We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Nice rooms, but Wouldn't Return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sesame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sesame to your Saves list
Riad Sesame
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bab doukkala derb zaouia No5, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #607 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, Nice rooms, but Wouldn't Return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place was difficult to find. Once you do find though, you will be pleased that it is very close to the Les Bains Hammam where I was pampered with spa treatments all day long for only about $85 USD. I’d highly recommend this hammam for sure. Anyhow, upon arrival to the riad, it was nice that the lady invited me in by name as though she was prepared for my arrival. The owner did seem a little odd during my stay though. She speaks pretty much no English which made many things difficult. There is a weird key policy where when you leave, you have to leave your room key behind in a little dish along with everyone else’s key. I didn’t feel very secure about this as there was nothing stopping another guest from taking my key out of the bowl and going into my room. The room itself was nice, but only okay. Wifi was unreliable. Satellite TV was unreliable. Bathroom had a broken showerhead with just a hose to wash with. Breakfast was served on the hot roof and wasn’t anything to get excited over. The common areas in the place don’t feel inviting. It almost felt like I was staying as a guest as a stranger’s house and wanted to just isolate in my room rather than breathe the whole place in and comfortably explore and settle into my environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The rooms are really clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast is good but especially the woman who runs the place is very sweet and helpfull. We stayed three nights here and only payed 830dirham with two persons. This place is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with our family and found Malika to be very welcoming. Breakfast was different every day, always delicious and nothing was too much trouble. We requested an evening meal and Malika made a choice of wonderful dishes, including a vegetarian option for my daughter. The rooms were authentically Moroccan and spotlessly clean.
The Riad is near the main square, yet very peaceful. I would highly recommend Riad Sesame for your stay in Marrakesh. Thank you Malika!

Room Tip: We had 3 of the 5 rooms available and they were all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We spent four great days in Riad Sesame with excellent service from Madame et mademoiselle. The Riad lies in a quiet place wich gives you a good nights sleep. The place is clean and neat. We can higly recommend this Riad for a stay in magic Marrakech. It helps with the school french to communicate with Mme.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#82 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#155 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sesame

Address: Bab doukkala derb zaouia No5, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #607 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Sesame 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely and quiet traditional riad near the parking your private little paradise in this wonderful city within just 10 mn walk from the famous jemaa el fna2 mn from souksnear all major sites of interest with a number of world famous restaurants at our doorsteps(maison arabe ...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Sesame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sesame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.