We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL, BUT FAREWAY FROM MEDINA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea to your Saves list
Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Douer Ouled Benrrahmoun | El Bour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL, BUT FAREWAY FROM MEDINA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel was ok, very good food, nice pool and gardens. The disadvantage is, that the hotel is faraway from medina. If you want to spend the holidays just with children in the garden with nice pools, it is ok, but if you want to spend most of the time outside the hotel, in the medina, you have to count to spend some more money for taxi.

Room Tip: ask for room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    331
    175
    103
    85
See reviews for
340
259
28
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have been to many hotels in my lifetime and this ryads parc and spa ticks the box as one of those hotels that has potential but has completely forgotten what customer service is. The location first of all was pitched by groupon as just being twenty minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the town centre but this was not the case. The hotel was in the middle of nowhere and the only nearby amenities were other hotels at least a good seven minutes drive out of the hotel, walking would have been a twenty minute affair just to leave the stadium/hotel area. This meant taxis were a must to everywhere. Next, the hotel ground itself, the reception area and the pool area are probably the best assets the hotel has and seem well maintained. This initially encouraged us that we were in for a treat. We went to check in two groupon vouchers for four, and one website booking for two. Immediately, we faced a language barrier and the lady dealing with us seemed to get annoyed that we didn't understand five of us were to sleep in two rooms. We tried again to communicate that we initially had five but six of us had embarked on the trip, hence the extra website booking. After much huffing and puffing, she finally got our rooms sorted and told us where to go without showing us or getting a porter to help with our seven suitcases. We struggled to find the direction of our rooms and had to wait on the terrace near the reception while a member of our group went back in to ask for the porter. He was nowhere to be found and we were assured he would attend to us within twenty minutes! Que half an hour later, we decided we were too tired after the hassle at menara aiport (they seem to not welcome people of the darker complexion there), so we started looking for our room ourselves with all the bags. We then spotted the porter who was helping a completely different guest, maybe he had forgotten we were there and we beckoned for him to help us, we told him the room numbers and it seems he only deals with french or locals because he took us to the entirely wrong part of the hotel even though we had a vague idea of the right direction but he would not listen. Once in the wrong part, he realised and asked for our key cards before understanding that he had brought us ten minutes walk from our rooms. Finally, he took us to our right quarters and we still tipped him anyway. This was just an introduction to our trip so you can already imagine we did not have faith in the hotel at this point. In two rooms downstairs, the toilets were blocked and we only discovered upon using them which was more horrible. We couldn't report as we don't speak french and felt we would just be stared at blankly. We also found out one of the bath tubs were also blocked. We finally decided that lunch would help us feel better and approached the restaurant area where we were told that lunch was a staggering 150 dirhams each (£12)! For a buffet abroad, that is quite hefty as even Chinese buffets abroad are usually about 7 euros, we had a glance at the food and decided we were being ripped off and made our way into town. We asked the reception to help change our money so we could pay the taxi only for them to say their exchange was closed and they were out of money anyway (just don't understand how they operate). The lady at reception at that point tried to be very nice to us but once again, it seemed they just don't deal with groups. We asked for a taxi to town and instead of getting two since she saw there were six of us, she ordered one and knowing we are all curvy not entirely stick thin, this was not going to work. The taxi driver she got was actually quite helpful and even spoke better english than most at the hotel. He explained that he could get another taxi and took us to Jema el fnaa square also showing us the money changing, atms, etc. This trip cost us less that three pounds a head (33 dirhams each) but was a good 35 minute drive. At the square we had lunch for only 25 dirhams (£1.90) each and juice freshly squeezed for 4 dirhams. Adding it all up, means with cab and lunch we only paid maximum £7 each instead of £12 and got even tastier food. Plus going to the square meant we got to see the town, book our quad biking and take a tour on a horse carriage. None of this would have happened if we stayed at the hotel eating their overpriced meal. From that moment, we decided the hotel was a ripoff and protected ourselves by booking the cab again for dinner rather than stay in. The following morning, we experienced the worst breakfast at the hotel which was meant to be included in our stay. There was just one frying pan, frying eggs for everyone mostly omelette with no seasoning whatsoever. You had to really push and try all sorts of methods to communicate for them to add salt and cheese or anything else to the egg. The variety was so limited just one sausage that had so much vinegar and bread opened for flies to perch on. The milk was sour for the cereal and in addition, there was no communication to ask for anything. Yoghurt ended up being our breakfast and we were so appalled because the next day in town, we realised Moroccan breakfast is not like that at all, it consists of omelettes with meat, cheese and anything asked for, the crepes are amazing and the fresh juices are to die for.Word to the wise, just don't eat at the hotel. By the final morning of our trip, ants at the hotel had invaded most of our stuff. It can't be the it is Africa excuse because in Gambia, different hotels we have stayed at have never been that way. On the final day of our stay, we tried to get breakfast and at 8:30 am, they had still not set up, so we headed into town as usual. Upon checking out, we became embroiled in a bitter argument about towels. The cleaning staff became abusive when she saw one member of the group with a towel wrapped around her because she had just returned from the pool. She chased our group and wagged her finger in our faces. She then called the front desk to accuse us of stealing their towels. The irony was, this was the first time we had ever touched their towels. We all packed our own as a rule because we don't trust hotel towels. We noticed how rude the lady who claimed she was the mother of the hotel or something like that was being, and she insisted she would need to search our bags. We were gobsmacked that after the bad experience, the no money to change in the hotel and even the welcome cocktail that turned out would have been just two squash mixed together if not for the nice pool staff, this was how we were being treated. We took all our suitcases out and even the English speaking manager said he wanted to search so we laid them out so they could search. At that point, because they were fully booked and other guests were staring, they realised how embarrassing it all looked, they began to renege and apologise but by this time it was too late. The hurt had been caused and we could even tell that they treat people of fairer skin with dignity but because we were dark, we had to be treated like crap, funny as we were in Africa! Anyway all in conclusion, it would be better to stay in New Gueliz or Avenue Mahmood Six when visiting Morocco, Ryads Parc and Spa may be cheaper but by the time you take taxis and experience their hotel, you will wish you paid more.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, then ask for Habdullahi the taxi driver, he is very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Where do i start!
Positives:
The entertainment team were very friendly and always had a smile, hi to Issam, Said, Hind etc.
Pool area was beautiful, as were gardens and view of Atlas Mountains.
Rooms were ok. Big, plenty space. Beds were firm but comfortable.
Food: not westernised at all, local food, mostly in tagines were tasty. But always more or less the same. Breakfast was a big dissapointment, varied when hotel was full of locals, from omlettes to basic fried/scrambled eggs.

