We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berber Cultural Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berber Cultural Center to your Saves list
Berber Cultural Center
Boulaoune | Imi n Tanout, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
capitola,ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Went to the Berber Cultural Center as part of our small tour. We spent 3 nights enjoying the center. Mohammad, his family and staff could not have been more hospitable. If you are looking for a unique way spend some time in Morocco, this is the place. Learning how to cook, bake bread, gather water from the well and make tea will provide memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I can't praise this place enough! It was the highlight of my trip, I enjoyed it so much I went back. The family are so welcoming and offer a true experience of Berber life. The facilities are good and it's good value for money, they even threw in a guided trip up the Atlas Mountains for free. I will never forget my time spent there, definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

A night at the Berber cultural centre is a must if you want to really experience Morocco. Not really a hotel more an experience. When you arrive you participate in cooking your own lunch which includes cooking your own bread in the community oven. Very basic facilities but that all part of the experience and worth suffering the bed to enjoy listening to music payed but a whole group from the village not paid musicians for the tourist but friendly people who just let us share in their evening. We all learnt so much about the culture, probably the highlight of our trip. GO.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed at the Berber Cultural Centre with our two boys aged 5 and 8 and some friends. The staff were very welcoming and it was an excellent place for the children to explore and play. You are allowed into Berber village life in a very authentic and genuine way; Mohammed the owner's English is excellent and he is a very pleasant host. You can get invloved in food preparation and tea making or juts relax or go walking.The furnishings are simple, in keeping with the rural setting. I would advise taking your own pillow if possible and plenty of warm clothes if you are going in the winter/ spring as the nights are cold high up. They offer trekking too but we managed just a walk round the village.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Our stay at the Berber culture centre was fabulous. We were there only for a short time, but felt like members of the family of the friendly host-family, who included us in many of their regular experiences, from making tagine, bread, going for guided walks in the surrounding hills and villages, a few words... but perhaps the most memorable part of this process for me was the tea competition which is truly celebrated in style (be warned, they will judge you fairly!)
I would mention that the water is not hot, but that too is perhaps part of the berber experience.
I really hope to be able to return - it was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#153 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#35 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berber Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berber Cultural Center

Address: Boulaoune | Imi n Tanout, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Berber Cultural Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berber Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.