We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad - an oasis of calm in crazy Marrakesh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad et Palais des Princesses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad et Palais des Princesses to your Saves list
Riad et Palais des Princesses
37, 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad - an oasis of calm in crazy Marrakesh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here - the room was lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful. There were some really thoughtful touches in our room - such as fresh rose petals scattered everywhere each day! The riad is located literally 2 minutes from the main square and souqs in a very lively and bustling area, but from inside the riad you'd never be able to tell! It really was an oasis of calm. The breakfast each morning was lovely, with fresh orange juice, homemade cake, bread etc. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    65
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
111
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Got off to bad start when taxi from hotel did not pick us up from airport. Couldn't phone hotel because telephone number shown on booking.com reservation was a french tel no.
Approach to hotel was a bit off putting at first - down narrow alleyways, but once there the riad was lovely with ttraditional morrocan features. We could sit and relax drinking mint tea whilst we checked in. Our party had 3 rooms. One person complained about power of water in shower, but apart from that everything was very good.The main doors were locked at night, but we had keys to get in and once inside it was very quiet. The call to prayer woke us up early, but that is expected in a muslim country. The staff were very welcoming. The breakfasts were wonderful and the girls would talk to you if you tried a little french and sign language. We arranged a couple of trips with a guide through the manager and these were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked this through booking.com who had an excellent deal. My friends had never been to Marrakech and loved the tranquillity of the surroundings. Although the rooms are not massive, they have special little touches - all of the towels and dressing gowns are embroidered with crowns and the riad name, roses everywhere including petals scattered fresh on the bed each day. The towels are changed everyday if you wish them to be but they are trying to be more eco-friendly and have notices which state only ones placed in the shower/bath will be changed.
The breakfast was plentiful for us - the coconut cake was fabulous. If you wanted it on the terrace, I advise you ask the manager as the cleaners/cooks did not speak English.
We also had dinner here on our arrival which was just enough and served on the terrace as requested.
You may wish to note that the riad does not serve alcohol but we had taken our own and they were happy to provide glasses. Also, no plunge pool which many of the other riads have - definitely needed if staying more then 3 days in the heat.
The only other thing was that although I understand for the comfort of other guests, common areas were closed at 10pm to keep noise levels down but as a group it made it awkward and so it would be better if they could at least extend this until midnight (and trust guests to be more considerate). Also, the terrace could have been opened earlier than 8am as it would have been nice to take advantage of the quiet especially as an early riser!
Good location and good staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

tipical ryad, could be better, but everything there is simple. Lovely people, but poor breakfast and the towels were not changed daily. I had to ask every single day for clean towels. The mosque is near by, so in the middle of every night I used to woke up with my heart in my mouth, scared.... the first night, that sound/noise scared the s*** out of me... I thought we were under attach, specially if you stop thinking about the location of this ryad, and the little hidden ways you need to walk to make your way from the town to the ryad... it was great, and believe me, I would do this again! but would stay in another place tho...

Room Tip: Room is lovely, that you want to copy the designs to have a room like that..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When our guide escorted us through a maze of alleys to Riad des Princesses, I thought we'd never find our way out again, but it was actually quite close to the main square of Jemaa el Fna. We were greeted with mint tea and nibbles, but once we filled in the paperwork and were escorted to our room, we never saw anyone again. It's not that they were unfriendly, they just weren't there. A decent breakfast was served by totally silent women, which made us a bit uncomfortable. Our first room was on the top floor, which was nice in that it lead directly out onto a lovely patio but not nice in that our bathroom was separated from the bedroom, so we had to get dressed just to go to the loo or have a shower. It was also noisier than other rooms because the window was above most roof levels so the motorbikes and calls to prayer could be heard quite clearly. When we returned to this riad after our trek in the Atlas mountains, we had the room right below the first one, which was both quieter and had an en suite bathroom. All in all, it was an okay place to stay in a great location.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor unless you are a very sound sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel has two riyads and you might be taken to the secondary location which is connected with the main one. It is located in a quiet alley and is very pleasant. The staff is very polite, the rooms have individual Air conditioners which is a blessing.
The rooms are very small as you can see from pictures and there is hardly much room to move around the bed and in bath/toilet. However most riyads will have this problem and you will be lucky to get a cheap large bedroom. The breakfast is good and the main square is only a 5 min walking distance.
My sleep was not great as the bed was metal frame and rather creaky and wobbly on its base.
Good value cheap clean and quiet place.
But really thats what most of riyds are in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincslad
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband thought this one of our nicest overseas accommodations! We booked airport transfers through the riad, and the travel arrangements were efficient and fairly priced. At 21:00 hrs. we might never have found our own way there, through a warren of deserted passageways. However, the riad is actually only steps from the Jemaa, and a short walk to the Bahai Palace.

Once through the front door, peace reigned. We were treated to mint tea & nibbles as we completed paperwork before being shown to our gorgeous room, large & airy, with linen and towels bearing the crown motif. Mohamed, the manager, was always on hand to offer advice, answer questions, or fulfil requests. The continental breakfasts were delicious, served in a beautiful dining room or up on the rooftop terrace, with bistro tables or couches on which to recline. Centrally located, clean and attractive, we have nothing but praise for this riad that helped make our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our upgraded Lalla Leila room was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad et Palais des Princesses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad et Palais des Princesses

Address: 37, 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#127 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#135 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Des Princesses is located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, a 2-minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna Square. It features a indoor swimming pool, Spa & Wellness Centre, where there is a hammam, hot tub and massages available upon request. The guest rooms are located around a central courtyard with flowers and trees. The bright, spacious rooms have air conditioning, a private bathroom and free Wi-Fi internet access. Some rooms have a 4-poster bed. Riad Palais Des Princesses provides a daily buffet breakfast that is served on the terrace. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Moroccan cuisine. Set within the Riad Zitoune El Keddim district, the residence has easy access to the city's many sites. Public parking is available nearby for guests arriving by car. Hotel Rooms: 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad et Palais des Princesses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Et Palais Des Princesses Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad et Palais des Princesses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.