We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizgui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Tizgui
Save
You added Riad Tizgui to your Saves list
Riad Zitoun LAKDIM, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you are looking for amenities like pool, workout room, and valet parking, this place is definitely not for you. If you are looking to experience Marrakech like a local, you can't do better. Owner and hostess Francelyse, and her trusted sidekick Mohammed will make you feel as if you are a king or queen during your stay. We spent three nights and I would look forward to booking this Riad if we were planning on coming back. The Riad was beautiful, the room was okay, but the hospitality was first class.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just returned from three fabulous days in Marrakesh. The highlight being Riad Tizgui. Notthing was too much trouble, we felt very comfortable in this cosy Riad, which was a short walk to the Square. The bedroom was a good size and perfectly clean. Our towels and sheets were changed daily, breakfast was very good, with home made jam and pancakes, fruit, cake, lovely bread, fresh orange juice and a choice of english tea, mint tea, or coffee. Breakfast was served until 12.00, so no rushing around in the morning. Francelyse, the owner was a brilliant host along with Mohammed. Nothing was too much trouble. Francelyse arranged a taxi to and from the airport, payment being added to our bill. Our luggage was carried for us. No need to take a hairdryer as we had a very powerfull one in our room. We had wine in the evenings, which was accompanied with olives and savoury biscuits. There was a lap top in the salon which was free to use. We had breakfast in the salon, but the roof terrace was also used. I can highly recommend a stay here. Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor. Ideal for anyone not wanting to climb the stairs. We found it pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Marrakech stayting in the Riad Tazgui. As it was our first trip to the city we really didnt know what to expect and the short walk to the Riad was a bit of a shock and initial introduction to the madness that is Marrakech. However, once we were in the Riad we couldnt have felt more at home. Everyone that is involved in the Riad is there to help and the service is second to none. We ate breakfast on the rooftop every morning before spending a few hours taking in the sights and then returned to the riad for some sun on the lovely terrace with Mohammed in continual attendance offering us tea whenever we wanted it. We had an airport transfer by Najem and we booked him to take us to see the Atlas mountains on one of the days, once again he couldnt have been more polite and helpful showing us around his home country. All in this iRiad is a great place to stay run and managed by magnificent people who make you feel so welcome. we will be back if we ever retrun to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Book the Suite for the extra few DHM, its a lovely room with a little extra space to spread all your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Not knowing anything about Marrakech, we had booked into a hotel in the New Town. This was miles from the Medina and a bad choice, so we set about looking for a Riad.

Tizgui was the first one we stumbled across and we benchmarked it to others, but it stood out for the personal warmth of welcome from Bruno and its tranquillity. And it was at the bottom end of prices too.

Bruno and Mohammed helped us navigate the crazy world of the Marrakech Medina and provided us with welcome mint tea on our returns. We highly recommend it.

The only things to point out are that the showers are temperamental and noise does carry in the riad, but don't let that put you off. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We staid at the Riad tizgui for 2 nights and had a very friendly welcome and good advice on the city by Francelyse the owner!
The lounge/central area are very cosy and our room was very clean.
The Riad is centrally located, 5mins walk from the central square and a very good base to visit the city.
Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is great and we had a very nice dinner prepared by the Riad's cook Miriam, accompanied by a local musician!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We would like to recommend this Riad without hesitation. It is very clean and well presented.
It is in the heart of the Medina with minutes walk to all the major sites. The owners are always available to share their knowledge of the city and give you precious advices. Bruno, Francelyse and Mohammed are the soul of this place and will make your holiday unforgivable. It is a great value - not to be missed. Thank you for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Beatifully appointed and well finished Riad. A warm and friendly welcome from Bruno & Francelyse (the French Owners) who answered every one of our questions as if it had never been asked before! Mohammed and Miriam (the fantastic team) could not help us more and were always polite, friendly and very happy to pass on their broad knowledge of Marrakech and Morocco in general. Rooms are traditionally decorated but with modern clean lines and all the amenities you would need. Beds are comfy and as good as many top class hotels. Always clean and well presented, the rooms display beautifully finished wooden doors and shutters with traditional bathrooms that pander to our modern requirements.
Please try the Moroccan meal cooked by Miriam - delicious and plentiful and all freshly made to order, especially delightful if you take it up on the the terrace after the sun has gone down! Breakfasts are about just right for the climate and set you up nicely with good coffee, freshly squeezed OJ, selection of breads, home made conserves (delicious) and local cake bread with eggs and fruit availbale on request.
Close enough to the square with just a five aminute walk along a lively market lane but still quiet and restful at night. Courtyard is lovely and has a comfortable residents lounge with TV, music, wi-fi and a good collection of books on Marrakech and Morroco.
Been all over the world and stayed in many a plce, but this is one of the few that we would be delighted to come back to again and again. Truly fantastic value and that comes from some Scottish Berbers!
A real jewel and not to be missed!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#48 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#153 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#160 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizgui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizgui

Address: Riad Zitoun LAKDIM, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizgui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.