We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Ksar Anika for a lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Anika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Ksar Anika
Save Saved
You added Ksar Anika to your Saves list
Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank you Ksar Anika for a lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family and I have just returned from a five night stay at Ksar Anika. This was a return trip to Marrakech and Ksar Anika because we loved both so much. We don’t often return to the same place but we were not disappointed. I can honestly say that, having travelled the world extensively, I have never experienced such welcoming hospitality and attentive service. From the moment we arrived, the service was as outstanding as the first time we visited, nothing was too much trouble. Madjouline, the Manager and Abderrazak, the Deputy Manager were always on hand to help with our queries and offer suggestions regarding our holiday plans. Abderrazak also arranged our trip to the Atlas Mountains. We were here to celebrate my husband’s and my daughter’s birthday. On both of these days, birthday cake was unexpectedly supplied and a lot of fuss was made of them. Every afternoon we relaxed on the roof terrace, soaking up the sun, where we were supplied with complimentary mint tea and cookies. We had dinner and lunch twice in the Riad, both times the food was delicious and the service very attentive. A hamman is definitely recommended at the Riad. There is a lot of hustle and bustle in the Medina of Marrakech and visitors should be prepared for this, but it is also part of the fun. However, entering the oasis of Ksar Anika is total bliss in comparison. A great way to start the New Year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband, 21-year old daughter, and I stayed two nights at the Ksar Anika Riad and could not have been more pleased. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the decor in the public spaces, as well as our room, is absolutely beautiful—elegant and sophisticated. The bath room was very modern and spacious. Our room was well-lit with numerous electrical outlets. The continental breakfast—served in a lovely room with fireplace (and Christmas tree!)—was delicious with fruit, juice, yogurt, coffee/tea, and various Moroccan breads. As our booking was arranged by our touring company—Around Morocco Travels—I was curious to check out the legendary and historic La Mamounia, also in Marrakesh, to see if we might be missing out on something. Undoubtedly, La Mamounia, situated in the midst of lovely gardens, and is quite beautiful. Although we were well-dressed—not attired in sneaks and sweats—we found the staff to be reserved and formal, which was rather off-putting to us. We are glad that we made the comparison, as we were very happy that we stayed at the Ksar Anika instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The first thing that struck me about this hotel was that I felt instantly at home. Nothing was a problem for the staff, they were so incredibly friendly and helpful. We had booked a twin room, but had been given a double. The staff promptly changed around beds for us without a hint of confusion or panic, they just did it with a smile!

Breakfast (included in the price) was representative of a traditional Moroccan breakfast, with fruit, yogurt, orange juice, pancakes, and a selection of breads. However, I felt the option of eggs could have been included. We only had dinner here once, and although we were supposed to give a whole day notice, the staff still said they would cook dinner for us even though we had only given a couple of hours notice. We only sampled the tagliatelle bolognese, which was delicious, but we did have better food elsewhere.

There were two things that I felt let the riad down a little bit. Firstly, the furniture on the rooftop terrace seemed a little bit neglected, and the sun loungers were just too dirty and dusty to sit on comfortably. It is understandable that things on the roof would be dusty, but it would have been a good idea to provide blankets to cover them with that could then be easily shaken off and washed. Secondly, the plumbing was a bit noisy, making a series of clunking and droning noises every time someone ran the tap or had a shower, sometimes keeping us awake a night.

