We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jem in the middle of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zitouna

Save Saved
You added Dar Zitouna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Zitouna
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   26, derb Ihihan | Sidi Ben Sliman, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A real jem in the middle of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mum and I have just arrived back from a 4 day stay at Dar Zitouna. It is a very relaxing and unfussy raid , while at the same time offering a quiet luxury. It is an extremely cosy Raid, where you are made to feel that it is home from home. Both mum and I are vegatarians, and the breakfast and evening meal was exceptional. The Raid was a lovely enviroment for mum to relax, and we spent one day just enjoying the sun terrace and the sounds of the "real" Marrekech. The staff are really lovely and add to the calm and gentle elegance that this Raid offers.
We arrived at the Raid having been meet at the airport, and the first impressions were that it is in a urban area, and would be uncomfortable for mum and I to get out and about, given the number of youths hanging around plus the complex route to get to it. We were completely wrong, we discovered that the area is full of Raids, and taxis were ready available just a short walk from the door.
It was a really fabulous experience and we would certainly think about returning

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just arrived home after what was meant to be a 3 night stay in DAR zitouna.
Forst of all, we thought we were going to a completely different hotel named 'riad zitouna' in fes, over 200km away, but then relaised after we got home (after not even 1 night staying here) we discovered we were looking at the wrong hotel completely!!!
We arrived and got hassled so much by the locals, that we ended up just sitting in our room. we were the only people staying here, and the lady that worked at the hotel could not speak a word of english.
We then decided to go back out and try to get in the Moroccan spirit, but ended up getting harssed by locals,men eyeing the women up and nearly getting charged £20.00 for a pack of cigarettes! we then decided to go back to the hotel as we were actually scared, but didnt find it after about 20 minutes of looking, and ended up getting lost.
we finally found it, went straight to our room and got the next flight home at 12:10pm the next day, however, we got a taxi to the airport at 7:30pm that evening as we did not want to stay a minute longer, and ended up sleeping in the airport for 15 hours!!!!

we have NEVER been so relieved to see Gatwick airport in our lives, and would never go back to Marrakesh, as we were hassled non stop, no one spoke english, hotel was hard to find, and we couldnt even find a place to eat, so we would not go here again!!!!!!

You cant event get to the hotel in the taxi as it is down so many tiny side streets, so a young boy(no older than 12 years old) took our bags in a wheelbarrow and took it up the side streets. he then followed us INTO our hotel and would not leave until we gave more money even thought i refused tog ive him any more than 2 euros several tiems.

there was also a group of about 5 lads sitting outside the hotel which waas very intimidating, just eyeing us up and staring.

all in all, we stayed at this hotel for about 6 hours and you can see what a awful experience we had.

we would never ever go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

roma, italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Dar Zitouna is a lovely and cosy riad not far from the main square in Marrakech (it is 15/20 minutes walk without getting lost!!!). It is part of Marrakech Riads, and from what I can see in their website the riads are all very beautiful.
I personally tried Dar Zitouna with friends earlz in Jan this year, on the way back from a desert excursion and before going back home. Slept there for 2 nights and must say that it is very well kept, breakfast is excellent and the riad itself is a very pleasant discovery.

Room Tip: room 3 is perfect for a romantic stay, but also room on second floor with direct access to terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This review is for the Riad Zitouna at No 26 Derb Ihihane, Sidi Ben Slimane, Marraakesh AND NOT Riad Zitouna, 5 Derb Rami Zkak Labghal, Fes.
The link for 'professional photos' on the Trip Advisor 'review' page for this Riad shows the correct photos. There are a couple of Riad Zitouna's and our holiday booking was made, based upon the other one in 'Fes' in error.

We stayed at this Riad in Marrakech for 4 nights from 2nd Jan 2012. As many people state on these pages, the Riad is VERY hard to find. If you do not get a pick up from the airport arranged by the Riad itself you will NOT find it easily and you could also easily be quite intimidated by the people and the area in which the Riad is in.

We are experienced travellers, having extensively travelled the world but initially the local area where you would be dropped off could slightly worry you. Once you have found the place and get a feel for the area it's not so bad. Many people will offer to show you where the Riad is (from where the taxi drops you) but they will take you on a longer route to justify the money that they will demand from you for showing you the way. Ten Dirhams would be an absolute max to pay the locals for this.

The Riad itself is quite old and whilst the days were really warm in January, the nights were very cold and the only heating in the rooms was a small portable, electric, convector heater which was insufficient to make a noticable difference. A walk into the souks or main square will take you about 15 minutes although it's not a particularly 'nice' walk as it goes through a lot of 'run down' area.
A taxi could cost you anywhere from 20 to 60 Dirhams (£1-50 to £4-50 ish if you're from the UK). This price in the main was based upon pure luck, the taxi driver, the time, taxi availability and your bargaining ability or your will to walk away.

The breakfast was OK, not big or lavish in any way but simply 'just enough'. The people at the Riad were always helpful and smiling and we had no cause for concern with any of them at any point during our stay.

