We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Refined Hotel In The World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mansour Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mansour Marrakech to your Saves list
Royal Mansour Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Abou Abbas El Sebti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Algiers, Algeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Most Refined Hotel In The World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I travel often and have been in the most luxurious hotels, especially in the Middle East.

Nowhere have I experienced a more exclusive service in such a wonderful facility. The "hotel" is located at a walking distance to Jamaa Al Fna, the heart of Marrakech. I have used quote marks because this facility can't be described as a standard 5 stars hotel.

The facility is composed of 50 unique Riads, 3 restaurants and SPA not from this world!!! Each of these Riad serviced by a private buttler is worth writing about (I have used 3 and visited 4). Once inside, every detail of the architecture, design, layout, fabrics, furniture, private swimming pool, and so on ... contribute to a sensation of serinity.

The SPA, located in the compound is perfect. The food was excellent. But I definitely recommend out dinning and explore Marrakech multitude of restaurants.

Last but not least, what made the stay truly memorable was not the refinement of the materials or the luxury of the facility, what made it truly memorable was the excellence of the service.

My thanks to : The buttlers Parvez, Mario and Pico. Sarah of the kids club. Jerome, Salah and Karim from the SPA, the housekeepers, the maintenance people and gardeners, and of course ... Mr. Chaumard himself for his kind attention. You all contributed to make our stay such a unique moment :

If you can afford it, I truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    9
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
64
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Marrakech has it and the Royal Monsour shows it off beautifully. The Morrocan craftsmanship and detailing of the property are very impressive and tastefully done. If you have the resources, stay in one of the raids. If not, put on chic and have a drink in the bar which will enable you to see the public spaces.
Because the hotel is so new there are a few minor service glitches but nothing to prevent you from enjoying this oasis of calm in the wild ride which is Marrakech. The Royal Mansour will improve with age under the guidance of the manager, Jean-Pierre, who is concerned with the pleasure of the guests.
We enjoyed the services of the available cars and escorts which a hotel of this level should provide. The food in the onsite Moroccan restaurant was better then the one medina restaurant we tried for dinner. Room service food was so-so. The army of staff is well hidden which add to the atmosphere of calm.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Not wishing to cover the same ground as previous reviews, the architecture is certainly impressive. The attention to detail in the decor is second to none.
However, posting this half way through a 6 day stay, I really have to comment on some aspects that fall far short of the best hotels.
Arriving late the first night we ordered from the room service menu. Mistake. Filets of turbot turned out to be deep fried fish sticks (if you are serving goujons, say so!) Preserved lemon chicken had been preserved far too long, tough and tasteless.
Breakfast the following morning in the ''La Table'' restaurant was poorly presented (eg egg benedict was a single poached egg atop a 50cm diameter toast with a thin layer of turkey. No garnish, just a sorry looking egg on toast.)
However, this was exceeded on our second evening.
We had reserved a table in the French restaurant. After drinks in the bar we went to the restaurant, which was closed! On enquiry we were told that since they had just the one booking they decided not to open. Well, the one booking was us and nobody bothered to inform us. As a hotel positioned where it is, restaurants are a service, not a whim. You open and if nobody comes, cést la vie. I can honestly say that I have never heard of any hotel anywhere, at any price let alone 2,000 euros a night, that would take such action. Imagine turning up to the Mandarin in Hong Kong and being told Pierre was closed as they had few reservations. Hotels simply do not do this.
Finally, I guess a cultural issue. Almost everywhere we visit now is non-smoking and it was particularly intrusive having to sit in the bar with cigars and cigarettes contaminating the air. Even talking to the concierge yesterday, a corpulent gentleman with an equally corpulent cigar felt it was simply not necessary for him to consider others. My wife and I left before completing our discussions, such was the choking smoke. By all means cater to smokers, but those of us who find it revolting should also be considered. No such luck at this hotel.
So, would I recommend the hotel? Difficult call. The place itself is impressive but at their present state of development you may be staying in a palace, but do not expect royal treatment. This will undoubtedly change and improve in future, but when?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We are used to stay in the world's most luxurious properties and we have never been impressed more than any other hotel so far. From very first second you feel that you are guest in one of the most fantastic hotels of the world. First class transfer to the hotel (they have pristine S600 V12 cars), check in experience, public areas are just the combination of traditional finest zeliges and craftwork of the country, mixed with the most tasteful and elegant touches of decoration (baccara, lalique ...etc). Then when it comes to your private Riad, we had the first category and it was just HUGE and so, so so ELEGANT ! Passing your door you enter a nice patio, with fountain and seating area, on ground floor we had one morrocan salon plus two european style salons. On the first floor (which is basically already a second floor since the ceiling is 6 meters high on the ground floor :) ), a dressing room for "Monsieur", a very large room with a dressing room for "Madame" (wood sculptures are exceptional as a separation with the bed zone), wide bathroom with still, tumost refinement and taste in the choice of materials and amenities. Then you can go on the second floor, with a spectacular terrace (morrocan salon, nice water bassin, fireplace and sunbeds). You feel very "special" and privileged by staying there. The 3000 sq.meters spa is impressive, the "white cage" concept decoration in the main lobby of the spa is breathtaking, indoor swimming pool is just a rare quality and size, treatment rooms are extremely large and boast the very last technology. Absolutely nothing is missing. Just perfect. Three restaurants (international, French and Morrocan) with the finest cuisine you could ever dream of. The bar and cigar lounge are as well above any expectations. Location of the hotel is unique, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech. Staff is very well trained and even when we were there the hotel was in pre-opening, we could immediately understand that the staff was coming form the world's finest properties. Utmost service. By the way, your Riad has a buttler and service doors on each floors so you never see them going through the door ! So SMART ! Top technology (climate control with touch screens, sonorization etc - you can be in the Morrocan mood music they have a very large selection of music)
More than recommended, you will definitely pass something in your life if you do not stay at the Royal Mansour Marrakech, no more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

