We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking and book this one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Charlott' to your Saves list
Riad Charlott'
Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stop looking and book this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Marrakech in the early evening and were met at the airport and whisked into the craziness of the medina where we were met by Jean-Pierre. We thought we would never find our way around as Jean-Pierre led us through a maze of streets and alleyways, however, that evening we were given a map and instructions of how to get to the main square and we never had a problem, not even needing the map after the first day. We tried losing ourselves in the souks but always ended up somewhere we recognised, and never had to ask for directions once. People will try to show you but just say a polite 'no' and usually they will leave you alone.
The riad itself is absolutely stunning, and a haven of peace and tranquility. We spent every afternoon of our 4 day trip to Marrakech lazing on the roof terrace and having a refreshing dip in the pool, the silence only being interrupted by the calls to prayer from the surrounding mosques. We stayed in the Pierre suite which was beautifully decorated, and had all the facilities we needed and an amazing chandelier.
The food was delicious. We had dinner in the riad on the first night, and then breakfast every day after with freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt and pancakes and bread rolls. We also took Jean-Pierre's recommendation on Moroccan wine and enjoyed a couple of bottles during our stay!
During our stay we were the only guests in the riad which was wonderful for us as we had the pick of the bedrooms, and the staff all to ourselves and the whole riad all to ourselves at night when the staff had gone home, it was like coming home to our own palace in the evenings! I just can't understand why Riad Charlott is not full all of the time! It should be!
Jean-Pierre was a wonderful host- helpful, friendly and full of good tips of what to see and what not to see to make the most of your time in Marrakech. We loved our time in Marrakech and at Riad Charlott and would go back tomorrow if we could!
P.S book the hammam, it's fab!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
177
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Riad Charlott is a beautiful property hidden away in the Medina. It was so relaxing compared to the craziness outside. It would have been very tricky to find had we been on our own, but we had arranged an airport transfer and after our taxi went as far as it could go within the winding, narrow streets, our driver took us past all the donkeys and mopeds and right to the front door. I highly recommend that you do this! It's a little overwhelming when you first arrive. We were greeted by Pierre and the property staff with mint tea and biscuits on arrival and given a helpful map of the area.

On our first evening we had dinner at the Riad and we were cooked a delicious tagine. Breakfast was included the next morning and consisted of breads, pastries and jams with more mint tea and orange juice. Pierre, Ahmed and all the other staff were so helpful during our stay. We were even accompaned to Jeema el Fna one evening to make sure we found it ok. Much appreciated!

My favourite feature of the Riad was the gorgeous roof terrace, ideal for sunbathing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Walking through the maze of tunnels on our way to Riad Charlotte we did not know what to expect, but once we opened the door to our Riad we were surprised to find the most amazing accommodation. We were greeted by Jean Pierre, with a welcome mint tea and home made biscuits, he was a great host, making time for us each day, listening to our adventures and giving us suggestions and directions to new destinations. Jean Pierre advised us on the best places to eat, including the best food stalls in the market place, we were never disappointed. Our favourite meal however, was the home ccoked meal at the riad. Our most amazing adventure was the trip to the Atlas mountains, arranged by our host, and an adventure we will never forget!! Our room at the Riad was unreal, very spacious, comfortable and beautiful decor. We loved evenings on the roof top after our hectic days in the marketplace. Marrakech is a crazy but truly wonderful experience we will never forget. We definitely recommend Riad Charlotte and hope to get back again one day. Thanks to Jean Pierre and his wonderful staff for making our Marrakech stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Firstly, I completely disagree with any previous poor reviews about the location of the riad. It is only 10 minutes walk to Jeema el Fna and the souks through some fascinating streets and alleyways. To us, this was the real Marrakech, and we loved the location.
Yes there are plenty of people who will tell try and direct you ("big square, this way"), but we simply ignored them or said no, and they don't bother you further.
Jean-Pierre sat down with us on arrival, and took some time to give us a detailed map with directions and landmarks, to help us find our way. We did get lost the first time we went out, but after that, we were always able to locate the right way - as long as you pay attention to where you are going, and use the same route each time, I don't see why you would need to pay anyone to tell you the way?
The riad is very quiet and relaxing, with only the sounds of the birds and occasional call to prayer. We stayed in the Mathieu suite which is nice and spacious, with welcome air conditioning.
We enjoyed using the roof terrace, which has great views. Breakfast was an interesting selection of handmade Moroccan breads and preserves, some days we had yoghurt as well. I would prefer to possibly have only a couple of the breads, and include some fresh fruit with the yoghurt, just for variety, but this is no big deal.
Special mention to all the staff, who are friendly and welcoming, and do a great job.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staff are very nice, the service is very good and they have an amazing roof terrace. Rooms are OK, BUT the location of the riad is very very bad and even with a map, it difficult to come back every time, and if you ask for help, be sure that you will pay every time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we stepped into the riad it was extremely peaceful and Jean-Pierre, who was very helpful with directions etc, upgraded us to of the suites. The Suite Mathieu was beautiful, with high ceilings, large bathroom with bath, lounge mezzanine and air con, which was essential in 35 degree heat!

Breakfast was delicious, as were the mint teas. There are mosques nearby, which call to prayer loudly at 4-5 in the morning, but it's all part of the experience! Marrakech is a hectic but vibrant city, and it's perfect to be able to get away to relax on the roof terrace or in your room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasne, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Beautiful riad and lovely staff. May is a great time to visit Marrakech. The riad is tucked down small streets in the Medina, which we thought was fun and part of the adventure of our trip. Staying in the Medina was fabulous! We were well taken care of and had a wonderful time!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#197 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charlott', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.