We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful riad in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Anika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ksar Anika
Save Saved
You added Ksar Anika to your Saves list
Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful riad in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

You can't help but shed your cynicism when you meet the staff of this riad because they are truly genuiniely nice people who want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I loved my room - it was neat and tidy at all times, the staff was so helpful and cheerful, and the location of this riad was just a short 15-minute walk to Jemaa el Fna and the souks! It was also within walking distance to the Badi Palace and the Royal Palace. There was a tranquility to this place that contrasted with the vibrant chaos of Marrakech, so it was nice to come home every night to peace.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this riad. It is outside of the main chaos of Marrakech but easy walking distance to the main square for example (10 -15 mins) and closer than that to really nice restaurants and bars. The staff were welcoming, helpful and attentive without being overbearing. We did not have supper there but the mint tea and biscuits on arrival and the breakfasts were wonderful. Breakfast consists of fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and yoghurt and a variety of French and Moroccan breads - lovely. Highly recommended!! We were in the Marrakech imperial room which was lovely - spacious and lovely balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived in this beautiful riad quite late in the evening but were welcomed with warm smiles and instant attention, the mint tea and home made biscuits followed closely. The immediate reaction is the sheer elegant sophistication of decor and furnishings - no expense appears to have been spared on selecting the most fitting item to show off every corner etc. Someone with great artistic talent has been in charge here. A wonderful collection of plants which are at home in the two beautiful internal courtyards help to set off a small lounge area as well as the pool area with dining area close by.

Our bedroom was simply furnished but with typical old Moroccan furniture. The bed was very comfortable with thin duvet type coverlet. An empty fridge had been set working so was already cold should we have needed it. The windows in the room all open out into the courtyard so there is a rather dim natural light. Air conditioning was provided. The large marble bathroom provided a large bath with shower over and the washbasin had unusual toiletries provided. All worked to perfection and nothing was missing.

May favourite place was the expansive roof area with several plants growing in large terra cotta pots - bougainvillea etc. amongst other items whose names were unknown to me. The views around are stunning - at a distance the tower of the Katoubia Mosque, the roof of the El Bahia Palace which is a short walk away and costs a mere 10 dirhams entry. Ahead and to the right are the Atlas mountains but in the foreground the busy city scape of the medina, in which Ksar Anika stands. To the right foreground are the Jewish and Muslim burial grounds

The all important food was very good. Breakfast consisted of a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, cereal, fruit salad, pancakes with a choice of jam or honey, tea and coffee. Plenty of freshly made Moroccan bread and butter available. Dinner gave choices of good soup, simple salads, tagines, omelettes etc. The sweets too simple but good and with fruit. The menu is not large but we found it perfectly adequate and unusual. The weather was hot and we were not desperately hungry.

Jmaa El Fnaa was not too far for us to walk. Just turn left out of the hotel and follow that road - although it turns to left and right before arriving in a small cross roads where, just to the right is the El Bahia Palace, but ignoring this continue forward then to the left and into a large area - this will be Place des Flerbontiers. In the square you will have a choice of 3 ways. Take the first very narrow street and this eventually leads directly into Jmaa El Fnaa. A word of warning re taxis. We were told that Petit taxis used their meters. Not true! Only one of the 3 we used did so. The other problem is that to get by taxi to the Riad either you have to walk back from Place des Flerbontiers because the little street is One Way, or you get a taxi to the Cemetiere Juif - Jewish Cemetery. If you say Riad Ksar Anika, first they probably won't know it because there are so many and secondly they are associated with affluent tourists! The fare would rise accordingly. So you have to be crafty over this.

All this said, the experience is well worth the efforts - 2 or 3 days is all we could stand of the crowds, traffic, motor cycles, touts etc. Read all about it in a guide first to get the best experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor, cemetery side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent three nights in this beautiful Riad and did not want to leave. The staff are wonderfully attentive, breakfasts are superb and we had a very nice dinner our first night. The rooms are spacious and very well decorated and bathrooms were large and bright. It was obviously built to be a Riad not converted to be one.

WiFi is available but only in one area of the Riad - it gave us a chance to meet with our fellow WiFi'ers on a regular basis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A hidden quiet gem walking distance to the centre of the medina. What really makes this resort special is its size and the quality of all personnel that work there. It is a small Ryad where you receive special service from the maid to the servers in the restaurant to the front desk staff. The Manager mingles with her guests ensuring that all her customers are well looked after. A wonderful, wonderful experience...just wish i had stayed another night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and cannot fault it. A quiet oasis in a mad city. Staff were incredibly helpful, breakfasts were delicious and the room large and comfortable with Aircon if needed. It is situated within walking distance of the main square in the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived at the Ksar Anika in the dark and it felt as though we were in some quiet back street, slightly intimidating and our first sight was a security guard in a sort of sentry box at the door. But we quickly learned that this simply means there is always somebody around when you arrive and it’s a very reassuring presence if you’re not familiar with the place.
Once inside we had the ‘wow’ moment. From the small reception area we were taken to some beautiful seating in the main courtyard where we were served with mint tea and biscuits, having a chance to unwind and take in the gorgeous surroundings. A little later we were taken to our ground floor room; this was beautifully presented and we were lucky enough to have the room that has its own private terrace next to the pool. The room itself was large and airy and the attention to detail on our arrival was lovely. Water and biscuits in the room, flower petals on the bed, it all felt so welcoming.
This riad is an absolute haven away from the madness of the main city of Marrakech. It has a calm peaceful atmosphere and after our days wandering round the main square and the souks, it was so relaxing to come back here. The staff are just wonderful, exceptionally polite and attentive but unobtrusive; it always felt like nothing was too much trouble. On our final day we weren’t being picked up for our transfer until 6pm; we were able to keep our room for the whole day so felt in no rush to be packed and out. We spent our final day doing a lot of walking round and coming back to relax here with cold drinks was so lovely.
Meals are served in the courtyard close to the pool and even the attention to detail as they set the tables was amazing to watch. Breakfast consists of bread, jams, fruit and yoghurt and lovely pancakes with honey, accompanied by fresh juice, coffee or tea. We also ate there on one evening and as expected the meal was delicious and service was wonderful.
We spent 3 nights here and fell in love with the place. It is about 15 mins walk to the main square, and we had the offer of going with a security guard. On our first night coming back we did get a taxi but after that we walked it with no problems at all. Marrakech is an amazing place and very intense; the Anika is an oasis of calm to counter the madness. If we were ever go back to Marrakech we would have no hesitation in returning here, and would happily recommend to anybody

Room Tip: Room 14 is tucked in a corner with private pool terrace. Litt;e road noise despite being on the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ksar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Anika

Address: Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ksar Anika - an oasis of peace in the centre of the medina of Marrakech. Designed and built from ground up by the owners of Dar Anika it is intended to be your home from home where your holiday can be as exciting or as tranquil as you would like it to be. A blend of traditional and modern decoration lightens a traditional riad design: space, light, peace and tranquility in the centre of the souq. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ksar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.