast was nice but very sweet - all breads, jams, cakes etc. They could benefit from some eggs/cheese etc. We were in room 9 - the bed was disappointing as it was 2 singles put together so dipped in the middle which wasn't great for my back - I am not sure if they are all like this? Spa wise I was very disappointed - I had a massage which was good but overpriced at 450 dirhams I felt. I have had better in London for cheaper. We tried a joint hammam which was fine but the temperature was not that hot - finally we got pedicures and the lady hurt one of my cuticles and made me bleed - the riad manager was good and took these off the bill which is only to be expected. I would suggest going elsewhere for treatments as they are too pricey here and I would not rate them. We ordered two taxi transfers - both for 200 dirhams. The first driver was great but the return driver had no wing mirror, seat belts and drove quite fast and texted at the same time - I have since reported it to the riad. Overall a lovely riad but wrap up warm if going in the winter - try a meal there but don't bother with the spa as it is not worth it. We tried Dar Yacout for dinner and it was fab - expensive at 700 dirham each but all the wine was included. We also got a tour guide to show us through the souks and were glad we did this.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ksar Anika twice in December while using Marrakech as a base. The first stay we were in room 12, on the inside of the riad, it was very quiet and the room was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very helpful. On our return to Marrakech, we stayed in room 14, which was on the outside of the riad - it was very noisy from the traffic so if you can, get a room facing the courtyard.

Wifi access was good in the lounge area but not available in the room. The riad is also situated about a 10-15 minute walk from the main square and souks and there is nothing by way of shops or restaurants in the immediate vicinity, however a 5-10 minute walk away is the KosyBar, which is quite a nice bar and another couple of restaurants in the same square. For people wanting to be in the hub of things, this may not be the place for you but it is very nice and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 12 is a courtyard room - very quiet and you cannot hear any of the traffic outside. Avoid room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this riad. It's a lovely modern riad with large rooms. The staff are friendly. Since we came in December, breakfast and dinner was served in a cosy dining room with a fireplace. It is located in a corner of the Medina next to the old Jewish cemetery. It's a very quiet area. But it is also quite far from the central Jenaa el Fnaa Square - a good 20 minute walk and very quiet and dark in some areas at night. It is not unsafe though as there are always people walking around. But if u are shopping at the souk in the Square, it's quite a distant to walk back to drop your things. Taxi may be required.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

You can't help but shed your cynicism when you meet the staff of this riad because they are truly genuiniely nice people who want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I loved my room - it was neat and tidy at all times, the staff was so helpful and cheerful, and the location of this riad was just a short 15-minute walk to Jemaa el Fna and the souks! It was also within walking distance to the Badi Palace and the Royal Palace. There was a tranquility to this place that contrasted with the vibrant chaos of Marrakech, so it was nice to come home every night to peace.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this riad. It is outside of the main chaos of Marrakech but easy walking distance to the main square for example (10 -15 mins) and closer than that to really nice restaurants and bars. The staff were welcoming, helpful and attentive without being overbearing. We did not have supper there but the mint tea and biscuits on arrival and the breakfasts were wonderful. Breakfast consists of fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and yoghurt and a variety of French and Moroccan breads - lovely. Highly recommended!! We were in the Marrakech imperial room which was lovely - spacious and lovely balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived in this beautiful riad quite late in the evening but were welcomed with warm smiles and instant attention, the mint tea and home made biscuits followed closely. The immediate reaction is the sheer elegant sophistication of decor and furnishings - no expense appears to have been spared on selecting the most fitting item to show off every corner etc. Someone with great artistic talent has been in charge here. A wonderful collection of plants which are at home in the two beautiful internal courtyards help to set off a small lounge area as well as the pool area with dining area close by.

Our bedroom was simply furnished but with typical old Moroccan furniture. The bed was very comfortable with thin duvet type coverlet. An empty fridge had been set working so was already cold should we have needed it. The windows in the room all open out into the courtyard so there is a rather dim natural light. Air conditioning was provided. The large marble bathroom provided a large bath with shower over and the washbasin had unusual toiletries provided. All worked to perfection and nothing was missing.

May favourite place was the expansive roof area with several plants growing in large terra cotta pots - bougainvillea etc. amongst other items whose names were unknown to me. The views around are stunning - at a distance the tower of the Katoubia Mosque, the roof of the El Bahia Palace which is a short walk away and costs a mere 10 dirhams entry. Ahead and to the right are the Atlas mountains but in the foreground the busy city scape of the medina, in which Ksar Anika stands. To the right foreground are the Jewish and Muslim burial grounds

The all important food was very good. Breakfast consisted of a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, cereal, fruit salad, pancakes with a choice of jam or honey, tea and coffee. Plenty of freshly made Moroccan bread and butter available. Dinner gave choices of good soup, simple salads, tagines, omelettes etc. The sweets too simple but good and with fruit. The menu is not large but we found it perfectly adequate and unusual. The weather was hot and we were not desperately hungry.

Jmaa El Fnaa was not too far for us to walk. Just turn left out of the hotel and follow that road - although it turns to left and right before arriving in a small cross roads where, just to the right is the El Bahia Palace, but ignoring this continue forward then to the left and into a large area - this will be Place des Flerbontiers. In the square you will have a choice of 3 ways. Take the first very narrow street and this eventually leads directly into Jmaa El Fnaa. A word of warning re taxis. We were told that Petit taxis used their meters. Not true! Only one of the 3 we used did so. The other problem is that to get by taxi to the Riad either you have to walk back from Place des Flerbontiers because the little street is One Way, or you get a taxi to the Cemetiere Juif - Jewish Cemetery. If you say Riad Ksar Anika, first they probably won't know it because there are so many and secondly they are associated with affluent tourists! The fare would rise accordingly. So you have to be crafty over this.

All this said, the experience is well worth the efforts - 2 or 3 days is all we could stand of the crowds, traffic, motor cycles, touts etc. Read all about it in a guide first to get the best experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor, cemetery side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent three nights in this beautiful Riad and did not want to leave. The staff are wonderfully attentive, breakfasts are superb and we had a very nice dinner our first night. The rooms are spacious and very well decorated and bathrooms were large and bright. It was obviously built to be a Riad not converted to be one.

WiFi is available but only in one area of the Riad - it gave us a chance to meet with our fellow WiFi'ers on a regular basis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ksar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Anika

Address: Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ksar Anika - an oasis of peace in the centre of the medina of Marrakech. Designed and built from ground up by the owners of Dar Anika it is intended to be your home from home where your holiday can be as exciting or as tranquil as you would like it to be. A blend of traditional and modern decoration lightens a traditional riad design: space, light, peace and tranquility in the centre of the souq. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ksar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.