Negatives:
Ok this is the bit that lets this beautilful place down:
THIS IS NOT AN ALL INCLUSIVE HOTEL!! You get breakfast, lunch and dinner... With drinks and thats it!! We spent alot of money for 2 adults and 2 kids for a week here, snacks and food at the pool bar are NOT included and have to be paid for, also this hotel tells you you have a spa, also not included you have to pay to use facitities pool, sauna etc never mind treatments, hardly any of the staff at reception and spa speak any english and as for the management!!! Never have we met such an aragont man who treated his staff (and customers) with no respect at all!
You also have a surcharge that the booking agent dont tell you about for local tax and service!
The meal times were an experience never have we seen so much food wasted by local morrocans (hello this is Africa!! Very ironic!!) put a charge on your meals for more than 30% waste and this will soon stop!! Have a designated meal plan, as its a joke just now.(meals are cold before you get everything in the ques) have more choice in your menus too, lovely food, but very repleative.but most of all Change your management team and really make your hotel All inclusive, brighten up your bedrooms and improve your service and this hotel could be impressive!!
We had a lovely week apart from not getting our moneys worth. Sun shone every day, family played games in the pool, and took part in the night entertainment.
Would we go back? If you changed your manager and make improvements then maybe..... Would Certainly go back to Morroco.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties, ask for a room nearer to reception as they are very spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed for 7 days from 8th April until 15th April.The reception staff, porter, waiters, restaurant manager& Redouanne Foraty who does the counter were all very friendly, always smiling & tried to help me whenever i had a problem. The food was very tasty & my 2 yr old daughter & 4 yr old son were able to eat! The animation team were excellent as they worked all day until night time. They tried to get us involved near the pool with some activities. At night time they did mini disco for the kids which my son really loved. Nice DJ & the guy gave me a list of the arabic songs they played when i requested him. Nice clean room, we here upgraded to the family room which was very spacious.
The negative point was that the phone in my room was not working throughout the holiday. I asked for the laundry service 3 times & no one bothered until abt the 5th time. But once they took the dirty clothes, they brought it back nicely packed & cleaned (700 dirhams it cost me for laundry ). As the previous comments abt the moroccan group that came , it is true. Had to complain to the restaurant manager as it was like a bazaar in the hall. No milk, No food, No waiter as it was way too many people. The hotel need to be mindful about this again as it is not fair for people who paid all inclusive to be treated like this! Plus i am sure we paid more than the people that came in the groups!.
All in all I had a nice time in the hotel & would definitely recommend Marrakech for anyone who is looking to experience another culture! Lovely friendly people I have met throughout my time there!

