We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must-do in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berber Cultural Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berber Cultural Center
Save
You added Berber Cultural Center to your Saves list
Boulaoune | Imi n Tanout, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolute must-do in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I cannot recommend this centre highly enough. Mohamed and his family are the most perfect hosts and so incredibly friendly. They put on a wonderful program of activities for us: we cooked bread from scratch with Faiza, Mohamed's wife, and cooked it in the village oven; she taught us how to make a vegetable tagine; we went to the completely authentic, tourist-free hammam in the village (a very interesting experience!); we drew water from a well; and we hiked up part of the Atlas Mountains before coming back for a delicious couscous feast.
The house itself is beautiful and so peaceful which is just what we needed after hectic Marrakech. This was by far the highlight of our stay in Morocco, and I would strongly encourage anyone visiting the area to spend some time here. A truly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I would recommend this to anyone visiting Morocco if you'd like a truly Moroccan cultural experience. During my stay there I rode a donkey, fetched water from the well and cooked a chicken tagine from scratch. Members of my group also baked bread. We went for an hour long walk and had a Moroccan tea making competition (which was taught to us upon arrival).

The riad is extremely clean, the food is different but good and the hosts are incredibly friendly and hospitable.

A must see!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went as part of a school trip to Morocco and every pupil and teacher (28 in total) thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The experience was worth the trip away from the usual spots. Mohamed and his family could not have been more welcoming and helpful. It was so relaxing for us all. The activities on offer were varied and worthwhile, especially as there was an element of usefulness to each. For example we eat the bread and tajines we made, the water we colletced with the donkey was used throughout the day, the adobe wall we helped to make will form part of a pool and garden. The walk up the mouintain to the cave and beyond provided excellent panoramic views of the Moroccan countryside. Try this, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Words can't describe how wonderful my stay at Mohamed’s had been! Mohamed, his family and friends had been such a comfort and joy to me and my friend Hyojung all the six plus days they had been with us. We did many fun things together such as cooking Tarjine, making bread and yummy almond butter, hiking through beautiful trails, visiting an more elementary school and shopping at the local market, etc. It was the most relaxing and pleasant time we had in our journey, and we are truly grateful for what they had done for us! Two thumbs up for their great hospitality and generosity; I strongly recommend anyone to go there and taste a real Berber life with these wonderful people. Special thanks to Khalid who were with us all the time and never without a gentle smile on his face :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

During my stay in the Berber Cultural Center I really enjoyed the time spent their. Walks through the mountains, picnic underneath olive trees, local dishes...that is just a small part of what awaits you if you visit BCC. I stayed there for two weeks in September and would honestly recommend it to anyone looking for a real experience of Berber life. You wont regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment you step through the door you feel you are home, the house and the family are filled with laughter and love.
It is a great place to relax from the pace of life, there is no WIFI so you can switch your devices off and rediscover the joys of playing cards, listening to live music and chatting. We only stayed 2 nights but wish we had more time there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Berber Cultural Centre for 2 weeks in July 2012 and I had the most incredible time. Mohamed and his family were so lovely and welcoming. They really work hard to integrate you into their community and make you feel at home. I was taught how to cook Moroccan dishes and mint tea. One day we went for a hike for the whole day up a mountain which was amazing. We learned so much about their culture and religion and they were more than happy to answer any questions about it. I recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berber Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berber Cultural Center

Address: Boulaoune | Imi n Tanout, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berber Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.