We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad et Palais des Princesses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad et Palais des Princesses to your Saves list
Riad et Palais des Princesses
37, 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Riad was was very comfortable and clean, all the staff were friendly and my wife and I had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. The Hamam we had during our stay was excellent and included a full body massage which was brilliant. Would definitely recommend this Riad while staying in Marrakech.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    65
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
100
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014


Felt like being one of the scenes of 'Tales of 1001 nights'.
we really liked this place! beautiful enterieur, colorful and stylish! it was great to be there!
True, that it is difficult to find it first time, so my advice:
1. transfer from the airport is highly recommended!
2. When you leave the hotel first time, use the same door that you entered before!
3. And better to ask the crew which door can be opened with the key you got from them :)
Because this beautiful riad has 3 entrance! believe me, I am good in navigation and can use maps. but there was useless and me too and we lost always! Therefore did freestyling :)
After knowing these 3 entrances, especially one of them from a different road, it was easy to find.
Breakfast is French influenced.
Lovely place, looking fwd to return ASAP! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The riad is very nice and well furnished in naturally a Moroccan theme, very close to the Djemaa-el-Fna place, however, it is very difficult to find in the labyrinth of the Medina without a guide, sure you can ask the way to the locals, but they would steadily beg for money to help you. You can book the riad shuttle to and from the airport, however, it is really overpriced (15 € each way for 3 kilometers!) and stops five minutes walk from the riad so as a result we had to pull our luggage on the cobblestones for a few hundreds of meters,
The local souks and large market square were bustling and interesting, but we didn't feel comfortable travelling the dark and narrow lane leading back to the riad, particularly when everytime you leave and come back to the riad you are being harassed by the carpet sellers trying to sell you their stuff just next to the riad, and you can't avoid them since they are on the way to the riad.
Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the lovely central patio and its fountain, the problem is that we could hear all the people hanging out and talking downstairs, making the riad noisy. The room was nice but small, it was almost impossible to open the suit case, and our bathroom was separated from the bedroom, so we had to get dressed just to go to the toilets or have a shower. It is also a pity that the staff at the breakfast room barely replied in the morning when we said "good morning"...
There is a swimming pool but don't expect to swim in a quiet area as it is located right in the middle of the guest rooms and it is small and smells chlorine very strongly.
Fitness equipment was out of order and Wi-Fi very inconsistent.
Lastly, when checking-out, I pointed out that they had billed 5 nights out of the 6 of our stay, the receptionist replied that there was no mistake, it's okay and we didn't insist despite our honesty, the problem is that one week after coming back from Morocco we received an e-mail from the riad saying that we didn't pay enough (yes, can you believe that, they didn't make a mistake themselves, we just didn't pay enough instead!!) and one night was missing, so as result they would charge us an additional night from our credit card...what a nerve!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have just arrived back after a brilliant 4 nights at the Riad Palais des Princesses, and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are all extremely knowledgeable, welcoming and polite, and are available for assistance at anytime, night or day. Their recommendations of places to eat and places to visit were always brilliant and really helped make a wonderful week.

I would certainly suggest arranging the airport shuttle service they offer on arrival into Marrakech, as if you haven't been before (like us) you would get lost in seconds down the myriad of alleyways going in every direction, especially in the dark!

Once you have arrived you are straight away taken aback by the Riad, it's beautiful open-air courtyard (and a very friendly kitten!) as well as the large central fountain. The room itself was just perfect. Rose petals were laid out everywhere for our arrival and the interior was immaculate - complete with large chandeliers and romantic lighting - and absolutely perfect for a couple on holiday.

After some advice from the staff we booked trips to both The Palmery (for camel riding) and the Atlas Mountains, and both are well worth doing. The trips are superbly well organised and very cheap (300dh/£20 each for a return trip inc the camel riding, and 350dh/£25 each for a 8 hour stunning trip to the mountains) which are absolutely worth a visit. Climbing up to the waterfall really is a once in a lifetime experience.

There is also an on-site Hammam at the Riad which offers a full body massage, exfoliation and cleanse for around 350dh/£25 for half an hour, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. Well worth the money and you feel completely relieved of all stress and tension you may have arrived with, especially after a day trekking the mountains!

The buffet breakfast offered each morning was also excellent, offering cereal, croissants/danishes, scrambled eggs/sausages, bread/jam, watermelon and tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. A good range and all very fresh and tasty.

Location-wise, the Riad is also no more than 2 minute walk to the main Jemaa el Fna square (once you are familiar with navigating the alleyways) so whilst it is perfectly quiet and peaceful at the Riad, you are so close to the centre of the Medina.

Seeing Marrakech for the first time can be somewhat intimidating (the pure hustle and bustle of the souks and constant harrassment of tourists by locals in the market), but this was in complete contrast to the incredibly warm welcome you receive at the Riad, and the general tips and advice on how to get by.

I would highly recommend Riad Palais des Princesses to anyone who is looking to have a holiday/getaway in Marrakech, especially for couples, but it would be ideal for families too.

Thanks to Wafaa, Rachid and everyone else for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The reception and all services in this Riad are top!! Bravo to the management. The location is great , very close to the main plaza. The service and the rooms are impeccable.The people working are making sure that your stay in the hotel and in the city will be unforgettable. Yes we recommand and yes we will be back.We are thanking them for their efforts.

Room Tip: Yasmina was a good room. Clean and quite.Don't miss the breakfast. Very good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is truly a lovely and beautiful Riad. I love that the Riad puts fresh red roses into their fountain and in the rooms everyday. We stayed in the Neval room (or something like it), the bed mattress was a bit uncomfortable (our backs were sore in the mornings) and very very squeaky!! Thank goodness I was with my sister....cause this bed would not work for romantic couples:). The location is GREAT! 5min walk to the famous square...and it is totally safe to walk to and from the square late at night. The only thing where I think the Riad was lacking a bit is the breakfast. Service during breakfast was not too great....asking for cutlery, to fill up the orange juice and empty pots etc... omelets and bacon would be a great addition.. for 6 Euro pp I could have eaten a better breakfast at a café near the square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here with a group of girls in June. The location of the hotel is between the palaces and the the square so very handy for sightseeing.Very easy to navigate; you cannot get lost and this can be an issue in Media. The interior of the hotel is very nice; rooms are nicely appointed and cleaned every day. Breakfast had a nice variety of choices both western and Moroccan. We had plenty of lovely Moroccan tea in the riad and we all agreed it was the best we had (and we had plenty in different places). The only disappointment was the hamman. While we all enjoyed the treatment we felt that the price was way to high for what was offered. I would recommend the hamman treatment for the experience but if you already know it that it is nothing special. We also booked airport pick up and two trips via Riad and we couldn't bee happier. Our driver Rashid was great; very patient and flexible following all our request.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad et Palais des Princesses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad et Palais des Princesses

Address: 37, 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#129 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#147 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the district of Riad Zitoune El Keddim inside Marrakech Medina, at 2 minutes by foot of the famous place Djemaa el Fna, the “Riad et Palais des Princesses” is a charming guest house based on Oriental traditions. The “Riad et Palais des Princesses” have a total of 14 rooms and suites of Mauresque and contemporary style. All our rooms are entirely air-conditioned and have a wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad et Palais des Princesses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Et Palais Des Princesses Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad et Palais des Princesses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.