We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time - what's with all the negative reviews??!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa

Save Saved
You added Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Douer Ouled Benrrahmoun | El Bour, Marrakech, Morocco (Formerly Bluebay Marrakech Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a wonderful time - what's with all the negative reviews??!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this short trip last minute, and when I say last minute it was within a couple of hours from flying out. We confirmed this hotel 10 minutes before we boarded because the one we had 'chosen' no longer offered the deal we wanted. Upon arrival, it took 2 taxis to discuss where to find the hotel...the driver was pleasant and we paid 150dhs. Granted it is further out from central than we thought, but they provide a shuttlebus to and from central. The concierge greeted us with a huge smile and ushered us to have a complimentary drink at the bar. Within 15 minutes we were checked in and shown to our ryad room. The room was better than I had anticipated, only downfall was that it was a little dark when the curtains were closed and the ants coming in from the window above the toilet, however one has to remember we are in an exotic location, they are harmless, obviously better without their presence. First night dinner was, again, better than anticipated. Breakfast not as good but still we made the most of it and the food was edible. Throughout our 3 night stay, the staff were all very friendly and polite, 95% of them spoke conversational English. The animation team were absolutely brilliant, their enthusiam and energy were infectious - I hope they get the recognition from higher management. I have to say, we paid not a lot of money for 3 nights, and they exceeded our expectation - i would most definitely stay here again. The locals were a joy and I loved my time in Marrakech, I am most definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wydad M, Directrice Generale Adjointe at Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you and we appreciate you taking the time to let fellow travelers know about us. To be described as wonderful is so humbling and we were more than happy to provide you such clean and comfortable accommodations and warm service. We are very grateful for your recommendation and hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    206
    102
    64
    48
See reviews for
238
160
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here against our will due to a hotel mix up and had to endure an entire week of poor service and bad food. Where to start?! The restaurant is like a huge dimly lit school canteen filled with mostly Moroccan locals who think it necessary to pour their food on the table cloth and surrounding areas before eating. The waiters are limited in number and therefore at breakfast you face a scramble for a clean table set with knives and forks etc. If there are no such tables available, a waiter will quite happily "clean" the table by turning over the dirty table cloth. Once you have navigated your way around the mangy stray cats and made it to the food buffet, you will then be faced with a selection of pastries, fruit and yoghurt that have already been half demolished by flies, or alternatively a pancake - which is 90% oil and 10% pancake. I was so hungry by the end of the holiday that I tried the unappetising sausage which was at least covered from flies. At lunch, since the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and most taxi drivers have no idea where it is located...we had to stomach yet more of the hotel food. We ordered the pizza and chips from the poolside restaurant and were told that it would be 10 minutes. Since we had seen waiters bring other people's food to the poolside/telling them that their food was ready, we thought it would be the same for us. However, after 30 minutes we wondered into the restaurant (which also serves as a bird sanctuary) and found our food lying out on the surface stone cold. When we complained the staff pleaded ignorance and pretended they did not understand.

By mid-week we decided to go to a 5* hotel in the Palmeraie area (where it was a welcome relief to speak to staff who were able to fully understand English!) We asked our hotel to book a taxi for 7:40pm. By 7:50 we asked the same lady who booked the taxi why it had not arrived to which she smirked and said it will probably be 4 minutes. They knew we had a dinner reservation for 8pm but seemed not to care.

In addition we had the following delights...cold showers, rock hard beds, ant infested rooms, an old TV which stopped working after a while, leaking toilet and when we called reception to notify them that internal calls were not working we were told to "walk to the other room".

The pool and spa were the only good things about this hotel but the pool comes with the added bonus of very loud and dreadful music which sometimes gets jammed.

You can imagine our reaction when we were told on checkout that we had to pay 20 dirhams per person per night Moroccan tax which we had not been warned about and assumed would have been included. The hotel staff were their usual unhelpful and insolent selves. This is truly the world's most terrible hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wydad M, Directrice Generale Adjointe at Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback about The Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that we did not reach your expectations; we strive to succeed our goals, to ensure all our guests experience a wonderful stay and we did not achieve it in your case. Your opinion is very important for us, because it helps us to improve our services and learn from our mistakes. Thanking you for your time and remaining at your disposal for any further comments or needs.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I visited Marrakech last week with some girlfriends. Unfortunately hotels.com screwed up our booking at a lovely Ryad in La Palmerie and instead we were transferred last minute to this "4-Star" hotel. Please DO NOT be fooled by the website and the hotel rating. I am extremely well travelled and have stayed in hostels to 5* star hotels and I can genuinely say, that I have stayed in hostels in India nicer than this hotel.

Come here if you want an ant infested hotel room, toilets which flood, telephones which don't work, room keys which do not work, hotel staff who laugh at you and insult you to your face, breakfast and dinner where it takes you 20 minutes to find a clean and set table, flies crawling all over your food and reception staff who are so incompetent and rude that they cannot even book you a taxi.

Most importantly, taxi drivers have no idea where this hotel is. And once you manage to direct them there, they proceed to charge you double the original agreed price because of the distance.

If, despite my honest review you do decide to come here then here are a few survival tips. 1) Tell taxi drivers the hotel is "pres de stat" (near the stadium) on the road to Casablanca, 2) Bring cereal bars and breakfast foods with you 3) Don't eat at the hotel 4) Bring insect repellent 5) Bring "thick skin" and don't expect the bare minimum service from the staff.

Room Tip: Don't even bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wydad M, Directrice Generale Adjointe at Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We always Endeavour to fulfill the wishes and expectations of our guests, and to maintain the highest standards throughout our services and facilities. Therefore our guests’ feed-back is vital and much appreciated. Being aware of your preferences helps us to improve our service and broadens the hotel’s capability to make our guest’s feel at home and make their stay pleasant and enjoyable.
Please rest assured that I take your observations very seriously and will organize a meeting with the staff involved to see what measures could be implemented in order to improve the quality of our service and to make the necessary changes in order to warrant our guests a comfortable stay in our hotel.

