We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad azalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad azalia to your Saves list
Riad azalia
No66 Derb Jamaa Riad zitouni El kdim | Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

An excellent and clean Riad, Pierre was the perfect host with a good knowledge of the medina. It really is in the centre of things but is remarkably quiet, top tip keep the bathroom window closed at night and you won't hear the mosque's call to prayers. If travelling during particularly hot times request a room on the middle floor as they have air con.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nt, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our group of 16 booked the entire Riad for 5 nights in May. We found Gabi and Pierre to be delightful hosts who went out of their way to make our visit a positive one. (I'm sure they would have been a bit shocked/stunned by this loud group of Aussies hijacking their Riad!)
Gabi & Pierre have only recently taken over this Riad, and they were busily making small improvements to the décor whilst we were there, ie. painting etc. Very nice people.
As mentioned previously, the location is very close to Djema El Fna square, which was part of our reason for choosing it. Even though it's in the middle of the 'action', we heard no noise from outside at any time night or day. A very peaceful Riad.
The only negative in our experience here was that the ground floor rooms are humid with a slight musty smell and have no air con. We had no option but to utilise all rooms with our group, however if you have the choice I would recommend you ask for an upstairs room. The hosts arranged free standing fans for us when they could see how unhappy we were about the lack of air con, which was much appreciated. I'm not sure how they can fix this issue, but it needs to be attended to.
Also previously mentioned is the mosque right next door. It is definitely very loud, very early. We weren't concerned about this though as most of the group had not heard the call to prayer before, so it was a bit novel to us (no disrespect intended).
Gabi and Pierre provided a 'last night' dinner for the group on the terrace, and it was absolutely delicious. We had 'tangine' (as opposed to tajine) and salads - the whole group agreed it was the best meal we'd had during our trip to Morocco. I recommend it!

Room Tip: Only upstairs rooms have air conditioning if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pierre and Gabi are the perfect hosts in a little oasis in a manic area, the room was clean, tidy & had all that we wanted for the 4 nights that we spent in Marrakesh. The Riad was always clean & tidy, with fantastic staff & our hosts were around when we needed them. It is a very convenient for the Jemaa El Fna where we spent most nights enjoying the atmosphere & wonderful hospitality. Piere took us to a excellant restaurant for our wedding anniversary on very short notice where we were looked after like royality.
Thank you to Pierre and Gabi for making our trip a very memorable one in a good way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are extreamly humid and the arrangement of the furniture as a mortuary doesn't help. It is in a great location but the echo in the hall and the Muezzin at 5am make it extreamely noisy. The owners are one of the best and kindest people I have ever met in my trips. It is literally 2 min walk from Jemaa El Fna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great little riad, very close to Jma el Fnaa, which is very useful if this is your first trip to Marrakech. No pool, but a nice terrace for when it's warm.

Fantastic staff, Pierre and Gabi are very helpful. Go with their suggestions on hammam/spa (Gabi will take you) and tour guides (Pierre will suggest Hamza from moroccobesttravel.com who can organise anything from a half a day tour in Marrakech (a must on day 1. Request Mustafa) to trips into the mountains, desert treks etc.

This riad is good value for money.

Room Tip: Request top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends in October 2011. The riad is beautiful and so peaceful. The owners could not do any more to help us. They made us feel so welcome, at home and gave us advice on where to go, including to a spa.

This riad is literally 5 minute walk from all hustle and bustle, ideally located. Yet, it is so peaceful and tranquil.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Riad Azalia was our first stop in Morocco. This was our first time in the country and although we had done some preparing through the Internet, Marrakech was bigger, louder and livelier that I had expected. That is why it was great to have the help and advice of Andrea and Adil.
I was able to contact Andrea via email before our trip and she always answered my questions and was very helpful. Adil is an experienced guide for many years and his recommendations and suggestions were spot on all the time. In short, they helped ease two inexperienced Europeans into the Moroccan way of life and it made our trip much easier and more enjoyable.
The room we stayed in was clean and cozy and the breakfast on the terrasse was a great way to start your day. There is a mosque right next door to the Riad and the prayers do wake you up early in the morning, but I loved it and actually missed it when back home.
The location is also great, it is close to Jamal El Fna and the souks so there's a lot to see and do all in walking distance from the Riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad azalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad azalia

Address: No66 Derb Jamaa Riad zitouni El kdim | Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Azalia places at your disposal 8 carefully decorated rooms, a patio, a kitchen with complete equipement, you will be to benefit from the tea room for your moments of relaxation. Riad Azalia also proposes to you to admire the incredible sight on the medina and the Atlas, from the terrace. Riad Azalia is in heart of Marrakech old city. It is the ideal starting point to survey the commercial streets of the old city, in Riad Zitoune El Kadim, very near to the Mosque, at 5 minutes with foot of the Djemaa El Fna square, you will be near the principal historic monuments of the city. Services : - Airport transfer – Riad Azalia – airport.- Breakfast.- Traditional Hammam.- Restaurant. When you discover Marrakech and its neighborhoods, we will put to you in relation to the various agents for the following activities :- Discovered of Marrakech and its souks.- Circuit of quad and karting.- Excursions in the valley of Ourika, the cascades of Ouzoud.- Visits of Essaouira.- Bivouacs in the desert towards Ouarzazate.- Kasbah of Benhadou.- Imlil.- Oukaimden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad azalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad azalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.