We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad in the heart of the old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis to your Saves list
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
27, Derb Cherrata | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad in the heart of the old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Arrived late into Marrakech, and the Riad arranged an airport pickup for us. I would highly suggest doing this, as during the rest of our stay many taxis simply couldn't find the place (even though we had a map!). But once you get your bearings, it was easy to find. Lovely place, great place for a couple to spend some days relaxing on the roof terrace or by the pool. They had an incredibly adorable kitten that we loved. The staff was very nice and professional, and were able to help us with any request (beer, wine, olives, etc) at any hour. For the price we paid, I can not imagine a better deal. I will be sure to stay there on my next Morocco trip. We were able to park our rental car close by, and the staff arranged it for us. A highly recommended place for sure! The staff spoke Arabic, french, spanish, and english.

Room Tip: The rooms up at the top floor looked very cool- there is a sauna, and private rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Gérant at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi!
Thank you for your comment,
we were all happy to have you here
The cat depressed since you left ...
See you soon
thank you again for all
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    44
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
91
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We book this riad just one week in advance for a long week end. We ask for the zitoun room which seems to be the more typical room in the riad... at least for us and how we imagine how a room in a riad in marrakech must be. And result was really amazing. The room we had is near the pool and directly near the living place.
The staff was really awesome specially Mouad and the girls, we even spend some evening speaking and dancing with Mouad and other couples, we did some nice encounter.
This riad is located at 7-10mn from the place jeema el fna, you have to walk through a small souk to get it there... it's making you feel the ambiance of marrakech on your first visit.
We really enjoyed the place and the time we spent there, if you have the chance to get there, don't miss it !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Gérant at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comment!
It affects us a lot ....
I hope you are well

the team of Riad
Stéphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Riad is a little hard to find, so best either call ahead and get them to arrange for a taxi, however the courtyard is pretty and the rooms clean and tidy.

Stephanie and Mouad were helpful but as an English only speaker we did struggle a bit, and the were no glasses, or tea making facilities in the room.

The breakfast was light but adequate.

I would definitely use it as a base for Marrakech but if you want a proper pool and bar then use a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Gérant at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment,
I hope you had still a good stay at home
Stéphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A colleague and I recently spent several nights at Riad L'Oiseau du Paradis with mixed reaction. She needed WiFi in her room late at night and was allergic to cats; I wanted a ground floor room so I wouldn't have to do stairs and always travel with ear plugs in case a room is noisy. WiFi on the third floor was non-existent and there were cats galore, including a new batch of kittens. I slept like a princess and didn't need air conditioning (as there was none in the ground floor room). The library and dining room were right outside my door, but earplugs worked like a charm. My poor colleague couldn't breathe, eyes swelled up, etc., but the owner removed the cats for our remaining nights. In the end we treated ourselves to one night at La Sultana, a REALLY upscale and marvelous five star hotel with a five star price. My colleague departed a day before me, so I moved back over to the L'Oiseau for my last night. My carriage turned back into a pumpkin, but, oddly, I felt at home. The kittens and their mother were back and the riad was full. I had a room on the third floor. However, I actually slept better there than I had in my $500+ room at La Sultana. That said, L'Oiseau is no Sultana. It's informal and relatively comfortable, but the rooms need a face lift and a good cleaning. They could use some of that rosewater or orange blossom room freshener, too. The breakfast is unimaginative, but the dinners "in," ordered early in the day for the same evening, were absolutely delicious, copious and beautifully presented at a fraction of the Sultana price. Mouad, the concierge and all around factotum was brilliant. He went out of his way at every turn and made our experience at L'Oiseau memorable. With a bit more effort from the remaining staff and owner, L'Oiseau could move up the TripAdvisor rating scale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Gérant at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire,
En effet nous avons eu beaucoup de chatons né a au Riad, sachez qu'ils sont dans dans bonnes familles maintenant ...
Nous espérons que vous allez bien
Stéphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Like the previous review we were disappointed at how unfriendly the staff were. We spent 1 night here and then returned at the end if our 14 day trip around morocco for 3 nights. The first night was much better than the rest! There were different people working there, they were very welcoming and breakfast was very fresh and generous. We were looking forward to our return but it definitely wasn't the same! Still given it a good rating though as it was very good value and in a very good location. We were not charged anything for our 2 children!
Still had a great experience in Marrakech, just could have done with a friendlier welcome!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Gérant at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Google Translation
Je suis désolée de voir que votre séjour chez moi ne se soit pas bien passé
j'espère en tout cas que vous avez eu de belle vacance
et que vous êtes tombé sous le charme du Maroc
Stéphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

we have had 16 days in Morocco and have stayed in many raids as well as Berber tents and while some were "better" than others, this was really our least favorite by a wide margin. I barely recognize it when I read other reviews. This riad is run-down. It needs some attention paid to it, especially the courtyard. while our room was OK, the public space, where we had breakfast, is unpleasant. They have a dirty plastic tarp over the spaces so it is stuffy as you get no breeze. They say it is to protect from rain, but we were in other courtyards in other raids that found far more agreeable solutions. The riad also had a distinctly unfriendly feel, again so different from other places we stayed. It might be better if you speak French, but my French skills are rusty and the riad's manager doesn't speak any English.
We are sorry we stayed here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Gérant at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry that your stay with me this is so wrong ...
Please be aware that the boy in this riad this week was not the manager but only the night watchman who unfortunately do not speak English!

The house is new it is 4 years old so do not worry for the state of this one, everything is in order.

I hope that your next stay in Marrakech will be for the better

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I chose this riad after researching many other riads and hotels of varying prices. We chose this riad based on the good reviews and the price. We weren't disappointed, the riad was everything the reviews suggested it would be and more. It was a tranquil haven after the chaos of the medina and in a perfect location for exploring the medina on foot without the need for taxis. The sun terrace is perfect for relaxing in when you want a rest from exploring the medina.

Stephanie and Mouad went out of their way to make our stay memorable. For our anniversary our room was decorated with flowers and we were given a bottle of wine and strawberries and cream. They were also very helpful in suggesting what to see and where to eat.

We chose to eat out for lunch and dinner, but we had breakfast in the riad. Breakfast varied each day and usually included some form of pancakes, bread and jam, and either fruit or homemade yoghurt (this was absolutely delicious!).

The rooms were clean and comfortable and although the doors don't lock from the outside, I believe this is common in many riads. The room contained an electronic safe to keep valuables in, but we never felt concerned about leaving valuables in our room and our room was on the ground floor.

I would suggest getting in touch with the riad before your trip to arrange for them to pick you up at the airport. We decided to do this on our own thinking that we might be able to do it for less money, but the taxi dropped us in completely the wrong place and we ended up paying almost £30. The riad can organise the pick up for about 20 euros and the taxi will take you straight to the riad.

This isn't a 5* hotel but we really enjoyed our stay in this riad and couldn't fault it. We felt we had a much more authentic experience of Marrakech than we would have done in a generic European hotel. Furthermore, for the price you pay I think you will struggle to find a better hotel/riad and you definitely get your money's worth when you stay here. Book it now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Oiseau_Paradis, Gérant at Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment
and thank you for your stay at the Riad.
I hope you are well,
We are looking forward to seeing you
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis

Address: 27, Derb Cherrata | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosts' house L’Oiseau du Paradis for a paradisiac stay in MarrakeshThis haven of peace, renewed in the purest Moresque style and mix traditional and modern materials : bejmat, tadlakt, solar water heaters, brumization.Its 8 rooms (1 parental suite) with privative shower-rooms invite you in the rest of the senses.Side well-being, relaxation in the hammam and wellness with a professional massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.