We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, homely, cute and the absolute best hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Nour El Houda

Save Saved
You added Dar Nour El Houda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Nour El Houda
3 Derb Lahdhiri | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #57 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, homely, cute and the absolute best hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

A beautiful, homely, artistic and very comfortable dar / riad. But what really makes this place wonderful are the hosts, Patrick and Liliane. They were so very welcoming, and extremely protective of us two girls, helping us work Marrakech, so our experience would be a pleasant one with limited annoyance from hawkers and souk salesmen. We stayed in the Salem room at the top, it was nicely decorated with a huge bed and the obligotary tadelact bathroom. The roof top terrace was spot on; small, cute and intimite, as were the other shared spots of the dar, so you felt at home and relaxed, when reading your book and drinking your tea. The dar is located in the outskirts of the souk, a stones trow from Ben Yussuf and the Photography Museum (which is a must!). Breakfast was simple but good, we ate one evening at the dar and the food was lovely. I can highly recommend the dar, would definatey recommend it! Thank you Liliane & Patrick!

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms and they all looked lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Morocco and an amazing 4 nights spent at Dar Nour el Houda. Patrick and Liliane are the cutest and most lovely French hosts. The way they have renovated and added little touches to the rooms is a credit to them.
Marrakech is a chaotic place but as soon as you walk into this place it is so idyllic and serene with a lovely central courtyard and amazing roof terrace with views to the mountains!
We only had there helper, Ghita, for one day because she was on holiday, but she is also a star and to have one of her meals is an absolute must! I am still waiting for the recipe...

We stayed in the Baraka room and had the whole riad to ourselves! The room was small but an excellent use of colours and space to make it feel homely. Each morning we were treated to breakfast on the terrace and the freshly squeezed orange juice was the best we had.

Unfortunately we could not speak fluent French so could only speak to Patrick but both are so lovely and want to give you as much advice as possible about Marrakech and where to go. Location wise, once you get your bearings, it is in an excellent location to wander the souqs and near by attractions.

Overall brilliant accommodation and can definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

a few words concerning our logis of this week :
The 'warm welcome' of Patrick and Liliane opened the door for a very enjoyable and pleasant staying in Dar Nour El Houda.
We feld at home because the 'hotel feeling' is not in the Riad.
The chef Ghita gets from us a 10 on 10. Her Tajins are equal for a 3 star restaurant.
The room was perfect and the picknick we got before we left was super.
Congratulation !
Nick and Rik Vanhooren / Bruges - Belgium 06.11.11

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The first thing our hosts Patrick & Liliane did was take us on an orienteering course of the Medina – this didn’t prevent us getting lost, but did mean we didn’t lose our way quite as often as we might have……their riad is a beautiful, tranquil oasis and a ‘home from home’, that is, if my home was half as stylish with original oil paintings hung throughout! Breakfasts were a treat for the senses and looked stunning as well as tasting great: little touches, for instance one morning the butter would be topped with poppy seeds, another morning with toasted sesame seeds or an artfully arranged cashew nut! My French was a little rusty but we had no problems communicating restaurant recommendations, hammam suggestions and sightseeing tips. If you’re looking for a small (3 guest rooms), minimalist and chic riad in the heart of the Medina for a reasonable price, then Dar Nour El Houda is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Elegantly renovated French run Dar not far from Medersa Ben Youssef, and musee of Photography. Quite, super comfortable beds, spotless bathrooms, nice living area & terrace. Our stay would have been even more enjoyable if we were able to speak french to the nice owners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

The interior design of this riad is breathtaking: Simple, elegant and warm, imaginative and inspiring. Patrick and Liliane Carpentier have created a beautiful, tranquil oasis within the walls of the old city of Marrakech. They have taken the beauty of traditional Morrocan plaster (Tadelakt) and mixed it with transcendental Zen design elements for an arrestingly beautiful effect.

The beauty of the riad is a total reflection of the Carpentiers. What wonderful hosts! I was so, so sorry that we could not have stayed longer. Much as I loved the atmosphere of Marrakech, I loved the experience of just being in this riad even more. We felt instantly at home thanks to Patrick and Liliane's warm welcome. And the rooms are gorgeous! I loved their use of space as well as the materials they used. Sumptuous without being at at all gaudy. Texture, rather than color is a key design element in the rooms and is wildly successful in creating a calm, cozy space. The beauty of the bed linens made it look too pretty to disturb, yet too pretty to resist! And oh what a wonderful bed! I slept better there than I do in my own bed!

In nearly every room, a wall is graced with Patrick's paintings. His work is beautiful- his colors are those of Marrakech- vibrant, warm and rich. His art is a perfect compliment to the interior design of the riad.

It is not an overstatement to say that this riad, with its wonderful hosts and gorgeous interiors, is a destination in and of itself. You cannot help but enjoy Marrakech, but oh what a treat to have such a wonderful destination within a destination. Dar Nour El Houda is perfect without being uptight. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Nour El Houda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Nour El Houda

Address: 3 Derb Lahdhiri | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House dedicated to peace and harmony, Dar Nour El Houda offers a pool that adorns a raised patio, terrace overlooking the Atlas and Koutoubia and a lounge / dining room.Summary of the wealth of cultural diversity, our Dar is a unique renovated in keeping with traditional architecture beldi way, it reflects the will of its new owners Liliane & Patrick to live a lifestyle aboriginal with a blueprint and a contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Nour El Houda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Nour El Houda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.