We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis to your Saves list
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
27, Derb Cherrata | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Toronto Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This riad is a well kept and comfortable place to stay. Service could not have been better and breakfast was excellent. It's an easy walk into the market.

Very notable is that Sara arranged for a company to drive us to our stay in the desert and on to Fez. She chose very well and this was the best driver and car that we had in Morocco. Rashid, the driver was a pleasure to spend 4 days with, was proud of his country and wanted to make sure we saw good things. The air conditioned van was a Hyundai and accomodated the 6 of us plus luggage comfortably. His company arranged our place to stay in the desert and it was a memorable experience in life of travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Responsable relations clients at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you it was a real plaesure to satisfy you, I'am so happy that you spent a beautiful stay in Morocco!!! All the team thank you and hope to see you again!!!

Best regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    46
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
94
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for four nights. Sarah had arranged for a hired car to meet us at the airport. Marrakech is a little hard to navigate a first so this is probably the best thing to do. We also used this service to return to the airport.

This is not a large place. Probably like most of the riads. A nice patio on the ground floor where you had breakfast. There is a plunge pool there too. We used that everyday. It is cold getting in but really cools you off after walking around all day in the heat.

Because it is a little way off from the main square, only 10 or 15 minutes walk, I think it is a little quieter than a place closer. We never felt unsafe walking around at night. Just families out in the evening.

Our room was very nice. Bathroom is large.

The breakfasts were very good. We had dinner one night and it was good too.

Sarah booked a walking trip into the foothills of the atlas mountains for us. It was a really wonderful trip. We got to eat in the house of our guide. Seeing the foothills was a nice change from the big city.

Don't forget to go on the roof to see out over the city.

The location this comes up in google maps is wrong. Make sure you know exactly where it is.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Responsable relations clients at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi, I wanna thank you for this excellent message! I'am very happy that you had a great stay with us!!!! Hope to see you soon!!

Take care
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Lovely little riad! our party had 4 adults and 2 children (11 & 8 years old). The riad was clean and quite. Breakfast was wonderful and varied each morning. Mint tea was free anytime you wanted it. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous at every turn. They took care of planning a 3-4 day trip to the desert and up to Fez - everything went extremely smoothly and was one of the best parts of our trip. We couldn't have asked for more from this establishment.

Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Responsable relations clients at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi, such a great time with you!! i'am very proud of the team made you very comfortable and helpfuly! You are welcome to come back next time!!

Take care all the family!
Sarah and the riad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great friendly service and superb breakfast. Fresh orange juice breads/pancakes/toast/cake every morning. Simple but good and not a cereal in sight. We had the 2 rooms on the top floor-very comfortable and basic with an area to sit out and have a drink. We had dinner there on our first night and was probably the best we had in 5 days. A fantastic beef tagine -no choice but a good 3 courses. No TV and safe did not work in one of the rooms-not fixed during our 4 night stay.AC good and was needed in May as we got to 36 degrees on 2 days-Highly unseasonable. Rooms clean but maintenance could be improved re light fittings/painting sun beds/dripping tap on outside sink etc. A small freshen up would be good. Having said that staff very friendly and helpful-First class.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on top floor (Hisbiscus and one other)give a bit of peace and great views of satellite dishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Responsable relations clients at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you I'am very happy that you had a great stay with us. We are fix everything don't worry, I'am listening to our guests and will improve the place will you make you have an another stay here!
Kind regards

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I wish there was a Zero rating on here. First and foremost, the riad did not feel safe at all. After paying for the room and taxi transfer, we would have been better off paying for a better class riad. The living conditions were not good -- everything felt very forced, from the welcome to the check in. There was a mattress next to the stairs on the way up along with other bits and pieces. In our room, violette, there was a big damp patch next to the shower, which we were told was due to someone having a shower, but this does not make sense when the shower head was fixed to the wall facing the other way! The sink tap was fixed on with some kind of putty and was not stable. The only mirror in the bathroom and room was the size of my hand. Upon voicing our concerns, we were told it was all fine and we would love it. We couldn't stay there so we found an alternative hotel to stay in within half an hour of getting there. The owners of the riad have not apologised and have offered us a 2 night stay at no cost as we were not refunded our 3 night payment, so if you wish to go there, claim our free nights. I will never go there again! If we had stayed there, our Valentine weekend would have been a washout!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Responsable relations clients at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hello, I would like you to know AGAIN, that I'am very sorry about your riad's bad feeling. I did apologise if you read again your email, And you accepted my apologise. I understood that the riad didn't comfort you, is your feeling and I had hoped your stay could be great, all the team would work for that. I explained to you that you checked in and there are some rules conditions about the rate (you choose the non refundable). But I'am a human and I proposed to you the 2 free nights for one of your friends or whatever, I think this is nice to do this. Otherwise I hope that you had a great valentine's stay in Marrakech and you enjoy all the city could offer to you!

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Five nights and everything went well. Mouad welcomed us and served every breakfast and was a perfect host. Each breakfast was different from the previous and filled you up prior to that day's exertions. We had one evening meal which was very tasty and reasonably priced. The four towels were changed every day and the building overall appeared spotless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Responsable relations clients at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thak you very much, I'am very happy that you had a great stay with us!!! See you soon!

Sarah and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsewhere
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights, the experience was pretty perfect from the moment we made the booking! Sarah emailed almost instantly to confirm, offer a taxi collection (€20) and a meal on arrival. The place is down a small alley but as soon as you enter the cool courtyard it's like being welcomed by old friends... even on your first visit! Mourad could not be more attentive and helpful.
The plunge pool was a little cool for a dip 72F but it was great to cool the feet in after a day pounding souks. The roof terrace was a great place to sunbathe or to rest in the shade. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Responsable relations clients at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you very much for this beautiful message! It was a real pleasure to have you here!!! Mouad and the girls embrace you! see you soon!!

Sarah, Mouad and girls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis

Address: 27, Derb Cherrata | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosts' house L’Oiseau du Paradis for a paradisiac stay in MarrakeshThis haven of peace, renewed in the purest Moresque style and mix traditional and modern materials : bejmat, tadlakt, solar water heaters, brumization.Its 8 rooms (1 parental suite) with privative shower-rooms invite you in the rest of the senses.Side well-being, relaxation in the hammam and wellness with a professional massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.