We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Nour El Houda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Nour El Houda to your Saves list
Dar Nour El Houda
3 Derb Lahdhiri | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #471 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved It!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from Dar Nour El Houda.

Firstly, I will get the only negative out of the way. This guesthouse is not on the main square. They provide a map, but if you have a bad sense of direction you may struggle. Having said this, it is a maximum 12-15 minute interesting walk through souks to jema el fna and very close to big attractions a few minutes walk. And if like me you don't want to be in a busy touristy area it is perfectly located. I had no problem finding the 'Kaat Benaheid' sign to the house after my first walk.

Now, the rest of my review. This is a quality guesthouse with impeccable service, in fact the best service I have enjoyed. You are made to feel like a king with perfectly presented leisurely breakfast made to order at a time you choose. Any query you have is thoroughly dealt with any time of the day with a smile.

My room was very well appointed with a super comfortable bed and smart en-suite, finished in traditional tadilakt (Moroccan plaster). The small touches everywhere make it feel really special, and staff told me a lot of the furniture and finishes were handmade by the former artist owner as is all the art on the walls.

The whole guesthouse is serine, I used to look forward to returning every day to sit and relax in tranquility listening to the birds tweet and taking in the amazing interiors.

I loved Dar Nour El Houda. It made my trip to Marrakech very special and was one of the highlights. I did a lot of research before booking and did not regret my choice. It is a shame that the new British owners have lost almost 200 5* reviews on Tripadvisor but I am sure they will soon climb back up to no 42 which is were they were when I booked.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a fantastic riad in the heart of the madina, a five minute walk from the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Madressa and a 4 minute walk from the Marrakech Photography Museum.

It is an oasis in the middle of the mayhem and I spent many hours just relaxing in the courtyard and the roof terrace, which has views to the Atlas Mountains.

One of the most memorable experiences I had was the meal I enjoyed at the Riad, 3 courses for 18 euros / £13 per person. This was top restaurant quality food at a quarter of the price, and was served beautifully presented and was the most delicious meal I had whilst in Marrakech.

Rooms are comfortable and stylish as is the whole Riad, all white and cream with curtains and seating in nice spots. Also, it is a 12-14 minute walk to Jamaa El Fna.

Overall, I loved this place. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Salam Suite was very spacious. All rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This riad is truly fantastic.

It is super homely - it offers the warmest and most personable service - and the house and its rooms are very very cool.

I highly recommend it.

There is also the most wonderful home cooked food available from Ghita - the manageress - that is not to be missed!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had an amazing second stay for a mini-break in Marrakech at Dar Nour El Houda.

Noureddine and Ghita are perfect hosts, always going above and beyond.

The rooms are comfortable, and the interior decor is as amazing as I remember; a combination of French and Moroccan classic design in airy white and cream. The artworks throughout are also amazing.

You have to get used to the location using the map provided by Noureddine (which he kindly takes you through in some detail) but after you get used to it you understand that you are ideally located close to the Ben Youssef Mosque and Madressa, the Marrakech Musuem, the Photography Musuem, the Souks and some quality restaurants in the top 25 in Tripadvisor are a few minutes walk away.

I highly recommend this Riad and for the price and quality this is now always the place I will stay if visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Besides the good quality of the room, the attention of details can be sensed through out the riad. I would want to spend most of my day just to chillax inside because it is so quite, peaceful, and beautifully designed. The essence is the service: Norredine went above and beyond his duty as a staff to make me feel comfortable as if I was at home. He is a nice person who treats the guests not as a mean to get benefit to the business or himself, but as an end in themselves as persons, which I think it is a morally valuable character of a service worker.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Nour El Houda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Nour El Houda

Address: 3 Derb Lahdhiri | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Nour El Houda is a chic and unique boutique Riad in the heart of the Madina of Marrakech. It is the former home of French contemporary artist Patrick Carpentier and is now owned by a group of British friends who fell in love with the place. The Riad is interior decorated to a high standard in cream and white. It enjoys an open courtyard with a large Olive tree and a plunge pool as well as a terrace with views to the Katoubia and the Atlas Mountains. Each of the four en-suite bedrooms have their own unique character and the entire property is decorated with Patrick's beautiful artworks. The Riad is located in the centre of the Madina, close to star attractions such as Ben Youssef Mosque and Madresa (5 mins walk), the Marrakech Museum (5 mins walk) and the Photography Museum (4 mins walk). Jemaa-El-Fna is an approximate 12-15 minute walk away and a map is provided to guide you. Taxis from the airport stop at Place Moukef (Kaat Benahid), a 4 minute walk away. Famous restaurants such as Le Fondouk, Dar Tazi and Restaurant Naima are all approximately 5 minutes walk away, but in our opinion the best meal is served within Dar Nour El Houda itself with a fantastic 3-course meal cooked by one of your hosts, Ghita. Together with our Manager, Noureddine, you will be treated to attentive service where every guest is looked after with the utmost care. We look forward to welcoming you to Dar Nour El Houda. Previously ranked 48 on Tripadvisor with 195 5* reviews, but starting again from May 2015 under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Nour El Houda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Nour El Houda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.