We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Charlott' to your Saves list
Riad Charlott'
Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Gerringong, Australia
1 review
“Haven in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Walking through the maze of tunnels on our way to Riad Charlotte we did not know what to expect, but once we opened the door to our Riad we were surprised to find the most amazing accommodation. We were greeted by Jean Pierre, with a welcome mint tea and home made biscuits, he was a great host, making time for us each day, listening to our adventures and giving us suggestions and directions to new destinations. Jean Pierre advised us on the best places to eat, including the best food stalls in the market place, we were never disappointed. Our favourite meal however, was the home ccoked meal at the riad. Our most amazing adventure was the trip to the Atlas mountains, arranged by our host, and an adventure we will never forget!! Our room at the Riad was unreal, very spacious, comfortable and beautiful decor. We loved evenings on the roof top after our hectic days in the marketplace. Marrakech is a crazy but truly wonderful experience we will never forget. We definitely recommend Riad Charlotte and hope to get back again one day. Thanks to Jean Pierre and his wonderful staff for making our Marrakech stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    27
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
168
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Firstly, I completely disagree with any previous poor reviews about the location of the riad. It is only 10 minutes walk to Jeema el Fna and the souks through some fascinating streets and alleyways. To us, this was the real Marrakech, and we loved the location.
Yes there are plenty of people who will tell try and direct you ("big square, this way"), but we simply ignored them or said no, and they don't bother you further.
Jean-Pierre sat down with us on arrival, and took some time to give us a detailed map with directions and landmarks, to help us find our way. We did get lost the first time we went out, but after that, we were always able to locate the right way - as long as you pay attention to where you are going, and use the same route each time, I don't see why you would need to pay anyone to tell you the way?
The riad is very quiet and relaxing, with only the sounds of the birds and occasional call to prayer. We stayed in the Mathieu suite which is nice and spacious, with welcome air conditioning.
We enjoyed using the roof terrace, which has great views. Breakfast was an interesting selection of handmade Moroccan breads and preserves, some days we had yoghurt as well. I would prefer to possibly have only a couple of the breads, and include some fresh fruit with the yoghurt, just for variety, but this is no big deal.
Special mention to all the staff, who are friendly and welcoming, and do a great job.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staff are very nice, the service is very good and they have an amazing roof terrace. Rooms are OK, BUT the location of the riad is very very bad and even with a map, it difficult to come back every time, and if you ask for help, be sure that you will pay every time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we stepped into the riad it was extremely peaceful and Jean-Pierre, who was very helpful with directions etc, upgraded us to of the suites. The Suite Mathieu was beautiful, with high ceilings, large bathroom with bath, lounge mezzanine and air con, which was essential in 35 degree heat!

Breakfast was delicious, as were the mint teas. There are mosques nearby, which call to prayer loudly at 4-5 in the morning, but it's all part of the experience! Marrakech is a hectic but vibrant city, and it's perfect to be able to get away to relax on the roof terrace or in your room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasne, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Beautiful riad and lovely staff. May is a great time to visit Marrakech. The riad is tucked down small streets in the Medina, which we thought was fun and part of the adventure of our trip. Staying in the Medina was fabulous! We were well taken care of and had a wonderful time!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Can't say enough good things about Riad Charlott, Jean-Pierre and all the staff. We took advantage of the transfer offered and boy were we glad we had. Your first impression of Marrakech will be confusion and craziness (but in a good way!). We were met by Jean-Pierre (and his adorable dog Cappi, sorry if I spelled that wrong J-P!) in the Square near the Riad and he led us back. His map and directions were so helpful at the beginning (although I do recommend getting lost in the Souks regardless) and we couldn't get enough of the mint tea!! We had dinner in the Riad that evening (I can recommend the Moroccan wine) which was some of the best food we had on our stay, and the breakfasts are fab (everything home-made at the Riad!). We stayed in Suite Pierre which is huge and spacious, and the air con is a god-send after a hot day of traipsing round the markets. Everything was very clean and the only noises you will hear will be the birds and of course the Call to Prayer on occasion. Can also recommend the hammam and massage which both myself and my husband took advantage of, and we also took a day-trip into the Atlas (also kindly organised by the Riad) which was a long but amazing day. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riad Charlott and if we make it back to Marrakech we will definitely head straight back here!

Room Tip: Suite Pierre is on the first floor by the stairs but we weren't disturbed by the other rooms or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last week, it was an safe haven away from the manic souks!
Jean-Pierre and team made us feel really at home!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charlott', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.