We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Abad
Save
You added Riad Abad to your Saves list
11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place | 11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I booked the hotel by e mailing them directly and managed to get a decent discount. Cristelle got in touch with me as soon as the room was booked and booked a taxi and rental car for us in advance. My wife and I reached on an afternoon. The room 'Koutoubia' is on the second floor. i must warn that the stairs are pretty steep and it can be difficult for the elderly. it was quite difficult for my pregnant wife. The rooms are pretty decent with air conditioning and no tv. The Riad is an excellent location , hardly 2-3 minutes walk from Djema Al Fna. The staff Cristelle and Abas are brilliant and went the extra mile to make our trip a really good one. I must say that Abas is one of the best hosts I have come across. I would suggest to try the 3 course meals prepared by them (about £15 per head).
On the flip side, the sheet in our room had a stain and I wouldn't classify the room as spot clean. Also for the first two days, the shower did not work. it was a bit of a task explaining to the staff the issue. Finally after 2 nights, we were moved to a different room. The shower still wasn't brilliant and went from hot to cold randomly but I do hope these small issues would have been resolved. I would definitely recommend Riad Abad.

Room Tip: Remember the steps though rooms on 2nd floor are quiter than teh first floor ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The riad is beautifully decorated, very calm and welcoming. Its the perfect place to stay if you want to be close to the action but also want to be able to retreat to an oasis of calm and comfort in the evenings. As there are only 5 rooms you're treated like a special guest and well looked after and it's easy to meet and share stories with other guests. Cristelle is very helpful and organised our transfers from the station when we arrived which was invaluable as the location is buried deep within the heart of the main square.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Christelle, the new owner of Riad Abad en Abas her assistant did everyting to make us feel at home in Marrakesh, they were always there to come up with tips and advice. Each morning we got a different breakfast. Abas did some shopping for us to get good prices for spices. They had a lady come over do to henna painting on my daughters hands with natural products, instead of the chemicals they use on the square. They asked us for feedback on themselves and the Riad before we left to learn and make it even better. We had a fantastic time with them, in this small lovely Riad just behind the big place and if you are not looking for big luxury but an authentic and homy calm stay, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We had the Fantasia room, quiet and on the second floor looking into the inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Tranquil oasis of calm a two minute walk from the bustling Jemaa Al Fna square. Perfectly situated and full of character. Although Cristelle has only been running the riad since last October she was the perfect hostess and was always very helpful, informative and friendly - she even greeted us on the first night with a mint tea! Well worth the price - we would recommend the Riad Abad. Thank you Cristelle.
Giancarlo and Pam
England

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Riad Abad was an excellent place to stay. The owner of the Riad organized a taxi to pick us up from the airport and we arrived at the Riad in about 20 minutes. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the owner and offered mint tea and some Moroccan sweets. She asked us whether this was our first time to Marrakech (it was) and recommended day trips and things for us to do during our stay. She also told that us that she has only owned the Riad for about 4 months before taking us on a tour of the Riad. She also took us outside and told us how to get to the Riad from the main square (as when we first arrived, we just followed the taxi driver to the Riad).

The Riad is located about 100 metres or so from the main Jemma Square in a quiet side alley away from all the hustle of the square. The Riad is decorated in a very traditional style. There is a nice outside area at the top of the Riad where you can sun bake in summer (although we went in winter) and there is also a traditional Hamma (sauna) in the Riad. The room we stayed in was nice and clean. Breakfast was fine. We also had dinner at the Riad one night. It was a 3 course traditional meal which I found was very nice.

Overall Riad Abad is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

A home away from home. The location cannot be better. You roll out of bed and land virtually into the Jamaa AlFnaa hustle and bustle. The riad was clean and well kept. Service was great and so were the hosts.
They picked us up at our point of arrival with little notice and before we knew it, we were at the riad.
rooms were comfortable and neat. Had a fresh musk scent which seemed to be quite a relaxant after a busy day in the markets of Marrakech.

Room Tip: all rooms were good, however ask for the ones facing the street for additional windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel far exceeded every expectation. I searched a lot before I made the choice as there are lots of nice hotels around there but it turned I couldn't chose better!
This is a small but very luxury place and everything to the smallest details is really beautiful. Both rooms and bathrooms are big and the design is amazing. Downstairs lounge is also beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
The hotel is in the very city center, maybe 3 minutes walk to Djema el-Fna, yet the street is quiet and once you enter there, it doesn't feel like you are in the middle of the hustle and bustle anymore.
The manager of the place was extremely nice and helpful and organized my trip to the Atlantic Ocean as well as daily massages in the hotel.
The harira soup and couscous I had over there were probably the best Moroccan dinner I've had.
All in all it was definitely one of the best places I have stayed and I would really love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Abad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abad

Address: 11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place | 11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Une situation exceptionnelle, a trente metres de la celebre place Jemaa el Fna, coeur touristique et ame de Marrakech, a l'entree des souks et a proximite des monuments de la ville, le riad ABAD, veritable maison d'hotes, situe dans une ruelle calme et securisee a garde tout le charme des vieilles demeure allie au confort de notre temps, des chambres toute en authenticite, spacieuses et confortables, une terrasse donnant sur la place Jemaa el Fna, la Koutoubia et les montagnes enneigees du haut Atlas. Vous apprecierez la qualite de l'accueil et du service, le sourire en plus de vos hotes qui sauront egalement vous conseiller et vous orienter pour un sejour plus reussi a Marrakech et au Maroc... (Direction francaise) Description de votre etablissement (en anglais) : An exceptional situation, in thirty meters of the famous Jemaa el Fna place, the tourist heart and the soul of Marrakesh, at the gate of souks and near the most famous monuments of the city, the riad ABAD, hosts' real house, situated in a quiet and secure alley, all the charm of the old "demeure" allied to the modern comfort. Rooms quite in authenticity, spacious and comfortable, a terrace giving onto the place Jemaa el Fna, the Koutoubia and the snowy mountains of the High Atlas. You will appreciate the quality of the welcome and the service, the smile besides your hosts who will also know how to recommend to you and direct you for a stay more made a success in Marrakesh and in Morocco... ( French Management, english spocken) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.