We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis

Save Saved
You added Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
27, Derb Cherrata | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Liz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Riad L'oiseau du Paradis in April; the riad is absolutely beautiful and Kadija and Habiba looked after us wonderfully. Nothing was too much trouble. My daughter loved the sun terrace coming home with a tan. I went sightseeing which was easy due to the riad being near to many of the main sights. Overall a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    44
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
90
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on a touristic vacation to Marrakech.

Room Tip: I took the middle sized room. They were perfectly sized. The only problem was there was no door to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This riad has recently been lovingly restored by Florence and Florian and they have created a true gem. Marrakech is a busy, noisy and dirty city but as soon as you walk through the front door you enter an oasis of calm. The rooms are arranged around the inner courtyard (with small plunge pool and mature trees) and there is a wonderful roof terrace to catch some sun after a hard day bustling through the dusty streets. Although not slap bang in the middle of the Medina, it is only 5-10 mins walk away, allowing a leisurely stroll home after the manic chaos of the night markets. The staff at the riad are just wonderful, and no request is too much trouble. Despite there being no restaurant, breakfast is served in the downstairs seating area and the staff will cook an evening meal for you if you give them enough notice to buy ingredients. Our room was beautiful, complete with an en-suite shower room decorated in traditional materials. If you have never stayed in an Islamic country you may be surprised to be woken up by the local mosque in the early hours every morning, so if you are a light sleeper you may want to pack some earplugs (this is not a fault of l'Oiseau du Paradis - there are hundreds of mosques in the city and they seem to compete in the noise stakes)!! I would definitely return to F&F's riad were I to return to Marrakech and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on wye
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

L’oiseau du Paradis is a little and quiet paradise in the middle of the dusty, crowded, noisy but full of enchantment Medina. In this part of the city, everything happens behind closed doors. As soon as you go through one, silence and harmony become a rule and a lifestyle.
The team of this riad is very friendly as well of professional. Each member has been carefully chosen to make you feel comfortable and like at home.
Another great positive point of this riad is also his little hamman ( better to be done in the evening as you will feel extremely but nicely tired and will sleep like an angel afterwards…).

In short, we highly recommend this riad and look forward to going back there for another long week-end in Marrakech!
Thanks again for everything Florence. Stephanie and Clare, on business trip in March 2010.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We spent a week as guests of Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis over Easter 2010. From the moment Florence and Florian's team met us at the airport, and particularly when we walked through the riad's door, into its shady and tranquil inner courtyard, and received Florence's friendly and efficient welcome, we knew we were going to have a good holiday.

The Riad is run by its welcoming and tightly knit team of five: Florence & Florian, Abdou, Khadija and Habiba, who went well beyond simply providing efficient service (for example seeking us out to say goodbye on our last day) and who were genuinely interested in ensuring we enjoyed our stay both with them and in Marrakech.

We stayed in one of the seven bedrooms in the riad, each of which has been individually laid out and decorated by Florence and Florian when they re-built the riad two years ago. Our first floor room, with wonderful, polished plaster ochre coloured walls, had shuttered windows onto both the inner gallery and onto the tiny pedestrian street outside. We slept very well in a large, comfortable bed and enjoyed a bathroom that blended serene plainness with tastefully decorated local ceramics and metalwork.

Every morning we had delicious, simple breakfasts - including the most delicious orange juice in the world - that Khadija and Abdou prepared. We then set out on a series of adventures, either walking to a wide range of sights in Marrakech itself or going on a day excursion to the Atlas Mountains with escorted by Laurent and his dog Max (to Asni, tiny Berber villages around Mt Toubkal walking and on an mule, with lunch in our guide mountain Abdul's house, then to the Plateau du Kik) - that I cannot recommend highly enough - that Florence arranged for us.

The team had cleverly constructed all sorts of quiet corners at the riad in which one could sit and spend a few hours, from the canopied sofas or the sun beds on the roof terrace to the sitting room and the little tables in the courtyard. On a couple of days, when we wanted a change from exploring, we were pleased to take over one of these spots to talk and to read our books.

In addition to the friendliness, cleanliness, charm &c., it is worth mentioning how helpful Florence was in making efficient arrangements that made our experience of Marrakech run so smoothly. She arranged utterly painless airport transfers in both directions, gave advice and organised our mountain trip. Similarly, Khadija and Habiba happily took in some laundry, which made things so easy.

L'Oiseau du Paradis was a great place run by great people (and if you go, ask them to show you photos of its reconstruction).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2010 with some friends on recommendation from our first choice Riad which was full. We could not have ended up at a better place. The package included transport from and to the airport and we were given an excellent welcome and made to feel at home with mint tea poolside.
We cannot recommend this Riad highly enough in terms of the atmosphere, decor, service, food, value for money and location which was quiet for Marrakech but only a few minutes from La Place,.......everything was excellent.
We had the two room on the top floor so we felt as though we had the whole roof terrace to ourselves!
We had dinner in the Riad and the food was of a good and extremely tasty. Each breakfast was slightly different and more than enough for us with the best orange juice that we have tried.
The staff were fantastic – with all being incredibly warm and welcoming and our special thanks to Abdou for generally looking after us and to Florence for all her help and persistence with our schoolboy French, not forgetting Florian, Khadija and Habiba who all made our stay unforgettable.
We all had a wonderful experience at Riad l’Oiseau du Paradis and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any fellow travellers to Marrakech.

Eating in the square is great fun and wetried a couple of stalls with enough courses to fill us at around 100 dirhams per head. We also tried Chez Chegrouni on the square. Dour surroundings on the top floor but a great view of the square if you manage to get a window seat and good, super value food - main course for 4 plus sodas and a shared salad for 260 dirhams. No chance of getting the order wrong as you write it out yourself!

We took a day trip to the Atlas mountains pre-booked with EasyJet. Highly recommended. Around 8 1/2 hours with a good lunch, also mint tea at a Berber house. Only thing we found not so good was that we had to make our own way to the pick up point in the new town (near the Place de Liberte) as we were staying in the old town and they wouldn't pick up from a hotel where we weren't staying. Having said that, no great problem - about a half hour walk. Can thouroughly recommend the rooftop Kosybar with its great view of the storks.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis

Address: 27, Derb Cherrata | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosts' house L’Oiseau du Paradis for a paradisiac stay in MarrakeshThis haven of peace, renewed in the purest Moresque style and mix traditional and modern materials : bejmat, tadlakt, solar water heaters, brumization.Its 8 rooms (1 parental suite) with privative shower-rooms invite you in the rest of the senses.Side well-being, relaxation in the hammam and wellness with a professional massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.