Room Tip: Avoid room near the pool if you want a nice quiet time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

1. Only thing that is lovely in the hotel is the pool area and the steps going down to the pool area that is it!!

2. Food is disgusting (I was half/B ) so I taste breakfast and dinner. They would even put the
dinner food out at breakfast time again!! The mashed potatoes are made with water, the food has no taste or all
seasoning considering it's Africa!! It's cheap budget food

3. They don't clean the
bedroom or take away the bedsheets (had the same bed sheets for five days) you only get clean towels every day.

4. The free transfer: well they
don't drop you near the square /market, it's 20mins walk in sun. all sometimes they tell you
the transfer bus has broken down which is a lie

5. Hotels in the middle of nowhere so is the transfer bus decide to broken down it will cost you 150dhs each way £23

5. No cash point machine in the hotel

6. No information on Maps on reception

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have just returned 14/04/14 from a 10 night trip, party of 7 in two rooms. I have read a lot of the reviews below and I have to say a lot are unjustified-the food is spicy, music is loud, not enough English speaking staff- you are going to a foreign country and you should remember this, they speak French/Arabic and to be fair I spoke to a LOT of the staff and they could understand my English very well although I would be happy to learn basic language/have a translator app so I could make the effort to fit in to another country.
OK, here is my opinion. The foyer is lovely, very big and very welcome view on arrival, the manager Ahmed and his team are all friendly, Rafik (bellhop/head doorman?) is a lovely man and he deserved his tip as he could not do enough for us to make sure we enjoyed out stay.
The rooms are a good size, air con works well, plenty of storage space for clothes, the bathrooms are good, and overall the staff do very well do keep the whole place very clean, I saw ZERO cockroaches so if thy had them then they have done great job making sure they have not returned.
The food- some food choices are recycled maybe sometimes within 2-3 days but the choice on the whole is very good- for me being a meat lover, I had so much that by day 6-7 I ended up wanting to eat more lentils/pulses and this was because I enjoyed all of the food - us one of the local dishes ARE spicy but they are making local recipes so be prepared for this. Whilst we were there on the weekend they did an offer for locals so stay so they had approx 400 people staying which did result in having to wait longer for food/plates/cutlery, but the kitchen staff did all they could to keep people happy, one thing that the management need to consider for future bookings. The Pool - I do not swim but spent a few of the very hot days by the pool and have to say it was very very nice, lots of spaces, 2 good size pools with a third baby pool and the music is loud but not deafening, again they did play local/Arabic music but some of it was very nice and they do play European/pop music so plenty of choice - take your own music if you don't want to listen- plenty of other people did. Plenty of things to do on site, kids club, aerobics, salsa, pin pong, basketball, tennis, football, the on site spa staff are vey nice and do a good job, only found out by default that on our all inclusive we had a complementary massage which I very much enjoyed but don't expect it to be the best you have ever had.
For me the most fun to be had is in the markets as I love a bargain so haggling is great, it is not cutthroat and no fisticuffs needed, my tip is whatever price they give you offer them 1/3rd of that and see how you go I picked up a few bits and loved the experience. The locals do not get offended unless you are being unrealistic so please remember they are trying to make a bit of profit but 99% are not out to rip you off. Avoid eye contact with beggars, if you give to one then another 10 will turn up out of the blue, I would say make sure you go into town at night time as they square is packed and the sights/sounds/smells are amazing. Take a horse coach ride around if you have time, it is fun and you will like it, wake sure you can put up with the smell of horse poo especially if it is a hot time you are travelling as it does reek, but then again remember they are horse and horse need to have a number two very now and then. Drink bottled water, some nice little ice cream places, I would recommend trying them out and all over the food/drink is not expensive- avoid going off the main roads, you end up paying some people to take you back to the square.
For trips make sure you take the YSL garden tour, museum, Bahia palace, and go to Ozoud to see the 100 metre waterfall, I have a fear of heights yet found myself taking so many pics and videos, wear grippy shoes as you have to walk down and then up again and some of the paths are slippery. no heels ladies- the only downside on this is the journey from hotel which was almost 3 hours each way although the coach is air conditioned and Noor the driver is very friendly and keeps you entertained.