My marks out of 10 for the staff would be 8
My marks out of 10 for the location would be 1

Overall, two days would be ample time to spend in Marrakech. In this time you would easily see everything it has to offer. There is not a lot to do at all.
On this occasion, with just having a mini-break I felt like I had totally wasted my time in coming here. It's nice to say, 'yes, I've been to Marrakech' but the reality of the place is actually so disappointing. I would never recommend to anyone to come to Marrakech!

Hopefully the photo I have attached to this post will be of help to anyone travelling to the Riad Zitouna. It is a scan of the arab script given to us by the maid at the Riad. It should get you to within 50 to 100 metres of the Riad and would be worthwhile printing out.

It is at Rue Bab Taghzout (Street of the door of Taghzout) but the taxi driver will not be able to read English?

Room Tip: Our room, number 4 was one of the larger rooms as it had the only balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

When we arrived in the medina we called about 10 times before we got an answer from anyone who could give us directions to the hotel, which like many riads in Morrocco, was difficult to find without help. We wasted a lot of time wondering around with all of our luggage before someone finally answered the phone.

We had stayed at a real riad in Fes the day before, where we received a warm welcome from the owners who lived there. This place was clearly owned by a larger company that hires out (very young) staff to run it when there are guests.

We were the only people there (on the busy Easter weekend), so the place felt more like an empty apartment building than a riad. Although the room was very clean and well decorated, the double bed was actually just two twin mattresses stuck together. It was uncomfortable.

After staying one night, we decided to leave, but Marrakech Riads forced us to pay for the three following nights that we had already reserved. It amounted to more than $200. After arguing with a person from Marrakech Riads on the phone, we paid for the nights just to be done with it and then found a nicer place (outside of the medina). It was a big waste of money and bad start to our stay in Marrakech :(

I would not recommend booking through Marrakech Riads. If the other reputable Riads are booked, just stay in a hotel in the new town. Many are in walking distance to the medina and taxis are cheap.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We had a very nice stay here for two nights. The riad is quiet (but see my tip about ear plugs and 5:30 am prayer calls from the nearby mosque; this applies to other Marrakech riads as well, especially if you want to sleep with the windows open). The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated, the bed comfortable, the breakfast good (besides juices and Moroccan pancakes, it is nice to have a boiled egg for protein). And the souks are a short walking distance (about 5-10 minutes) just to the south of the riad ...

Getting to the riad was a bit of an adventure. We arrived in Marrakech by car just before dusk, parked in a parkade in the centre of the medina, and were exploited by a taxi driver who charged us 10 euros (it should have been max 5, as we did not have much luggage) to get to Bab Tagzout (sp?). We phoned the manager of the riad (she appears to manage more than one), and after I had described how we looked, she told me that their agent would meet us within 5 minutes. Apparently she had misunderstood me (perhaps limited English?), as the agent was looking for a couple with a toddler--whereas we had our 21-year-old son with us! It took a few more phone calls, an entourage of local young men who eagerly wanted to show us to the riad (with the hopes of tips, of course) and a half an hour before we finally reached the riad (which is just 30 m from Bab Tagzout).. But we got to watch the bustling activity at the square while we were waiting: a man loudly selling cauliflower from a donkey cart, brochettes being cooked by street vendors, crowds milling about ...

Rashid, the young man who runs the riad ("the agent'), was very helpful. He went with my husband to fetch our car (the ride in a petit taxi was 30 dirhams), ordered a cab to the airport for our son, made restaurant reservations and walked us there, found me a hair dryer, and provided us with maps and directions.

If you are going to stay at Dar ZItouna, I would recommend arriving before dark, agreeing with a petit taxi driver about the rate ahead of time (20 dirhams from Place Jemaa el Fna), and if you are going to meet Rashid at Bab Tagzout, wear something easily distinguishable. The stay is worth the little extra effort needed to find the riad.

Room Tip: Wear ear plugs at night (5:30 am prayer calls ...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferreiras, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

The staff was very helpfull, handsome and nice although, the ladie doesn´t speak any english. The breakfast was very good: pancakes, morocan pancakes, egg, cheese, 3 kind of jam, milk, coffee and 2 fresh juices. The room was good and every day cleaned. The location is not so good. Tell the taxi driver to leave you at Rue Bab Taghzout, it´s easyer to find the Dar, do not pay more than 10 dirhams to young people to help you find the place. And from Place Djemaa el Fna by taxi don´t pay more than 30 dirham in a petit taxi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Zitouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zitouna

Address: 26, derb Ihihan | Sidi Ben Sliman, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Zitouna 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called after the giant olive tree reigning inside the central courtyard, this unique place has another mistress, Lalla Khadija, whose smile welcomes all our guests with the purest Moroccan tradition. This little 5 rooms ryad in Marrakesh is ideal for families and appreciated by kids who love to toddle in the plunge pool. Remarkably situated within reach to all the biggest traditional parts of the medina and its notorious saints, there is nowhere better to sip a mint tea than on the Dar Zitouna top terrace admiring gorgeous orange sunsets and listening to the Voices of Marrakech. Magic times await for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Zitouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zitouna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zitouna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.