We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de la Photographie

Maison de la Photographie
46, rue Ahal Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-85721
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia...
Ranked #4 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Photography Museum has opened its doors in the heart of Marrakesh since May 2009.A private collection of 8000 photographs was gathered, this collection is only about Morocco and covers the period 1870 to 1950.The exposition contains hundreds of old photographs and shows the first film recorded in the High-Atlas in color, in 1957 by Daniel Chicault « Landscapes and Faces of the High-Atlas ». It was a pioneer action in Morocco.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good museum full of excellent photographs picturing the berber culture. And a little cafe on the rooftop is a must if only for a moroccan mint tea.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,401
    818
    148
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Go there and support their private gallery and their organization. They are privately collecting old, historic (beautiful) photographs without government support. The rooftop view is worth some time as well, great views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Find it and love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'll admit it was hard to find, but that's what travelling is for, wandering and discovering!

My husband and I really enjoyed it here, such a quiet escape from the bustling city of Marrakech. I felt like we walked out with a better understanding of Moroccan life. The owner and the people that work at the Maison de la Photographie are great and really care about what they do.

Afterwards we had a delicious lunch and mint tea on the rooftop patio. It was such a lovely way to spend an afternoon in Marrakech.

Oh and we bought a beautiful print that's proudly hanging in our home :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stunning insight into the life and times of Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

totally worth a visit - a little difficult to find but well worth it. go to the roof bar and look out over the roofs of Marakess. amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“very nice place but be careful on your way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

this place is amazing for people who loves photography.
we got kind of lost walking towards there and locals tried to help us?? but lead us to wrong way on purpose.
it was kind of dangerous.
just becareful and make sure you know which ways to go because when we went there, there was not much people around to go to this place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison de la Photographie also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Maison de la Photographie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de la Photographie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.