We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem, Riad des Princesses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad et Palais des Princesses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad et Palais des Princesses to your Saves list
Riad et Palais des Princesses
37, 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Vancouver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“What a gem, Riad des Princesses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Riad des Princesses, what a gem.
We came across it by accident and necessity. Had booked a Riad, arrived as planned, nobody home! Tried everything possible to contact them, even phoned them and they hung up on me. What to do??? A hotel around the corner recommended trying "Riad des Princesses". Knocked on the door, were welcomed in, took a tour and were amazed by the beauty of the Riad.
Well appointed rooms with fluffy bath robes. Everything was spotless with an attention to details like roses, and fresh flowers.
Then we asked, how much. The rate was excellent and we brought our bags in. Mint tea on the terrace and we thought that we had been there for a few days. As with everything in the medina, it can be a litle difficult finding a place for the first time. The Riad is only a 2-3 minute walk from Djemaa el Fna. An easy right-left-right and you are in the middle of the action. But when you return to the Riad it is a quiet place to relax. Away from all the hustle and bustle. The breakfasts on the roof top terrace are wonderful with fresh OJ and crepes. The staff were attentive and helpfull and accomodated all the requests we made .
Simply, we recommend the Riad des Princesses to everyone,
for a comfortable home while visiting Marrakech.

Michael & Linda Mykecey
Vancouver

  • Liked — The warmth and friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    67
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
113
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Riad des Princesses was a wonderful safe haven in Marrakech. We loved our room, very quaint, with nice little touches like red roses on the bed on our last night. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful. The traditional Morrocan breakfasts each morning were great, served on the beautiful rooftop terrace. The fresh orange juice, yuuuum! Very quiet when we were there, we may have been the only guests. Only 5 or so rooms. We went in to look at some other riads very nearby for our second stay in Marrakech (after doing a Morrocco explored tour, also highly recommended) and none looked as nice as Riad des Princesses.

One downside (although adding to the tranquility) is that its very difficult to find. Especially as a newcomber to Marrakech in the evening its daunting to walk down the back alleys to find the riad. We reluctantly enlisted the help of a local, who turned out to be well worth the while.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, characterful rooms
  • Disliked — hard to find at first
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff were great and always friendly and helpful! (I can't over emphasise how fantastic the staff were!) We would definitely stay here again if we went back, as well as recommending others to also.

The location is good, not directly on one of the main thoroughfares to the square but just off of it. Which made it nice and quiet but still fantastically close. It is decorated in a modern yet still Morrocan style.

The riad is very peaceful and a good place to chill out after a hard day tramping around the souks. The roof terrace is lovely and has plenty of comfy seating. The breakfast is also served up there and is really nice. Plenty of freshly squeezed OJ, mint tea and coffee.

The room we were in had a small but adequate en-suite bathroom. Separated from the bedroom by a long corridor and curtain (you do not need to go out of the room to access it). The beds were comfy and we loved the massive fluffy towels and bathrobes!

Great base for a great holiday.

  • Liked — The staff and the location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at Riad des Princesses and had a lovely stay.

First of all, it is in a terrific spot. You can walk to the Djemaa el-Fna in about 2 minutes. Once you are inside the riad however, its lovely and quiet. It makes a nice break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

We were supposed to be staying across the road at Riad No 10, but they told us they were full (even though we were booked in and paid for) so they organised for us to stay at this riad instead. If you get that option, definitely take it. Riad des Princesses is a definite step up from Riad No 10.

Inside it looks to have been fairly recently renovated to a good standard. Its got a more modern feel to the decor, but with a few traditional touches to remind you that you are in Morocco. The chandeliers there are particularly impressive.

We stayed in an odd shaped, but big, room on the top floor. It had plenty of room and was airconditioned. The room didn't have a bathroom, which meant that we had to walk about 5 metres outside our door to a separate (giant) bathroom, which was for our own private use. That was fine, except you feel a bit weird if there are people sitting out on the terrace, which is where the bathroom is located. They also give you fluffy bathrobes to wear, which is a nice touch.

There's a good roof terrace to relax on at night time where you will still be able to hear the sounds of the Djemaa el-Fna.

Breakfast was nothing special compared to some other riads we stayed at. Amazingly, this seemed to be the only riad in Morocco which doesn't serve fresh orange juice at breakfast.

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever a problem for them.

Riad des Princesses is a good place to stay. Great staff, a brilliant location and once you're back at the riad, you can relax up on the terrace or in your airconditioned room.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and a great location
  • Disliked — Having the bathroom outside our room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed for 8 nights in Marrakech and having not visited Morocco before, we were a little nervous about just turning up and finding those special little places to stay that reflect the true character of a place rather than the Marriot and Hilton hotels of this world. However, we did deliberately leave the last night unbooked so that we could have the opportunity of finding somewhere to stay simply by wandering around and having a nose round places.

There is certainly no problem in finding a small hotel or riad as they are known and we suspect that other than at the really peak periods, you should be able to find somewhere to stay in old Marrakesh simply by turning up on the steps of enough riads. We had a good look at many in the area just south of Djemaa el fna. Some of them turned out to be fully booked for the night we wanted, some were a bit pricey for what they seemed to have to offer and others left a little to be desired in terms of upkeep.

Eventually, we found Riad des Princesses, or should we say we were escorted to by the doorman of another rather grander Riad who seemed to be doing a little unofficial referral work of his own.

The staff were most helpful and allowed us to see a room, which is always a good tip when you are traveling; ask to see the or a room before booking – the good places to stay don't have anything to hide even if the room isn't completely made up ready for the next guests.

We loved the actual Riad. The interior courtyard area is lovely, complete with a little fountain and the roof terraced area is a great place to sit an relax as the sun goes down and from where you can just about hear the noise and goings on in the square, which is situated just a few 100 metres away. On the slight downside, our room was a little on the dingy side and could certainly benefit from a bit of a make over. There wasn't a proper wardrobe and the layout of the room, with a long corridor to bathroom was a little strange.

We didn't eat in the evening at the Riad but the breakfast was fine, a typical Marrakesh breakfast of fresh bread with honey and jam.

On the plus side, the communal areas, interior courtyard, roof terrace and friendliness of the staff were all very good. The downside is that the rooms look like they could use a little attention. Having said that, the Riad has changed hands recently and appears to have been bought by an elderly French doctor from Le Mann who appears to be starting on a campaign of changes designed to make the place a lot better.

Mike Lewis
May 2007

  • Liked — Really close to the square and the souks
  • Disliked — Rooms good do with redecorating and refurbishing
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad et Palais des Princesses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad et Palais des Princesses

Address: 37, 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Des Princesses is located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, a 2-minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna Square. It features a indoor swimming pool, Spa & Wellness Centre, where there is a hammam, hot tub and massages available upon request. The guest rooms are located around a central courtyard with flowers and trees. The bright, spacious rooms have air conditioning, a private bathroom and free Wi-Fi internet access. Some rooms have a 4-poster bed. Riad Palais Des Princesses provides a daily buffet breakfast that is served on the terrace. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Moroccan cuisine. Set within the Riad Zitoune El Keddim district, the residence has easy access to the city's many sites. Public parking is available nearby for guests arriving by car. Hotel Rooms: 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad et Palais des Princesses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Et Palais Des Princesses Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad et Palais des Princesses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.