We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de la Photographie

Maison de la Photographie
46, rue Ahal Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-85721
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia...
Ranked #4 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Photography Museum has opened its doors in the heart of Marrakesh since May 2009.A private collection of 8000 photographs was gathered, this collection is only about Morocco and covers the period 1870 to 1950.The exposition contains hundreds of old photographs and shows the first film recorded in the High-Atlas in color, in 1957 by Daniel Chicault « Landscapes and Faces of the High-Atlas ». It was a pioneer action in Morocco.
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Quite difficult to find as,although we had a street map, the streets dont often have names on them! However, as we made the mistake of standing in the street looking at a map and scratching our heads we attracted the attention of a local who "happened to be going that way". We followed him for 20 minutes and ended up at the tanneries. We made our feelings clear and he took us to the museum - another 10 minutes. Naturally he wanted paying so we gave him 20 dirahms (about £1.60 with the advice that had he taken us straight to the museum he would have got 100.
Anyway, we got there and it is a cool sanctuary of Berber culture history in pictures. Most of the work is from the 1920's and 30's with some interesting earlier work from the late 1800's.
The top floor cafe is very good and served us the best tagine we had in Marrakech. With water, mint tea, bread and cous cous the cost was around £8. The views are expansive but quite dull as buildings in Marrakech are pretty much the same height, but there is a good view of El Koutoubia Mosque
Entry fee to the museum was 40 dirhams (just over £3). It would be good to see some more modern works say from the 1950's to 70's when there were a lot of photo journalists working in North Africa but overall the difficulty of finding the place was worth it.
As a matter of interest when we came out we walked about 50 yards and saw an area we had already passed many times before bumping in to the helpful local.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,431
    830
    150
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cultural Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After traveling though many parts of Morocco it was wonderful to see the beautiful photos of the Morrocan people at this museum. I was amazed at the quality of photos that were taken over the last century. Though this museum is a bit difficult to find, I would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A interesting museum with a great café on the roof.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

To get lunch on the roof is a real treat and a great experience. The food is very good and very reasonably priced. Staff are extremely friendly. The only problem you will have is deciding what to have as it all looks so good. Light lunch for 2 came to only £8.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amazing photos and fabulous lunch on the roof terrace. Near to the Medersa Ben Youssef so easy to combine the two.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent trip to the Photography museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip here. The building was lovely and the photographs were well displayed, with interesting commentary. The rooftop terrace cafe provides unparalleled views over Marrakech and the mountains.

A really interesting visit, with a big plus that you can return for free if you retain your ticket.

Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison de la Photographie also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Maison de la Photographie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de la Photographie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.