We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great - But a couple of issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Charlott' to your Saves list
Riad Charlott'
Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Overall great - But a couple of issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First of all, and most important, LET THEM COME GET YOU AND TAKE YOU THERE. Otherwise, you will NEVER find it. Promise. The streets in the Medina are crazy and you WILL get lost, unless you know your bearings.
Second, the hotel is overall very good and clean. Khalid and his staff are very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Khalid's English is a little off, but we managed.
Our room (a suite) was decorated very nicely with a beautiful, large chandelier and a flat screen TV. The bed and sleep quality were also very, very good. Although the WiFi was very spotty at times.
However, my main issues were with the bathroom. The mirror is large enough. It goes from one end of the bathroom to the other. Although it is way too high to see yourself if you're 5'5" or under. There IS an ottoman in the bathroom, which I assume is to stand on, and I DID use it for that purpose. Second, the lighting was awful. There are 2 dimly lit sconces on either side of the mirror and that's it. If you're tall (or don't mind standing on an ottoman to see), and if lighting does not matter to you, then you'll find that this is a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    27
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
170
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my partner and his family for a few days recently in Riad Charlott'. We had an airport transfer booked which made things easy in terms of getting there - the sign our driver held up at the airport didn't say our names, simply the name of the riad, so make sure all members of your party know the name of the accommodation if you are arriving separately. Also, be sure to get dihrams out of an atm at the airport on the way in, as you will need to tip any porters you use once the taxi drops you off (owing to the narrow streets, cars can't make it the whole way to the riad. Its only a 5 minute walk though so if you've only got light luggage you may not need to use a porter).
Once there, Khalid made us feel very welcome, providing us with refreshments and making sure we knew our way around the winding streets. The riad itself is beautiful, with lovely rooms and a fantastic roof terrace. Breakfast is delicious, with a selection of pastries and breads, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice (it would be nice if some fruit were part of it though!). Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Couple of friends visiting Morocco and Marrakech specifically for the first time. Availed of the Taxi pick up as arriving late in the evening and would definitely recommend this unless you want an adventure and time wasted getting there. Room was well furnished, if a little dark but that appears to be the general style. Lovely simple breakfast to set you off on your day and nice refreshing mint tea in the afternoon/ evening. Very good attentive staff checking regularly that all okay which we appreciated as well as Khalid taking us to the central Medina area on our fist day so that we got our bearings. Ahmed was a gentleman, bringing us to/ from the taxi to the airport and made us feel most welcome.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad to anyone considering a visit. Finally to mention, the tranquillity of the location, no noise from motorbikes as the Riad is off from one of the main pedestrian walkways so you will sleep well and even the call to prayer we found to be done in a chilled out vibe.

Room Tip: I would suggest to ask Khalid or the owner directly for a room that will best suit you as they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My partner and I came here for 4 days for a brief holiday, Khalid and the rest of the staff made our stay at Riad Charlott as comfortable as can be, they helped us with everything we wanted and more. I would highly recommend staying here. Fantastic location too, not too close to the craziness of the main square, but just a short wall from anything in the old town. Enjoy your stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in Riad Charlott for 5 days and could not fault the place - brilliant value for money and standard of a 5* hotel. The Riad is very quiet, comfortable, warm (even in February) and clean, and still well located within the Medina. There is a wonderful balcony (great views of the city) and good food (if a little unimaginative), and we were even upgraded on arrival, which was a bonus. However, what sets this place apart is the service of the staff, in particular Khalid. He looked after us from the minute we arrived, with directions, recommendations and advice for how to approach the city, all delivered with warmth, friendliness and in perfect English. On numerous occasions he went above and beyond the call of duty, and for this reason alone we couldn't recommend this Riad enough. Our only advice would be to book an airport transfer with the Riad if it's your first time in Marrakech - the Medina is a little difficult to navigate as a first-timer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have stayed at riad Charlott for 4 days and it has truly been an excellent experience. The service has been very helpful, considerate and with great attention to doing what's best for me. The room has been very clean and has served as a great base for exploring Marrakech. I have through the Hotel book a guide to show me around old Marrakech. This I think was a very good idea and I can only encourage others do the same. Thank you for a nice day if I visit Marrakech again in the future this riad will surely be the place I'll be staying at.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was reading the poor reviews this Riad got and I can't believe it. It is the best place we stayed in Marocco. I admit it can be cold at night, but if you ask you can get a kind of radiator. The staff is kind, the rooms are beautiful and clean and I would say that it has a luxurious feeling to it. It is close to Jemaa el-Fnaa and of course Khalid or somebody from the staff will help you get there, or anywhere. It is VERY important not to trust ANY guiding signs through the medina, all of them are just wrong, guiding you in the other direction.
RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#102 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charlott', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.