We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big hello from england to hannan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad & Spa Mabrouk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad & Spa Mabrouk to your Saves list
Riad & Spa Mabrouk
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Rue Bani Marine | à côté de cinema mabrouka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A big hello from england to hannan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we are two english girls who stayed in this riad in the room 12 it was so fabulous one but the most thing which help us to love our staying there is the beautiful girl in the reception called hannan she is so nice with us so close to our needs and most important thing is she can speak english very good if you close your eyes you will think that you are listening to an american girl me and my friend we will be so thankful to her she is so kind i highly recommend this riad

Room Tip: room upstairs is warm and fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R-SPA-Mabrouk, Responsable réception at Riad & Spa Mabrouk, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I hope your return home was pleasant and that the warmth of the Marrakesh's sun will be in your hearts forever.
The team of Riad SACR and my self thank you for your trust. We have enjoyed your company very much and we all hope to welcome you again very soon.
With my best wishes for your future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
24
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Location really could not be better - situated on a named road (a rarity in the Medina) and only a minute's walk down a pedestrianised modern shopping street (no bartering) to Jamaa El F'naa square (lots of bartering). No narrow alleyways in sight -- you'll have to go and seek those out in the Medina.

Our room faced onto the street, so good fun watching the crowds go past outside, but it was a bit noisy, with shop owners out on the street shouting until late, and especially noticeable whenever the square is really noisy and going hell for leather til late, on the first night drums were pounding furiously at some ungodly hour, but was not as noisy on the second night (we stayed Wed & Thurs), but we brought foam ear plugs anyway so didn't really notice too much. Comfy firm mattress, and there was double glazing so most of the noise was shut out effectively and we slept very well. Shower was OK, bathroom nicely appointed with its own water heater (so the bathroom was pretty warm all the time even with the air con running in the room).


Reception staff were very helpful, and all spoke enough English to make ourselves understood.

Food at the Riad Mabrouk is... decent. Breakfasts included and very very filling. The lamb tagine is really amazing -- but more like a curry (you'll need a side dish!) whereas the chicken one was not so impressive. We had a superb salad & harira soup first night, as we weren't that hungry. Service is very good (it helps A LOT if you can speak French). They do sell a selection of alcoholic drinks if you're not into observing the local customs. We didn't eat anywhere else as the Medina is pretty stressful -- not knowing where to turn and having a hundred friendly local people saying "oh, don't eat there because it'll make you ill, eat here instead" doesn't make it any easier to decide, when you're conscious that they might well be on commission (even though they are probably just being friendly). Solo travellers will have an easier time of this, as you can more easily build up rapport with someone if you don't look like the average tourist, and can work out if they're genuine or not.

Ice cream & patisserie 20yds up the road towards JEF is well worth a visit.

We didn't use the spa facilities.