We would be very honored to welcome you again in Marrakech at the Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Don't get fooled by the members of stars, its not even close. We stayed in a suite full board, food were average, not much of varieties. The room was full of insects but this is an issue all over Marrakech, also the room had a terrible view over some garbage. Although a 4 stars, there is no room service!! I asked for a bottle of water, the lady at the reception told me to come take it:)) on the positive side, the pool was nice as well as the animation team. My kids enjoyed running around and had fun in the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

as many similar resorts in Marrakech, that can not be in town, so is Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa, little bit far from center, but hotel has free shuttle bus to town almost each hour...
very helpfull staff, excelent animations, even in the club late night.

Location: very cloose to fotball stade de marrakech

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wydad M, Directrice Generale Adjointe at Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, the entire team of The Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa, are happy to hear that the service provided whats to your liking. We really believe your opinion will be very useful for other Tripadvisor user looking for hotel in Marrakesh. We will be delighted to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Positive points is the animation team of high quality, doing good work throughout the day specially Abdou , Ayoub and Michael Jackson, the kids club too. The bartenders are friendly.
The pool is very large, the location is ideal to relax.
Negative points very poor reception, Girls not smiling and not paying attention to customer’s request, talking to each other’s instead of finding solutions, the reception is the deaf-mute, the problem of the bath fixed with 24 hours of delay, key does not work, television years of our childhood, not clear chains, sheets that are not changed, the dust everywhere, extra bed for baby requested but not received, the repetitive buffet, no grills, for dessert it's apples and oranges all the time, the pastry is not bad.
If I ever go back is to see this animation team .

Room Tip: Choose the rooms close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I went here with my family and we got here pretty late into the night the weather was a hit in our faces as it was freezing in the UK and boiling hot in Morocco. The language is a big blunder and it was very difficult for us to communicate especially when it was really needed. The room we got was very far away it was like a 20-25 min walk to the actual lobby and eating area. The rooms were pretty boring so if for you this is a holiday where your not going to go out much. Dont choose it. Because the rooms are not even close to entertainment, I'm talking to british people here. We all like our telly and well there is literally nothing here apart from the bbc international news 'or thats what i think its called' The bathroom was spectacular. It was clean, bright nice and modern. I loved it to be truthful it was better than the actual room. The swimming pool was one of the highlights for me its cool but warm and its just amazing fun, theres also workouts and fun games to get into if you like. No one forces you to do anything. Which is a good thing. The Jemmah El Fenah was one experience which i'll never forget its busy fun bright theres soo much to do. I went there the 3rd day 0of the holiday in the day i came back at 7 slept and ate a little and at 9 i went there again it's brilliant. Theres snake charmers lots of places to eat. A lot of activites are going on but be a little wary because if you take a picture of an act or someone doing something they will literally chase you until they get money out of you for taking their picture. My silly dad gave some money to a poor person but did it really loudly. And well everyone chased him it was really bad. Theres all types of food and it was lovley. The was alot of fish places and I didnt like them at all to be honest. BUt everyone likes different things.


There was a sort of beauty parlour which me and my mum spent literally a full day morning till night it was a lot of fun they were all polite and we made new friends. I cant remember the name so ovbiously this isnt going to be helpful..but i stil wanted to let all the people know.

Also we had an experince me and my mum we went to a massage place where all the women were naked my mother and i didnt know what to do laugh or run the hell out of there, haha it was really awesome anyway back to the hotel there was this one person who felt like family to us we made such a bond but sadly we didnt have his name oor anything else because we nicknamed him ourself aha.


The breakfast was delicious and the orange juice was very refreshing. loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa

Also Known As:
Marrakech Ryads Parc Hotel
Marrakech Ryads Parc Hotel Marrakech
Address: Douer Ouled Benrrahmoun | El Bour, Marrakech, Morocco (Formerly Bluebay Marrakech Hotel)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#179 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe a proximite de la legendaire palmeraie de Marrakech, et du nouveau luxueux stade de football. Le Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa****beneficie d'une situation privilegiee dans un lieu paisible offrant a ses hotes un panorama de reve aux pieds des merveilleuses montagnes de l'Atlas. Le Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa****, tres bien desservi avec acces facile aux attractions touristiques de la ville ocre tels que la fameuse place de Jemaa El fna, le golf de la palmeraie, les jardins Majorelle, etc.... Et pour ce faire, des navettes (hotel - Centre ville - hotel) sont mises a votre disposition. Le Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa, un veritable quatre etoiles de luxe se substitue a un havre de paix disposant de magnifiques jardins (sur 10 hectares), de 01 piscine exterieure de 1200 m², 02 courts de tennis, 01 terrain de mini foot, 01 terrain de Beach volley, 01 terrain de basketball et d'un sublime centre de bien etre construit sur 1400 m² comprenant (salles de soins, massages, sauna, Hammam, salon de coiffure, piscine jacuzzi, salle de Fitness). Le Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa avec ses 260 chambres reparties sur 13 riads de 20 chambres toutes equipees d'une salle de bain avec baignoire, toilettes separees, seche cheveux, climatisation, coffre fort, TV par satellite, Mini Bar. Elles possedent toutes soit une terrasse ou un balcon. L'harmonie, les couleurs vous seduiront et vous feront apprecier votre sejour. La localisation de cet hotel ainsi que l'accueil qui vous y sera reserve feront de votre passage une etape ideale pour votre sejour touristique, votre deplacement professionnel, votre reunion de travail ou pour votre week-end en famille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.