We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Smara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Smara
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   2,derb Ferrane Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night in april2013, very relaxing with a small little splash pool to cool off after the madness that is marrakesh. The brekfast was good and though we didnt eat there the food looked good. Nice rooms and a nice bathroom. I would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    22
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
50
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Riad Smara was a super find. It is hidden away just far enough from the centre of the choas. A five minute walk to the centre of the medina along interesting and narrow streets. A very beautiful and elegant place, the perfect hiding place. The rooms are simple and comfortable and the pool and roof terrace everything you could ask for. The staff were great and so helpful and welcoming. I travelled here alone and loved every minute of my stay. This place comes highly reccomended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are lovely and more quiet than the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Riad Smara, a beautiful, peaceful place to be in Marrakesh, only 10mn from djemma el fna walking distance, Brahim and the rest of the Riad Staff, were very professional, excellent service, and the best breakfast and dinner we had in Marrakesh, the breakfast vary everyday, one day we had crepes, another day we had Moroccan pancakes, bread, fruits, coffee, and dont forget to try the tea of mint, excellent.
We use 2 rooms, the pacha and andalous, very nice, clean, and big bathrooms. We had a wonderful stay.
We really enjoy the Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a beautiful Riad and we were very satisfied on every aspect. The staff was great. Very helpful manager who is going out of his way to do anything for you. The location is good as far as walking distances to all the highlights. We even walked to the new city easily. Never a taxi needed what for us was a great plus. Guarded parking is close by. The manager even brought us there
It wasn't exactly the best (but probably more authentic than the "nicer" areas) neighborhood of the Medina. So our first impression of the Medina was bad (also we arrived at night). We never felt unsafe, but uncomfortable. When we started exploring later in the week we got more used to it and became more at ease loosing most of our reservations.

Room Tip: The manager showed us most of the rooms and they are all perfect. Very well done and comfortable. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at this riad last week and it was great start to my holiday. The place is in a central location in the medina (but you will need good instructions as it is not easy to find). The manager Brahim was very friendly and really helped us to negotiate for taxi fares and even took us to a local restaurant for dinner.
Will definitely recommend this riad to others.
Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Breakfast was delicious. The morning of an early excursion to the Sahara the owner was kind enough to have it served for us two hours earlier than usual!
The sun deck is lovely and the decor is beautiful.
A bit hard to find (like all riads in the medina) so pay close attention to the map on the riad's website before leaving (we didn't but a local boy who lives next door showed us the way).
The only downside was that the bath water ran very very slowly so we had to take showers instead.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa El Arsa
Villa El Arsa
#2 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#12 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
#28 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Louaya
Riad Louaya
#33 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#15 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Smara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Smara

Address: 2,derb Ferrane Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Smara 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Smara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Smara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.