my son is 11 but did not use/ get involved in kids club but ALL of the entertainment team are excellent, they greet you daily and area always around to help out.

Now the negatives- we had 3 lights in our room which did not work, took them till day 8 to change them after 3 requests. If you are on all inclusive the pool bar is NOT INCLUDED FOR FOOD from midday till closing time who is so strange and annoying if you want a pizza/chips. queues for breakfast/lunch/dinner can take a hill of busy season so be prepared for this.

AT THE END OF YOUR STAY YOU WILL BE ASKED TO PAY APPROX €3 per person PER DAY of your stay so please remember this just in case this is not a scam.

WiFi is restricted to the Foyer ONLY, can be a pain as connection can be hit/miss if lots of people trying to use it at the same time- manager you need to spend a bit of money and get this looked at.

I would go again to this lovely country but I would NOT stay here again not because they are not good, more so because other locations closer to the centre rank a lot higher and offer more facilities/choices of things to see and do.

Room Tip: If you have (young) kids ask for a lower floor and not too close to the pool if kids want to sleep d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The setting is truly spectacular with the Atlas mountains as the backdrop covered in snow at the top. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view over the pool area. Reception area only place where could get internet access but it was such a grand place to sit and sip your Gin & Tonic!! Majority of staff very friendly but as two females (mother & daughter) we did attract more attention than we wanted at times! Could do with being able to change currency or withdraw currency at reception rather than having to go into Marrakech which would be around a 2 hour excursion.
Food was fantastic with an enormous selection every day. We went fully inclusive which was great and saved worrying about the cost of everything - snacks at pool bar are extra though! Would have been nice to have had some help regarding trip to the Medina and Souk - you really do need to hire a guide as it is a labyrinth - not as cheap either!

Room Tip: Ask for one where the balcony will get the afternoon/evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea

Address: Douer Ouled Benrrahmoun | El Bour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#125 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Sea Hotels & Resorts are delighted to invite you to the Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa, a traditionally-designed resort offering a peaceful, family-friendly base from which to explore the cultural wonders, unbeatable shopping and intriguing sights of Marrakech. The Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa is home to 260 light and spacious rooms, distributed across 13 riads in keeping with traditional Moroccan architecture. Each air-conditioned room includes satellite TV and a mini bar, plus a private balcony or terrace from which views of either the swimming pool, lush gardens or dramatic Atlas Mountains can be enjoyed. With its huge outdoor swimming pool, children's pool and terraces, guests at Hotel Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa can soak up the year-round sunshine before cooling down with a refreshing dip. For a respite from the Morocco sun, head to the hotel's additional indoor swimming pool or unwind with a cocktail at the poolside bar. For the ultimate in relaxation, the hotel's renowned EDEN Spa is on hand to provide a wide range of treatments. This sensation wellness centre offers multi-sensory spas and a spectacular range of treatments and facilities that focus on the five elements of the Earth. For energetic guests, the Ryad Parc and Spa Marrakech boasts several sports courts including tennis, basketball and football, plus an on-site gym. With a varied entertainment programme on offer during the day, followed by organised shows every evening and an on-site nightclub, guests can rest assured that both relaxation and activities are catered for at the Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa. The two restaurants offer a delicious range of modern and traditional dishes, served buffet style or a la carte once a week. Or perhaps jump on the hotel's free organised bus service into the centre of Marrakech to indulge in the wide range of Moroccan delicacies and sample the local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Ryads Parc Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa by Blue Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.