We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful calm haven with lovely staff central for most attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Abad
Save
You added Riad Abad to your Saves list
11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place | 11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
runcorn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“beautiful calm haven with lovely staff central for most attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed here with my wife from 17th to 22nd of March and had a lovely time. The room was on first floor and was very comfortable with nice furnishings and spotless. The owners speaks french but are very helpful and one of the staff wissad speaks good english and nothing is to much bother for her. We had breakfast on roof terrace pancakes and french bread with various jams tea,mint tea and coffee and fresh orange. You have view of main square and snow covered atlas mountains from this terrace. We did not eat here but they do meals if required also arrange taxis from airport and day trips with excellent driver. also on last day looked after luggage for us until flight and provide refreshments on roof terrace. if we go back to marrekech will use this lovely riad again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We have just come back from a weekend staying at the Riad Abad and certaintly were not disappointed! The Riad was beautifully clean, welcoming and in an excellent location. We only ate breakfast in the riad and they were just right. My partner had to leave early one morning and they served him breakfast at 6am.

Fantastic location just offend main square meaning it's easy to pop back at any time to get away from the madness!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Riad Abad was a beautiful Riad in a great location just off Djemaa el Fna. Serge, Beatrice, Ouissan and Amina made us feel completely at home and provided us with everything we (my girlfriend and I) needed to have a great time. For this we can't thank them enough!

The rooms were kept extremely clean and were a very comfortable size. There are fans and a/c but in May it wasn't always necessary to use them. We also had a lovely meal cooked at the Riad at a reasonable price and if you stay be sure and ask for Mohamed to show you around or take you on a day trip - he's a wealth of local historical and cultural information and with him you're sure of an enjoyable outing.

The Riad is in a fantastic location just off the main square in the medina, so is great for popping back to when the Souks or the weather becomes a bit much to bear. I wholeheartedly recommend Riad Abad for those visiting Marrakech, especially for couples or families.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I stayed at the Riad Abad Lodging facility in mid March, 2010. I call it a lodging because it's not quite a hotel, and not quite a bed & breakfast either. It is something wonderful and unique between the two. My Swiss friend found it and I joined him for 3 nights. This property is located very close to the center of old town, Jamaa el Fna, but it's nicely hidden, so it is surprisingly peaceful, quiet and convenient. The owners, Beatrice and Serge, are always friendly and helpful. Unfortunately I cannot speak French but had no problems at all because their assistant speaks good English.

Rooms are clean and comfy, decorated with a nice touch. I didn't expect it, but there was complementary Wi-Fi available around the patio area which is also very convenient. The roof terrace was our favorite place to lounge. We spent a relaxing afternoon in the sofa sun covered shade shelter, listening to the exotic bustle of Jamaa el Fna.

Breakfast was served on the terrace as well, and it was superb! Because the owners are French, they know exactly what we needed in the morning - endless pots of strong coffee with warm, thick milk, and we enjoyed incredibly tasty cafe-au-lait every morning along with warm tasty breads, flavorful butter, real honey and marmalades. It was joyous start to each day. Serge offered us dinner on our 2nd night and it too was wonderful. The main dish was beef Tajin, Moroccan local cuisine, and that too was memorably yummy.

They really know what guests from other countries hope for in accommodations and service, and are the perfect hosts. Hence, I spent an impeccable, enjoyable and memorable three nights in Marrakech. Thank you, All !!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Beatrice and Serge received us warmly and are always ready to find better activties on Marrakech and around. ( visit sights, drive across Orika's valley, etc ... )
Rooms are very nice and coloured.
The Riad Abad is on Jamaa el fna place, easy to find among other riads.
We had a good view on Koutoubia 's tower from the last floor.
We apreciated the family atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Abad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abad

Address: 11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place | 11 Derb Zaari, Kennaria, Jemaa El Fna Place, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Une situation exceptionnelle, a trente metres de la celebre place Jemaa el Fna, coeur touristique et ame de Marrakech, a l'entree des souks et a proximite des monuments de la ville, le riad ABAD, veritable maison d'hotes, situe dans une ruelle calme et securisee a garde tout le charme des vieilles demeure allie au confort de notre temps, des chambres toute en authenticite, spacieuses et confortables, une terrasse donnant sur la place Jemaa el Fna, la Koutoubia et les montagnes enneigees du haut Atlas. Vous apprecierez la qualite de l'accueil et du service, le sourire en plus de vos hotes qui sauront egalement vous conseiller et vous orienter pour un sejour plus reussi a Marrakech et au Maroc... (Direction francaise) Description de votre etablissement (en anglais) : An exceptional situation, in thirty meters of the famous Jemaa el Fna place, the tourist heart and the soul of Marrakesh, at the gate of souks and near the most famous monuments of the city, the riad ABAD, hosts' real house, situated in a quiet and secure alley, all the charm of the old "demeure" allied to the modern comfort. Rooms quite in authenticity, spacious and comfortable, a terrace giving onto the place Jemaa el Fna, the Koutoubia and the snowy mountains of the High Atlas. You will appreciate the quality of the welcome and the service, the smile besides your hosts who will also know how to recommend to you and direct you for a stay more made a success in Marrakesh and in Morocco... ( French Management, english spocken) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.