You'll 'do' Marrakech in 2 days max, so I wouldn't advise a longer stay, but the Mabrouk is definitely a good choice if you don't want an adventure holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R-SPA-Mabrouk, Responsable réception at Riad & Spa Mabrouk, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I hope your return home was pleasant and that the warmth of the Marrakesh's sun will be in your hearts forever.
The team of Riad SACR and my self thank you for your trust. We have enjoyed your company very much and we all hope to welcome you again very soon.
With my best wishes for your future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Because we booked a last minute, we quickly searched and found a nice deal online at Riad Mabrouk. It turned out to be a worthy choice!
The hotel is located only 1 minute away from the famous and wonderful Jamaa el-Fna place (the inhabitants call it the "Big Square"). For us it was perfect, but for people who need total silence in order to get some sleep, it might be less attractive. After a whole day walking it is so nice to come back to your hotel, freshen up a bit and go out again any time you like!
The room we got was not big but not small either, just normal sized. The interior is very pretty; all the small details and decorations make it a colorful and cosy place to stay in. The room gets cleaned and tidied up every day. In our case, we opened a window and watched the big crowds flow through the streets. As mentioned before, it can get a bit noisy (until 12pm), but for us this wasn't a problem at all.
Breakfirst was included: if you are a sweettooth, you will love it! Nice Moroccan tea, jus d'orange, small pancakes, sweet bread and a croissant. They vary the breakfirst a bit every day. We also had a lunch and diner once. It is somewhat expensive in comparison with other places, but surely not overpriced.
The staff is very polite and is willing to assist you with almost everything. For example, because we payed a bit too much for the taxi from the airport to the hotel, the man from the security made sure we used taxi's that were fairly priced. Everyone speaks basic English, so communicating is no problem. A special thanks for Hassan, Saliha and Hanan for answering all our questions and helping us out with making the best of Marrakech!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Riad Mabrouk is a very good hotel. But what made it memorable is the help it offered when I got involved in a minor traffic accident. The management came out to the police station to help translate and perform as a witness. They did not expect any payment, this was just normal friendly service. This was a tremendous relief, as you can imagine.
Thank you, Riad Mabrouk!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband booked this riad over the phone and we had no clue as to the location but it turned out to be a real gem,the location is king for this place, if you want to see marrakech location is important and you coulnt be better placed. The manager zaha was lovley and made sure we felt at home and really we did.
It is one of the most beautiful places ive ever expereinced for sure we had a suite which is worth the extra slpash if your a couple, but the double rooms are ok too.
most rooms can be made into twins.
the spa and hammam was great and i throughly enjoyed it.
in the evenings in the hotel live music plays which is beautiful. in all you wont be dissapointed.
The only one thing that was a bit dissapointing was breakfast as it is a little limited but we sorted this by buying the stuff we wanted from local shops.i really enjoyed it its worth every penny i spent so thanks to all at the riad x

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

After a rather negative experience the night before, we stumbled upon this Riad & Spa close to the famous 'Djemaa el Fna', the big square and market of Marrakech.

Immediately after we agreed to stay our room was prepared: 2 separate beds were put up. The room was a little small, but typical Moroccan and with all facilities we had in mind.
We asked the guy at the reception desk about the possibilities for a 'hamam' and massage in the evening. He explained prices and options and we decided to come back in the evening for a complete treatment. For it was still noon, we then left the hotel for an excursion.

Hours later and exhausted by the long walk we arrived again at the reception desk just to hear that the hamam was already closed. 'But what about the timetable the guy had told us at noon?!' We left disappointed for our room. But within 5 minutes the lady of the evening shift knocked on the door to tell that she had been able to convoke the personal of the hamam.

A long story short: we were treated like kings. The masseuses were very qualified and an hour later we felt born again. Even the manager came along to see if everything was OK now.
Afterwards we took a fine meal in the restaurant and felt strong again to stroll another couple of hours in the city.

This is our conclusion: the staff and manager of the Riad and Spa Mabrouk strained themselves to give the best possible experience. Whatever your wishes, they try to find the right solution. They are surrounded by waitresses and maids who work hard to get everything in order. The Riad is located close to the places where it happens. The rooms are nice and clean. The restaurant is ok and the hamam & massage are highly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room is different. We experienced number 15 to be small. Ask for nr. 20 or take one of the sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were recomended to try this by the owner of our Riad after finding the place around the corner was shut. Just away from the main square we left the noise behind us as we slipped inside. We were not dissappointed, attractive decor, good food and wines and pleasant live music. A bit more expensive than we'd expected but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad & Spa Mabrouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad & Spa Mabrouk

Address: Rue Bani Marine | à côté de cinema mabrouka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad & Spa Mabrouk 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Medina, the Jamaa El Fna square, in the center of the monuments of the city of Marrakech. Riad & Spa Mabrouk merges Moroccan and Andalusian architecture. It has several rooftop terraces with panoramic views of the city.4 suites and 10 rooms, air-conditioned and elegantly decorated, are decorated in a Moroccan-Andalusian style. With colorful tiles, the en suite bathroom is provided bathrobes and or showers and complimentary toiletries. They feature a minibar, satellite TV and a seating area.A Moroccan breakfast is served each morning. Lunch and dinner, you can sample Moroccan dishes in one of our fine restaurants.Wi-Fi access is available free of charge. The Riad has a currency exchange desk and a souvenir shop.To relax, the Riad offers a hammam, Jacuzzi and a massage service and a gym. The staff is at your disposal 24h/24, it can help you organize your excursions and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Riad & Spa Mabrouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad & Spa Mabrouk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.