We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location - great retreat from the medina when you need it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Radia

Riad Radia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Radia to your Saves list
Riad Radia
60, Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #606 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - great retreat from the medina when you need it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We arranged our airport transfer through the Riad before arriving (20E each way) which was well worth it as we were met in Djemaa El Fna as the taxi couldn't go any further - it really would be a struggle to find it on your own the first time! Cath130s directions below are great and we wrote these down before leaving -- leave the square by Cafe De France through the covered alleyway, walk straight down for a couple of minutes until you see a red/brown building 'Patisserie' on the right...just before that on the left is an entrance to another alley, go down this and it's the second alley on the right. The first door on the left and there is a little sign confirming it's Riad Radia.

We were given mint tea on arrival and as there was only 1 room occupied when we arrived so we were shown each of the rooms and able to pick which we wanted. All seemed very similar other than a suite just below the terrace which was larger/more private.

The location was great as we found it a good base to explore the medina and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to see. Sitting on the rooftop terrace at the end of the day, watching the sun go down and listening to the hussle/bustle without being part of it was our favourite bit.

Whenever we returned to the Riad in the afternoon we were offered tea/coffee - once we took her up on this and asked for it on the terrace. On our last day we were asked for 2 euro for this - not sure if it was because the additional tea was not included in our stay as we had thought, or if we had to pay because we'd asked for it on the terrace.

The breakfast is plentiful and served whenever you get up - mint tea/coffee/fresh orange juice, porridge, eggs cooked in a tagine (very nice!), breads, pastries, spreads.

There is a nearby mosque so you will be woken up at 5.30am with the call to prayer - our first morning (a Sunday) this seemed to go on forever, although it does sound quite beautiful (and reminds you you're not in Kansas anymore Toto!). Even with earplugs it woke me up and you'd hear it wherever you stayed in the city.

Only tips would be to brush up on your French as they don't speak English and we struggled at times to get our message across. Also, the stone floors in the rooms were very cold so you may want to bring some slippers or warm socks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

It is incredibly difficult to find first time. Leave main square in top right hand corner just after cafe de france. It looks like you are heading down a back street with a covered route, but don't worry it is the right way and it is safe, (if you are good at dodging mopeds!). Walk straight on for about 5 mins or 200m. You will see a reddy brown Partisserie on the right, just before that on the left is what looks like an alley through a covered open gateway. Again, don't worry, despite the cats and the resting locals it is the right way and it is safe. The Riad is down the second alley on the left, just after the roof covering ends. The door is the first on the right about 10 m down with a nice big door, but only a very small sign. Once inside it is a Very, Very pleasant place to be, a bit like being in a smart Roman Villa and the staff are quite delightful. We took the 'suite' on the top floor which added 30euros a night to the bill. It was a great place to be with an almost exclusive balcony area. The drains did smell a little bit, especially when coming back to he room in the evening and there was a big shock at 5:40am every morning when the local mosque sprang into very loud action. This was only very brief (5-10 mins depending on day) and eventually added to the charm and you will not avoid this wherever you stay. The terrace is a great place for taking tea and photographs of the local skyline. All of the bits of Marrakesh you will want to see are within easy reach and most things are close enough for you to return for a mid afternoon break and some extremely refreshing tea. Breakfasts were great and at a time of your choice and although we didn't have an evening meal at the Riad those guests who did said they were very good. Had debated doing an all inclusive outside the city and travelling in, but really glad we didn't and would highly recommend this Riad as a base. In fact Marrakesh in general is brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

we arrived delayed - around midnight. with pedestrianised streets all around - we had a good 10 - 15 minute walk (IF we knew where we were going, which we didn't). Hidden down a backstreet off a backstreet off a backstreet - though only 5 minutes walk from the big square. they could have left the outside lights on - as we had booked and although an hour and a half delayed - lights and a proper signed would have been useful. Few street signs and house numbers! Very basic - so bring your own shampoo, hairdryer, slippers, bathrobe if you are so inclined. Otherwise - once situated - very convenient, very clean. Sauna & hammam weren't operating while there - but they are small and you might prefer going to a proper one in the city. Very sweet charming young girl taking care of the Riad - but somewhat inexperienced (no english, no map-reading, restaurant suggestions, ...)
I would stay here again happily. My friends were awakened by the early morning call to prayer - moi, didn't hear a thing. i'd be a terrible muslim i guess.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

The Riad Radia is a fantastic haven of peace and quiet in the middle of the hustle & bustle of Marrakech. The one woman staff looked after us very well by cooking great breakfasts (served on the roof terrace if you like), cleaning the room and making mint tea whenever we wanted. We even took the offer of dinner one night and had a lovely home cooked meal of traditional local food. The rooms are clean and tidy and the bed was big and comfortable. I would happily stay there again but beware the 5.30am wake up call from the local mosque.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

The Riad is an architectural piece of art. Its rooms clean and comfortable. The terrace view is simply dazzling! The staff is friendly. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Radia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Radia

Address: 60, Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Radia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Radia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Radia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.