There is no chance to say something negative about this fabulous and unique hotel, the most luxury I've ever seen in Europe & Asia (I'm a very frequent and upscale traveller). Without any doubt, this is a number 1 hotel in Marrakesh!!!
Everything is perfect, everything is very luxury (Royal Mansour is not a hotel, but a real Palace): any property can compete with their quality/rate ratio. SPA is fabulous, ryad (we had a smallest one - just with 3 stores, a private outdoor swimming pool, 3 private terraces, one bed room, cuisine...), gourmet French restaurant (cuisine is very fine and gastronomical).
Regarding their staff: very attentive, professional, kind.
This is an ideal venue for welthy elite people for their romantic, business, family stay.
If I have to compare RM with a Palace in Europe, I would say Grand Hotel du Cap Ferrat, French Riviera.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I've stayed in numerous hotels in my life but for the first time, I fall short of words to describe the experience we just had at Royal Mansour Marrakech. I am literally speechless!!! Words like Sublime, Awesome, Marvellous etc...simply don't do it justice. I will then stick to my 9 year old son's verdict: he said "Dad, I remember you saying that when we die, we go to a place between earth and heaven. Could this be it?"

I can safely describe this as the most beautiful hotel in the world! Architecturally, it's the embodiment of millennia of the finest Moroccan craftsmanship. Intricate mosaic work on walls, floors and courtyard water fountains; artfully painted and carved wooden and gypsium ceilings plus what's probably the world's largest collection of paintings by all-Morrocan artists; are all a feast for the eyes and senses.

We ate at the Table Française where its 3 star chef (whose name I can't recall) treated us to French gastronomy at its best. The service, be it in the restaurant or in the Riad (where you get your own personal butler) is reverential yet unobtrusive.

Expensive? Yes but definitely worth the expense for special occasions. It was for our 15th wedding anniversary, by the way!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mansour Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Marrakech

Address: Rue Abou Abbas El Sebti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Mansour Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mansour Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mansour Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.