We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat in the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Charlott' to your Saves list
Riad Charlott'
Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great retreat in the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was the ideal retreat after a day out in the chaos of the Medina. Great hospitality, very friendly and willing to help staff. They really looked after us even outside the riad. I had an incident as soon as I arrived in Marrakesh, I dropped my wallet in the taxi the night I arrived. Khalid contacted the driver as soon as I told him and my wallet was returned in the next 15 minutes with all its content (which you would not consider that obvious!). Apart from this not so good start we enjoyed relaxing on the terrace and drinking the complimentary mint tea in the lounge. The place is tastefully decorated, the room we were staying was on two levels and had very high ceiling. Location was great and managed our way in the Medina thanks to the map provided by the riad.
I would definitely recommend the place and would like to go back myself

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
187
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

we booked a week long holiday in marrakech, and wanted to experience the life of Medina. this hotel is even though bit hard to find it first, its a gem. situated in middle of Medina, with short distance to spice square and the big square.

The staff were very nice and helpful. the rooms are spacious and clean. not to mention a full wifi coverage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were looking for a great first time experience of Marocco for my GF's birthday, and we got more than we ever wished for. A very clean and well styled Riad, great value for money if looking for a quiet retreat from the hustle, bustle and smells of Marrakech. The Riad is located a few streets away from a couple of small market squares and very near to a Mosque, although this can make it tricky to find until you find you bearings which doesn't take too long, also using Google Maps on a phone with GPS really helps, I use a Nokia Lumia Windows Phone as you can download and use the maps with GPS without the need for using data. The fact the Riad is 5mins away from the Souks makes it a peaceful haven close enough to the centre for a pit stop, only 10mins walk from the main square Jemaa El Fna. We arranged a transfer from the Airport direct with Khalid for 200DH, which also covers Ahmed who works at the Riad to meet you at the taxi drop off and help with any bags. The food was good and plentiful, served at whatever time you choose which is useful. They equipped us with maps, and upgraded our room free as it was available and as a gift for my girlfriends birthday, a kind gesture. The room had aircon, was spacious and traditionally styled, wifi access, flatscreen TV, very comfy bed and a well sized bathroom. Safes are available downstairs if you need to leave anything valuable. The roof terrace is very nice and the Riad is quite tall so you get a good 360 degree view of the roof tops and horizon, the sun sets very near to a Mosque in the distance. Being able to speak some French is useful as their English was limited, except for Khalid who's English was good. They cant do enough for you, Ahmed offers full concierge service if you ever need anything, and Khalid will also go above and beyond to help you. I picked up a bug on our last night and in the morning when he found out he nipped off to pharmacy to get me some medication, he didn't even accept any payment as my health was the priority, another very kind gesture. We arranged a 2 day mini bus excursion to the Sahara through Khalid and the driver forgot to pick us up so he pulled some strings and had us upgraded to a private 4x4 and driver instead which was great. If that wasn't enough he also arranged for a cake to be given to her by the Berbers after our meal in the Sahara desert, it made it a very special trip for us. I honestly cant recommend this Riad enough, the place is immaculate and the service rivals that of a 5* resort.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra and get a TV and larger bathroom... we found it nicer to chill out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you have decided to stay in the medina (charm and location more important than convenience) this riad should be considered. It is very well situated. It has been tastefully renovated, is comfortable and the plumbing works. The reason why I am giving it only 3 stars is that it is very casually managed; the staff, the manager and the owner are all very friendly and eager to please but are not very efficient.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First of all, and most important, LET THEM COME GET YOU AND TAKE YOU THERE. Otherwise, you will NEVER find it. Promise. The streets in the Medina are crazy and you WILL get lost, unless you know your bearings.
Second, the hotel is overall very good and clean. Khalid and his staff are very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Khalid's English is a little off, but we managed.
Our room (a suite) was decorated very nicely with a beautiful, large chandelier and a flat screen TV. The bed and sleep quality were also very, very good. Although the WiFi was very spotty at times.
However, my main issues were with the bathroom. The mirror is large enough. It goes from one end of the bathroom to the other. Although it is way too high to see yourself if you're 5'5" or under. There IS an ottoman in the bathroom, which I assume is to stand on, and I DID use it for that purpose. Second, the lighting was awful. There are 2 dimly lit sconces on either side of the mirror and that's it. If you're tall (or don't mind standing on an ottoman to see), and if lighting does not matter to you, then you'll find that this is a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my partner and his family for a few days recently in Riad Charlott'. We had an airport transfer booked which made things easy in terms of getting there - the sign our driver held up at the airport didn't say our names, simply the name of the riad, so make sure all members of your party know the name of the accommodation if you are arriving separately. Also, be sure to get dihrams out of an atm at the airport on the way in, as you will need to tip any porters you use once the taxi drops you off (owing to the narrow streets, cars can't make it the whole way to the riad. Its only a 5 minute walk though so if you've only got light luggage you may not need to use a porter).
Once there, Khalid made us feel very welcome, providing us with refreshments and making sure we knew our way around the winding streets. The riad itself is beautiful, with lovely rooms and a fantastic roof terrace. Breakfast is delicious, with a selection of pastries and breads, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice (it would be nice if some fruit were part of it though!). Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Couple of friends visiting Morocco and Marrakech specifically for the first time. Availed of the Taxi pick up as arriving late in the evening and would definitely recommend this unless you want an adventure and time wasted getting there. Room was well furnished, if a little dark but that appears to be the general style. Lovely simple breakfast to set you off on your day and nice refreshing mint tea in the afternoon/ evening. Very good attentive staff checking regularly that all okay which we appreciated as well as Khalid taking us to the central Medina area on our fist day so that we got our bearings. Ahmed was a gentleman, bringing us to/ from the taxi to the airport and made us feel most welcome.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad to anyone considering a visit. Finally to mention, the tranquillity of the location, no noise from motorbikes as the Riad is off from one of the main pedestrian walkways so you will sleep well and even the call to prayer we found to be done in a chilled out vibe.

Room Tip: I would suggest to ask Khalid or the owner directly for a room that will best suit you as they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#99 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#130 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#125 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#160 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#83 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#123 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#169 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charlott', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.