We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Base For Marrakesh Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Radia

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Radia to your Saves list
Riad Radia
60, Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #708 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Good Base For Marrakesh Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

It is incredibly difficult to find first time. Leave main square in top right hand corner just after cafe de france. It looks like you are heading down a back street with a covered route, but don't worry it is the right way and it is safe, (if you are good at dodging mopeds!). Walk straight on for about 5 mins or 200m. You will see a reddy brown Partisserie on the right, just before that on the left is what looks like an alley through a covered open gateway. Again, don't worry, despite the cats and the resting locals it is the right way and it is safe. The Riad is down the second alley on the left, just after the roof covering ends. The door is the first on the right about 10 m down with a nice big door, but only a very small sign. Once inside it is a Very, Very pleasant place to be, a bit like being in a smart Roman Villa and the staff are quite delightful. We took the 'suite' on the top floor which added 30euros a night to the bill. It was a great place to be with an almost exclusive balcony area. The drains did smell a little bit, especially when coming back to he room in the evening and there was a big shock at 5:40am every morning when the local mosque sprang into very loud action. This was only very brief (5-10 mins depending on day) and eventually added to the charm and you will not avoid this wherever you stay. The terrace is a great place for taking tea and photographs of the local skyline. All of the bits of Marrakesh you will want to see are within easy reach and most things are close enough for you to return for a mid afternoon break and some extremely refreshing tea. Breakfasts were great and at a time of your choice and although we didn't have an evening meal at the Riad those guests who did said they were very good. Had debated doing an all inclusive outside the city and travelling in, but really glad we didn't and would highly recommend this Riad as a base. In fact Marrakesh in general is brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

we arrived delayed - around midnight. with pedestrianised streets all around - we had a good 10 - 15 minute walk (IF we knew where we were going, which we didn't). Hidden down a backstreet off a backstreet off a backstreet - though only 5 minutes walk from the big square. they could have left the outside lights on - as we had booked and although an hour and a half delayed - lights and a proper signed would have been useful. Few street signs and house numbers! Very basic - so bring your own shampoo, hairdryer, slippers, bathrobe if you are so inclined. Otherwise - once situated - very convenient, very clean. Sauna & hammam weren't operating while there - but they are small and you might prefer going to a proper one in the city. Very sweet charming young girl taking care of the Riad - but somewhat inexperienced (no english, no map-reading, restaurant suggestions, ...)
I would stay here again happily. My friends were awakened by the early morning call to prayer - moi, didn't hear a thing. i'd be a terrible muslim i guess.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

The Riad Radia is a fantastic haven of peace and quiet in the middle of the hustle & bustle of Marrakech. The one woman staff looked after us very well by cooking great breakfasts (served on the roof terrace if you like), cleaning the room and making mint tea whenever we wanted. We even took the offer of dinner one night and had a lovely home cooked meal of traditional local food. The rooms are clean and tidy and the bed was big and comfortable. I would happily stay there again but beware the 5.30am wake up call from the local mosque.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

The Riad is an architectural piece of art. Its rooms clean and comfortable. The terrace view is simply dazzling! The staff is friendly. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzgeldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#561 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#161 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Radia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Radia

Address: 60, Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #708 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Radia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Radia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing