We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm house with perfect service in Marrakech !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Nour El Houda

Save Saved
You added Dar Nour El Houda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Nour El Houda
3 Derb Lahdhiri | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #57 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
“warm house with perfect service in Marrakech !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

a few words concerning our logis of this week :
The 'warm welcome' of Patrick and Liliane opened the door for a very enjoyable and pleasant staying in Dar Nour El Houda.
We feld at home because the 'hotel feeling' is not in the Riad.
The chef Ghita gets from us a 10 on 10. Her Tajins are equal for a 3 star restaurant.
The room was perfect and the picknick we got before we left was super.
Congratulation !
Nick and Rik Vanhooren / Bruges - Belgium 06.11.11

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The first thing our hosts Patrick & Liliane did was take us on an orienteering course of the Medina – this didn’t prevent us getting lost, but did mean we didn’t lose our way quite as often as we might have……their riad is a beautiful, tranquil oasis and a ‘home from home’, that is, if my home was half as stylish with original oil paintings hung throughout! Breakfasts were a treat for the senses and looked stunning as well as tasting great: little touches, for instance one morning the butter would be topped with poppy seeds, another morning with toasted sesame seeds or an artfully arranged cashew nut! My French was a little rusty but we had no problems communicating restaurant recommendations, hammam suggestions and sightseeing tips. If you’re looking for a small (3 guest rooms), minimalist and chic riad in the heart of the Medina for a reasonable price, then Dar Nour El Houda is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Elegantly renovated French run Dar not far from Medersa Ben Youssef, and musee of Photography. Quite, super comfortable beds, spotless bathrooms, nice living area & terrace. Our stay would have been even more enjoyable if we were able to speak french to the nice owners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

The interior design of this riad is breathtaking: Simple, elegant and warm, imaginative and inspiring. Patrick and Liliane Carpentier have created a beautiful, tranquil oasis within the walls of the old city of Marrakech. They have taken the beauty of traditional Morrocan plaster (Tadelakt) and mixed it with transcendental Zen design elements for an arrestingly beautiful effect.

The beauty of the riad is a total reflection of the Carpentiers. What wonderful hosts! I was so, so sorry that we could not have stayed longer. Much as I loved the atmosphere of Marrakech, I loved the experience of just being in this riad even more. We felt instantly at home thanks to Patrick and Liliane's warm welcome. And the rooms are gorgeous! I loved their use of space as well as the materials they used. Sumptuous without being at at all gaudy. Texture, rather than color is a key design element in the rooms and is wildly successful in creating a calm, cozy space. The beauty of the bed linens made it look too pretty to disturb, yet too pretty to resist! And oh what a wonderful bed! I slept better there than I do in my own bed!

In nearly every room, a wall is graced with Patrick's paintings. His work is beautiful- his colors are those of Marrakech- vibrant, warm and rich. His art is a perfect compliment to the interior design of the riad.

It is not an overstatement to say that this riad, with its wonderful hosts and gorgeous interiors, is a destination in and of itself. You cannot help but enjoy Marrakech, but oh what a treat to have such a wonderful destination within a destination. Dar Nour El Houda is perfect without being uptight. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Nour El Houda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Nour El Houda

Address: 3 Derb Lahdhiri | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House dedicated to peace and harmony, Dar Nour El Houda offers a pool that adorns a raised patio, terrace overlooking the Atlas and Koutoubia and a lounge / dining room.Summary of the wealth of cultural diversity, our Dar is a unique renovated in keeping with traditional architecture beldi way, it reflects the will of its new owners Liliane & Patrick to live a lifestyle aboriginal with a blueprint and a contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Nour El Houda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Nour El Houda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.