We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Anika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ksar Anika
Save Saved
You added Ksar Anika to your Saves list
Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
cotswolds, england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed right at the end of September for 3 nights, at the start of our holiday. Agree with recent reviews - tranquil and relaxed compared to busy central Marrakech. Mostly British guests when we stayed, useful for comparing tips re what to see/do. Dont be fooled by the shabby exterior - it is very elegantly decorated/furnished inside. The owner invites you to consider it as your home whilst you are in Marrakech, not a hotel. The service was attentive but not hurried (unlike some other places we found later elsewhere in Morocco where they cleared plates before both of us had finished). We were grateful for the "usual" breakfast being provided despite having to leave before 7 on our day of departure. Overall very happy with our choice. Allow about 20 minutes to walk to the main square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent three nights in Ksar Anika in August. It is indeed a relaxing oasis amidst the bustle of Marrakech. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, relaxing at the poolside and in the bar area, and enjoying the night breezes on the rooftop. We enjoyed the mint tea and fresh squeezed orange juice daily. The staff were very attentive - Youssef and Abdullah were particularly helpful. One night we had been planning to head out to the main square for dinner, but it was late and we were so happy relaxing in the hotel, we asked if we could eat dinner at the Riad. It was late, and the kitchen had closed already, but the staff was able to accommodate us and made us a delightful dinner. If I return to Marrakech I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent service, surroundings and food - what more can you ask for?
Well placed to visit the centre of Marrakech with all the souks, restaurants and bustle, we were made very welcome, our room and facilities were excellent - I do not hesitate to recommend this Riad to anyone planning to visit Marrakech

Room Tip: Our room was central to the Riad and very little noise penetrated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ksar Anika was the perfect place to end our long Moroccan visit. Our comfortable room was steps from the pool and outside dining area. We took all of our meals there. The tables were set with flowers, colored stones and rose petals, always lovely, day or night. The wait staff did just that, waited at the edge of the space for us to need anything. I felt so spoiled here. We experienced hammam in their spa. This new experience was on our wish list and we had waited until the last day. It was the right place for this invigorating scrub. Do try it.The rooftop terrace deserved to be in a design magazine. I would stay in this calm and beautiful hotel again in this very vibrant city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

On our Moroccan trip in May 2013 we stayed at this wonderful riad. It is in the heart of the city, within walking distance of the Djemma El Fna and lots of other interesting sights. After being picked up at the airport by our guide, Omar, (from Around Morocco) we drove through lots of little streets with many turns. Just as we thought we were lost - there we were at the riad. It doesn't look like much from the outside but it is beautiful inside. Whenever we would stand outside the door waiting for Omar, it was amazing the street traffic that would go by. Very interesting. Across the street there is a shop where men spend all day sewing jellabas (the men's traditional robe). They were very nice and invited us in to see how they do this amazing embroidery. The riad is built around a pretty courtyard with small pool. We had dinner there beside the pool the first night and the food was some of the best we had on our trip. Meals are whenever you want to eat. All the meals are served with lovely table settings - flowers and candles, and the waitstaff are more than eager to please.
We stayed there at the beginning and again at the end of our trip. Our room at the beginning had a problem with the A/C. We told the staff about this and when we returned two weeks later they made sure we had the best suite in the place. It was a huge room with a big corner fireplace, big soaker tub (I loved this!), and a sitting area.
I can't say enough about the staff here, Magda, Rashid, Mustafa, and all the rest of the guys. The first morning we were there, I woke up with a seriously painful tooth. Magda so understanding and made arrangements early on a Saturday morning for me to see a dentist. She put us in her little yellow Fiat, drove us to the dentist, and by 6am that morning I was having a root canal! It was a very modern dental office connected to the university. She stayed with me the whole time, acting as translator and comforter. I can't thank her enough for going above and beyond to take care of me. I was in terrible pain, scared to death, and worried I had ruined our whole vacation. But the dentist took good care of me, sent me off with antibiotics and pain meds, and by the time we got back to the riad, I was feeling great. We then had breakfast and went on with our city tour as planned.
Lovely riad, great location, good food, and amazing staff. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C works before you unpack your bags. If it doesn't get cold enough for you, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Marrakech is a bustling, hot city and this Riad is the perfect antidote. From arranging a taxi transfer to the hotel to outstanding service throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. We ate dinner here twice which was simple but just what we wanted and the breakfasts again simple but plentiful and tasty. I would choose to stay here just to unwind and relax. A couple of examples of the service here, firstly when I asked when breakfast was served they asked what time would I like and secondly on our last day we kept our room up until 3PM so we could shower etc before our flight home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived after 8 hours on the train to this quiet wonderful riad. We were welcomed with Mint Tea and showed to a beautiful room. The food was fantastic. The breakfast table decorated by Rashid every morning was a real delight. Petals, folded serviettes, flowers and shining beads made a real spectacle with the food just as good.
The bar and room service was exceptional also.
We were a little nervous about going up to the Square late at night so one of their security guards went with us. Just these little things made our stay in this fascinating city wonderful.
Thanks also to Magda and Zak for all their thoughfulness.

Dont stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Would expect all the rooms to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ksar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Anika

Address: Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ksar Anika - an oasis of peace in the centre of the medina of Marrakech. Designed and built from ground up by the owners of Dar Anika it is intended to be your home from home where your holiday can be as exciting or as tranquil as you would like it to be. A blend of traditional and modern decoration lightens a traditional riad design: space, light, peace and tranquility in the centre of the souq. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ksar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.