We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Calm,Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Anika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ksar Anika
Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet, Calm,Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hello Trippies and Happy New Year to you all! My husband and I checked into the Ksar Anika on December 22nd and as it was late in the afternoon / early evening we decided to unpack and eat in. The food was not brilliant, (that's my tastes), little samosa thingies and a tagine each which I did not like and was glad I had a case packed full of bikkies, nibbles and chocolate etc. Our Suite was big - almost too big with a lot of wasted space. There was a huge long sofa in the room with lots of big plump cushions and seriously the 'most' comfortable bed I have ever slept on. We also had a shared balcony which was ours due to no one else in the suite next door. The decor and cleanliness of the Riad is super. The staff wonderfully friendly and helpful. We were there for 5 days and I must admit I got bored with the breakfast choice each day which was brought to the table and given to you - so no choice! but always fresh and hot so that was not a problem, just boring for the length of our stay, there was no buffet to speak of. At times the Riad was sooo quiet (4 of us at one point), but I am certain in full season it is packed, a bit like the UK high and low seasons. Despite the title of my write up which is true, behind the walls of the Riad the peace and quite was amazing in comparison to the hustle and bustle of the outside and soaking up the sun (approx 26 degrees on Christmas Eve), on the roof terrace - which has a small amount of gym equipment it was a great place to pass a few hours, soak up the sun, read a book and enjoy a bottle of local wine (which is good!). Sadly on my last night i fell and broke my ankle close to the Riad due to an uneven road / pathway - be careful! it is tiring trying to look at what is going on and enjoying the atmosphere, added to watching where you are walking so as not to trip and watching the traffic so as not to get mowed down. But I must say the staff went above and beyond when I fell getting a taxi, getting me to hospital and sending a member of staff with us to translate and wait with us. One last thing.... take ear plugs with you if you are a light sleeper as noise outside the Riad continues well into the night and starts very early AM! But Marrakesh is must see, must do.

Room Tip: A standard room would have been perfectly adequate for us rather than the suite as I did feel like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Situated next to the Jewish cemetery and a good 15 minutes from the main square jemaa el fna, this Riad is a lovely place to stay. The staff were attentive and eager to please. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights over Christmas. The room, (suite) we had was number 7 on the first floor, a large spacious room with a separate seating area and access to a shared balcony over looking the plunge pool, the room and the Riad are showing signs of wear and tear, a bit shabby in places. We only ate in one evening, it wasn't a massive culinary delight but adequate never the less. Breakfast was the same every morning, mixed fruit salad, yogurt and a selection of breads, all OK but quite limited especially as we were there for 5 days. The terrace was a pleasant place to sit and soak up the winter sun. The route to and from the Riad is rather tortuous and not for the faint hearted at night, not that you are in any danger from the locals, far from it but the pavements or lack of and the uneven roads are a death trap, sadly my wife fell foul of the uneven roads and broke her ankle. The staff at the Riad were superb and one of them went with us to the hospital and stayed with us all the time, then they sent someone out to the chemist for the necessary drugs she was prescribed. One last thing unless you're used to a noisy environment , ear plugs will be a necessity to get to sleep as outside the Riad chaos ensues.

Room Tip: room 7 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights with my familiy (2 kids) 22, 23/12... the riad is near to jemee el fna approx 15min walk through the souk. Nothing to c fm outside d hotel but once ur inside then u will realize ur in heaven - total peace, beautiful decoration n architecture, quick check in wit the best mint tea wit biscuits. Our room was absolutely stunning n amazed to c such a well design room. Very clean, wifi, hot water...cannot fault anything. Staff very caring n helpful...my son also watched a movie in their small/mini cinema hall...view fm terrace nothing much. Didnt hv a meal in d riad as whn ur in marrakech thn best is to eat outside to enjoy wit a busy square. Breakfast is good. Very safe while walking to n fro fm hotel...the best Riad n will definately recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were the only people here - myself, spouse, daughter - during our one night stay in early June 2012. There was confusion about our "plan" it was to include dinner that night and breakfast the following morning. We had to insist they make a call to our private tour operator to straighten it out.

The facility is nice enough - new, clean and basically comfortable. It is located on the edge of the medina and across the road from a huge cemetary. The food is only average and it was not some place we'd return to or recommend. Reservations were made by our tour company.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely Riad , great service and staff. Very close to the central square , a ten minute walk. A 15 minute taxi ride to the new town . If you want to be in the heart of the real life of the city then this is for you . Not the prettiest of surroundings when you step outside BUT gives you a good insight into that section of Marrakech .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were looked after liked Queens in this little piece of Heaven in Marrakech. Wonderful surroundings,staff , food and the best Mint Tea we had on our 2 week trip to Morocco. We stayed at the beginning and the end of our trp and were welcomed back home on our return. Great location, close to everything.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We found Ksar Anika an extremely friendly and lovely hotel. We were traveling with friends and had rooms that met on a balcony so at night could sit there before we had dinner. We arrived late on our first night and they had dinner organized and it was yummy. There was nothing the staff couldn't do they went out of their way with organizing trips,drivers whatever we needed. We will definitely be going back we felt like it was home Thankyou Ksar Anika

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ksar Anika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Anika

Address: Rue Makbara des Juifs | Mellah, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ksar Anika - an oasis of peace in the centre of the medina of Marrakech. Designed and built from ground up by the owners of Dar Anika it is intended to be your home from home where your holiday can be as exciting or as tranquil as you would like it to be. A blend of traditional and modern decoration lightens a traditional riad design: space, light, peace and tranquility in the centre of the souq. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ksar Anika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Anika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ksar Anika to your Saves list