We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find it and love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de la Photographie

Maison de la Photographie
46 Rue Ahal Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 05 24 38 57 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 92 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Photography Museum has opened its doors in the heart of Marrakesh since May 2009.A private collection of 3500 photographs was gathered, this collection is only about Morocco and covers the period 1870 to 1950.The exposition contains hundreds of old photographs and shows the first film recorded in the High-Atlas in colour, in 1957 by Daniel Chicault « Landscapes and Faces of the High-Atlas ». It was a pioneer action in Morocco.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Find it and love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'll admit it was hard to find, but that's what travelling is for, wandering and discovering!

My husband and I really enjoyed it here, such a quiet escape from the bustling city of Marrakech. I felt like we walked out with a better understanding of Moroccan life. The owner and the people that work at the Maison de la Photographie are great and really care about what they do.

Afterwards we had a delicious lunch and mint tea on the rooftop patio. It was such a lovely way to spend an afternoon in Marrakech.

Oh and we bought a beautiful print that's proudly hanging in our home :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,013
    558
    96
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stunning insight into the life and times of Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

totally worth a visit - a little difficult to find but well worth it. go to the roof bar and look out over the roofs of Marakess. amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“very nice place but be careful on your way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

this place is amazing for people who loves photography.
we got kind of lost walking towards there and locals tried to help us?? but lead us to wrong way on purpose.
it was kind of dangerous.
just becareful and make sure you know which ways to go because when we went there, there was not much people around to go to this place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great little museum with a delightful cafe on the roof. Yes it's a bit tricky to find and ignore all the touts telling you it's closed to 3pm - it's not! They just want to take you to the nearby tannery. Once located its a great place to step back in time and spend an hour or so admiring the collection

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very difficult to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A very interesting museum which shows how little has changed in the interim years between the wars and how much of the medina has been allowed to decay. Very welcoming staff but it was difficult to find with no signs to show the way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison de la Photographie also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Maison de la Photographie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de la Photographie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.