Overall, room for improvement, but the staff here helped make our trip to Marrakech enjoyable and made everything run smoothly, letting us use the phone in reception to organise trips, and, on a couple of occasions, escorting us when we weren't sure which way to go! They absolutely went above and beyond great customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hello Trippies and Happy New Year to you all! My husband and I checked into the Ksar Anika on December 22nd and as it was late in the afternoon / early evening we decided to unpack and eat in. The food was not brilliant, (that's my tastes), little samosa thingies and a tagine each which I did not like and was glad I had a case packed full of bikkies, nibbles and chocolate etc. Our Suite was big - almost too big with a lot of wasted space. There was a huge long sofa in the room with lots of big plump cushions and seriously the 'most' comfortable bed I have ever slept on. We also had a shared balcony which was ours due to no one else in the suite next door. The decor and cleanliness of the Riad is super. The staff wonderfully friendly and helpful. We were there for 5 days and I must admit I got bored with the breakfast choice each day which was brought to the table and given to you - so no choice! but always fresh and hot so that was not a problem, just boring for the length of our stay, there was no buffet to speak of. At times the Riad was sooo quiet (4 of us at one point), but I am certain in full season it is packed, a bit like the UK high and low seasons. Despite the title of my write up which is true, behind the walls of the Riad the peace and quite was amazing in comparison to the hustle and bustle of the outside and soaking up the sun (approx 26 degrees on Christmas Eve), on the roof terrace - which has a small amount of gym equipment it was a great place to pass a few hours, soak up the sun, read a book and enjoy a bottle of local wine (which is good!). Sadly on my last night i fell and broke my ankle close to the Riad due to an uneven road / pathway - be careful! it is tiring trying to look at what is going on and enjoying the atmosphere, added to watching where you are walking so as not to trip and watching the traffic so as not to get mowed down. But I must say the staff went above and beyond when I fell getting a taxi, getting me to hospital and sending a member of staff with us to translate and wait with us. One last thing.... take ear plugs with you if you are a light sleeper as noise outside the Riad continues well into the night and starts very early AM! But Marrakesh is must see, must do.

Room Tip: A standard room would have been perfectly adequate for us rather than the suite as I did feel like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Situated next to the Jewish cemetery and a good 15 minutes from the main square jemaa el fna, this Riad is a lovely place to stay. The staff were attentive and eager to please. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights over Christmas. The room, (suite) we had was number 7 on the first floor, a large spacious room with a separate seating area and access to a shared balcony over looking the plunge pool, the room and the Riad are showing signs of wear and tear, a bit shabby in places. We only ate in one evening, it wasn't a massive culinary delight but adequate never the less. Breakfast was the same every morning, mixed fruit salad, yogurt and a selection of breads, all OK but quite limited especially as we were there for 5 days. The terrace was a pleasant place to sit and soak up the winter sun. The route to and from the Riad is rather tortuous and not for the faint hearted at night, not that you are in any danger from the locals, far from it but the pavements or lack of and the uneven roads are a death trap, sadly my wife fell foul of the uneven roads and broke her ankle. The staff at the Riad were superb and one of them went with us to the hospital and stayed with us all the time, then they sent someone out to the chemist for the necessary drugs she was prescribed. One last thing unless you're used to a noisy environment , ear plugs will be a necessity to get to sleep as outside the Riad chaos ensues.

Room Tip: room 7 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsm
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights with my familiy (2 kids) 22, 23/12... the riad is near to jemee el fna approx 15min walk through the souk. Nothing to c fm outside d hotel but once ur inside then u will realize ur in heaven - total peace, beautiful decoration n architecture, quick check in wit the best mint tea wit biscuits. Our room was absolutely stunning n amazed to c such a well design room. Very clean, wifi, hot water...cannot fault anything. Staff very caring n helpful...my son also watched a movie in their small/mini cinema hall...view fm terrace nothing much. Didnt hv a meal in d riad as whn ur in marrakech thn best is to eat outside to enjoy wit a busy square. Breakfast is good. Very safe while walking to n fro fm hotel...the best Riad n will definately recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were the only people here - myself, spouse, daughter - during our one night stay in early June 2012. There was confusion about our "plan" it was to include dinner that night and breakfast the following morning. We had to insist they make a call to our private tour operator to straighten it out.

The facility is nice enough - new, clean and basically comfortable. It is located on the edge of the medina and across the road from a huge cemetary. The food is only average and it was not some place we'd return to or recommend. Reservations were made by our tour company.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ksar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Anika

Address: Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ksar Anika - an oasis of peace in the centre of the medina of Marrakech. Designed and built from ground up by the owners of Dar Anika it is intended to be your home from home where your holiday can be as exciting or as tranquil as you would like it to be. A blend of traditional and modern decoration lightens a traditional riad design: space, light, peace and tranquility in the centre of the souq. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ksar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;