We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hammam/massage in centre of Marrakech with value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad & Spa Mabrouk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad & Spa Mabrouk to your Saves list
Riad & Spa Mabrouk
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Rue Bani Marine | à côté de cinema mabrouka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Hammam/massage in centre of Marrakech with value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We booked this hammam/black soap, scrub, hair wash and 30min massage for 2 people for 600Dirham via internet 24 hours prior to our spa experience. We were on holidays at Aqua Fun Park hotel from 22-29 June, and were hoping to get a nice massage while in Marrakech. The 5*hotel claimed to have a spa but, like some other facilities, wasn't open yet. The taxi&excursion agent located at the hotel lobby also claimed to be able to arrange a spa experience for 2 of us but they never got back to us with any further details.
While touring the city one night we came across this spa, just opposite the night market - webiste has a very clear location map - walked in and asked for massage. We were showed a price list (set so no need to haggle the price) and were able to book our spa even with 24hours notice via email.
We came in at 4pm. Were showed to a changing room with a locker for our bags&clothes. We got the key, too, so very safe. Rooms were beautifully decorated, and smelled of essential oils and candles. We changed into bathrobes, and you get your knickers & slippers. No need to bring your own!
1. You walk into a hammam room first (we were together with my partner apart from the massage where we took each turns)
2. You sit in the steamed room for 5min then the lady comes in and soaps your body from head to toes.
3. She left us for 10min to make your skin soft with black soap applied earlier
4. She comes back to give you a rinse with loads of pleasantly warm water from the basin.
5. Then, you lie on the marble bed and you get a scrub with a glove that is brought sealed, 1 for each person
5. You get a rinse again, and then the lady washes your body with body gel and does the same to your hair with a gentle massage.
6. You get a final rinse standing up, and she passes you a robe to go to a relaxing room to rest for 10min
7. The room is fitted with a TV, soft hammam beds and soft music for your relaxation
8. Then comes time for your 30min massage from head to toes, applied with a gentle touch of essential oils. You do it on the back and then on the front. Every muscle, including your toes, fingers, and even ears are massaged
9. You are allowed 10-15min resting time in the next door room and then you get changed

We were finished by 5:35pm and it was an experience I would recommend to anybody!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    26
    16
    11
    16
See reviews for
24
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We didn't stay at the Riad but visited the restaurant with 2 friends on Thursday, 5 May, around 8.15 pm. Our welcome from 2 waiters was warm, the courtyard style riad restaurant charming and ornate, with traditional tunes played by two musicians. We wanted to try the traditional dish 'pastilla' which we ordered x 4, which were well cooked and surprisingly filling, plus 2 large salads, at a reasonable cost. On requesting a wine list, we were told none existed, but were invited to view the wines in the corner cabinet. After discussion with the waiter we chose a Cuvee du President rose, price unmarked, which we forgot to query. Big mistake! Every similar restaurant wine we had previously ordered had cost around 120 dirhams (approx £10). When we requested the bill, which was not written down but delivered via the waiter's mouth, we couldn't believe how it could total 965 (£74) dirhams for such simple food. On questioning the waiter, he advised us that the wine had cost 350 dirhams (approx. £28). As the bill still did not seem to tally, we managed to get the waiter to reluctantly list the items with prices and there was still a discrepancy of some 45 dirhams (£3.60) , which he lamely claimed to be 'service charge'. It would not have even been 10% of the quoted total, so this seemed unlikely. It seemed he was just making it up as he went along. Although pleasant, this was not a top end wine and our tour courier advised us next day it was double normal cost. He thought the waiter just made up the price to see if he could get away with it at our expense and because we'd forgotten to check first, we had no option but to pay. In contrast to our welcome, there was not even a 'goodnight' or 'thank you' when we left - what a surprise! We'd had a nice meal in lovely surroundings which was marred only by the grasping behaviour of the staff. I would be interested to know what the response would be to these practices from the relatively recent owners, a French couple I believe.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

we were in room 18. there are renovations going on in the hotel and construction unttil 2300 noise of dragging and scraping across the floor which i think is slate so it just echoes.
the breakfast included in the room is really basic- i ordered the moroccan pancake and it was stale from yesterday. its better from across the road in the tea shop fresh made in front of your eyes for 10 d. it will be stunning when finished but ......
the french couple that run
it dont speak english , arabic or spanish........

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad-Mabrouk, Gérant at Riad & Spa Mabrouk, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Hi and thank you for your advice. I am manager at Riad & Spa Mabrouk since 1 month and all advices are really precious for me to improve our service.

At this moment, there are a lot of modification in our Riad.There were no management team before us and we had to set up a new organisation and make renovations to be able to receive our customers in the best possible conditions.

Renovations are almost over (we are now creating a great moroccan livingroom with satelite tv). The restaurant which is located at the 2nd floor is now closed at 22h to avoid noise made by chairs above rooms. From 22h, dinners are served in the patio only.

About breakfast, we propose 4 different type of breakfast to our customer (moroccan, classic, continental and mabrouk), I don't think this is so basic (take a look to our website, all breakfast are described in details).

Finally, we are french and we don't speak english or spanish perfectly but we have good notions and we don't have difficulty to communicate with our customers. Furthermore, all contacts that we have each days with our english and spanish customers allow us to learn very quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

this riad is the best i have seen so far.It has a lovely resturant in which the food is fair priced. the rooms are very spacious and hard to find like this rooms at its price range consedering the its location which is very close to the jmaa el fna the staff are very kind in this riad.
My girlfriend and i spent very plesent time in this riad

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad & Spa Mabrouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad & Spa Mabrouk

Address: Rue Bani Marine | à côté de cinema mabrouka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad & Spa Mabrouk 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Medina, the Jamaa El Fna square, in the center of the monuments of the city of Marrakech. Riad & Spa Mabrouk merges Moroccan and Andalusian architecture. It has several rooftop terraces with panoramic views of the city.4 suites and 10 rooms, air-conditioned and elegantly decorated, are decorated in a Moroccan-Andalusian style. With colorful tiles, the en suite bathroom is provided bathrobes and or showers and complimentary toiletries. They feature a minibar, satellite TV and a seating area.A Moroccan breakfast is served each morning. Lunch and dinner, you can sample Moroccan dishes in one of our fine restaurants.Wi-Fi access is available free of charge. The Riad has a currency exchange desk and a souvenir shop.To relax, the Riad offers a hammam, Jacuzzi and a massage service and a gym. The staff is at your disposal 24h/24, it can help you organize your excursions and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad & Spa Mabrouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad & Spa Mabrouk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.