We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizgui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Tizgui
Riad Zitoun LAKDIM, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st class hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We would like to recommend this Riad without hesitation. It is very clean and well presented.
It is in the heart of the Medina with minutes walk to all the major sites. The owners are always available to share their knowledge of the city and give you precious advices. Bruno, Francelyse and Mohammed are the soul of this place and will make your holiday unforgivable. It is a great value - not to be missed. Thank you for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Beatifully appointed and well finished Riad. A warm and friendly welcome from Bruno & Francelyse (the French Owners) who answered every one of our questions as if it had never been asked before! Mohammed and Miriam (the fantastic team) could not help us more and were always polite, friendly and very happy to pass on their broad knowledge of Marrakech and Morocco in general. Rooms are traditionally decorated but with modern clean lines and all the amenities you would need. Beds are comfy and as good as many top class hotels. Always clean and well presented, the rooms display beautifully finished wooden doors and shutters with traditional bathrooms that pander to our modern requirements.
Please try the Moroccan meal cooked by Miriam - delicious and plentiful and all freshly made to order, especially delightful if you take it up on the the terrace after the sun has gone down! Breakfasts are about just right for the climate and set you up nicely with good coffee, freshly squeezed OJ, selection of breads, home made conserves (delicious) and local cake bread with eggs and fruit availbale on request.
Close enough to the square with just a five aminute walk along a lively market lane but still quiet and restful at night. Courtyard is lovely and has a comfortable residents lounge with TV, music, wi-fi and a good collection of books on Marrakech and Morroco.
Been all over the world and stayed in many a plce, but this is one of the few that we would be delighted to come back to again and again. Truly fantastic value and that comes from some Scottish Berbers!
A real jewel and not to be missed!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at two riads during our time in Marrakech, and appreciated the small details that made Tizgui stand out. After a day of melting and getting lost hunting monuments, Bruno and Francelyse (the French couple who own the riad, along with quiet chief employee Mohamed) would insist on having us drink tea, or lemonade. They even had the fountain filled deeper for us to soak our tired feet! The riad and room were very clean, although in the August heat (ground floor rooms have no AC) the bathroom smell was noticeable, which is apparently common for Marrakech. We had dinner one night on the terrace which was lovely - so much food! And delicious. Breakfasts were simple but varied a bit each day. Yogourt, baguette, fruit (on request), pancake or the chewy Moroccan flatcake, cakes, OJ and very strong coffee. Home-made jams for those seeking even more sugar, but in a delicious fruity form. Everything is made in-house. We would have liked the milk to be warm as we needed to dilute our coffee - but small quibble, and no doubt on request would have been done! In the evenings jazzy music is played, and F+B are almost always on hand to answer what must be tiresome, repetitive questions about anything. Key points that are not the same at all riads: the bathroom has a door, not simply open to the room or with just a curtain; the rooms can be locked with you having the key; you have a key to the front door so you can come and go as you please. We found the riad very quiet and were not disturbed by the frequent call to prayer. Photos don't quite convey the posh simplicity of the place. Tizgui is in an excellent location and easily found. You can take the airport bus and walk, or use an arranged taxi. It is closer to Badi Palace than the El Fna square, and most easily found walking north to the square. Just look for the small signs to your upper right about 1/3 of the way up heading north towards the square from the start of the road.

Room Tip: Bring a compass and your orienteering skills - all the maps are inaccurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We were made to feel really welcome at Riad Tizgui and Francelyse and Mohammed were always on hand to help with anything we needed. The riad is clean and beautifully decorated and it’s so relaxing to chill out on the roof terrace after the hustle and bustle of the Medina and the Djemma el Fna. The food was lovely too – especially the lemon and orange cake and the mousse au chocolat – mmmmm!! Mohammed even got up the day we were leaving for the desert trip to make our breakfast at 6.30am! Thank you to everyone there for helping make our holiday great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

A riad 5 minutes walk from the square in Marrakech. They had taken over 2 days before when my daughter and myself arrived on the door step. The room was big and beautiful with a large bathroom. Dining room and Lounge down stairs and the most beautiful rooftop area with dining facilities and daybeds and lounges for lying in the sun and resting. On our last night we organised for a dinner and were presented with the most magnificient traditional Moroccan 3 course meal you could ever wish for. Frances is going to organise cooking classes, I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here after our original riad was overbooked so didn't know what to expect. We found that - as well as peace, clean rooms and excellent food - the staff were delightful, giving the place a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We were truly made to feel at home. Francelyse, the hotel manager, is the heart and soul of the place and really what made it special for us. She gave us the benefit of her knowledge of the city and attended to our every need. The riad is in an excellent position in the Medina, close to the main square and many of the main attractions.

All in all, great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was a very high standard Riad located in the heart of Madina-Marrakech. We were well looked after. Breakfast was just perfect with freshly baked home made cake and corn bread served with eggs, followed with freshly squeezed orange juice with choice of tea and coffee. We could not find any faults with this lovely family run Riad. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tizgui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizgui

Address: Riad Zitoun LAKDIM, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizgui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Tizgui to your Saves list