We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a first visit to Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad azalia

Save Saved
You added Riad azalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad azalia
No66 Derb Jamaa Riad zitouni El kdim | Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for a first visit to Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great little riad, very close to Jma el Fnaa, which is very useful if this is your first trip to Marrakech. No pool, but a nice terrace for when it's warm.

Fantastic staff, Pierre and Gabi are very helpful. Go with their suggestions on hammam/spa (Gabi will take you) and tour guides (Pierre will suggest Hamza from moroccobesttravel.com who can organise anything from a half a day tour in Marrakech (a must on day 1. Request Mustafa) to trips into the mountains, desert treks etc.

This riad is good value for money.

Room Tip: Request top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends in October 2011. The riad is beautiful and so peaceful. The owners could not do any more to help us. They made us feel so welcome, at home and gave us advice on where to go, including to a spa.

This riad is literally 5 minute walk from all hustle and bustle, ideally located. Yet, it is so peaceful and tranquil.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Riad Azalia was our first stop in Morocco. This was our first time in the country and although we had done some preparing through the Internet, Marrakech was bigger, louder and livelier that I had expected. That is why it was great to have the help and advice of Andrea and Adil.
I was able to contact Andrea via email before our trip and she always answered my questions and was very helpful. Adil is an experienced guide for many years and his recommendations and suggestions were spot on all the time. In short, they helped ease two inexperienced Europeans into the Moroccan way of life and it made our trip much easier and more enjoyable.
The room we stayed in was clean and cozy and the breakfast on the terrasse was a great way to start your day. There is a mosque right next door to the Riad and the prayers do wake you up early in the morning, but I loved it and actually missed it when back home.
The location is also great, it is close to Jamal El Fna and the souks so there's a lot to see and do all in walking distance from the Riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location of this raid is excellent, a short walk from the main square. Despite assurances from the new management (see review from aug 2011), this riad still felt as though it is going to be run as cheaply as possible. The young fellow at reception is nice enough, but the managers need to give him a bit more guidance to make him more effective. The design of the riad leaves it open to being a bit noisy - particularly the use of a door bell which can be rung any time day or night. The room we stayed in felt run down even though it had a few new touches to try and lift it a bit. Breakfast on the terrace is nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place gave us such a positive experience in Morocco. Admittedly we were a little tired after a week of Chefchouen and Fez: tired of bartering for everything, tired of having to be on the alert, tired of being wary of the possibility of being ripped off. At Riad Azalia we felt like the hosts Andrea and Adil were on our side. Their recommendations (eg for desert safari/hamman/Atlas trek) were honest and helpful and not designed to gain them commissions. The hosts achieved the balance between being friendly and professional. They are very experienced in dealing with foreigners and knowing what non-Moroccans expect. We could leave our passports/electronic gear at the riad with no fear of them disappearing. The hosts were what made this place so comforting for us, however in addition the building is gorgeous, well-decorated clean rooms, heating provided, hot showers, enjoyable breakfast, lovely staff. As it was winter I loved that they used a heater to warm up the central atrium. We did a two day Atlas trek thanks to Adil's recommendation which became the highlight of our entire trip (magnificent views of snow-capped mountains, great guide, walking through little villages with no car access, family home-stay). Wifi connection was good/fast (only avail on ground floor common area and in some ground floor rooms). Thanks to Riad Azalia and Adil and Andrea we loved Marrakech and Morocco and had a great holiday experience.

Room Tip: Use ear plugs: there is a mosque next door, although I liked listening to the call to prayer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Manager at Riad azalia, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you Katy and Beto,

Its guests like yourselves that make our experience as Riad hosts so enjoyable. We hope to see you again one day, here or in Australia.

All the best, Andrea, Adil and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

We have visited Marrakech 5 times over the past 12 years, and Riad Azalia has been by far the best place we've stayed in. The owners, Andrea and Adil, as the rest of the staff, were extremely friendly and professional, and willing to help us have the best stay in every possible way.

The riad's location is ideal, tucked away in a nice derb very close to Jemaa El Fna, which allows you to pop in whenever needed during your day out.
It is an oasis of peace and quiet right next to the bustle. You can't hear ANYTHING at night.

The raid is tastefully decorated with traditional Moroccan architecture features like zellige and tadelakt, lovely colours, lamps and textiles. The whole atmosphere is very harmonic and real, unlike other phony-feeling places in town.

A fresh and complete breakfast is served on the terrace, where you can just chill-out anytime of day, as in the inner courtyard.

We were traveling with our 8-month-old baby, and found that everyone was helpful and understanding in heating meals, serving dinner in the courtyard next to our room, leaving the pram anywhere, etc. She was lovingly spoiled in everybody's arms!

The morning we were leaving, Andrea came in on purpose to serve us a full breakfast just outside our room at 7 am.

We really felt at home and relaxed not just in our room but everywhere in the riad. The best feature by far are the owners Adil and Andrea. They are just so dedicated, professional and honest. And you can ask them anything you need about Marrakech, in French, English or Spanish(at least), and will get top advice.
We will definitely be back to them if we return to Marrakech, and recommend the experience to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Manager at Riad azalia, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your review Marlene,

as a family ourselves we love that we can make another family happy and relaxed in the Riad after they enjoy the chaos and colourful life outside our doors in the Medina.

We are looking forward to seeing you again,

Kindest regards,

Andrea, Adil and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have travelled all my life and I can say this is one of the best places I have stayed!

1. LOCATION: only 1 minute from the central market place. Once, you get to Marrakech, you will realize that it is almost a mission to get around and not get lost! LOCATION is the key when you decide on your riad. I had no problem getting around from/to Riad as it was so centrally located and whenever I bought some heavy souvenirs, I went back to my room to drop them off.

2. HOSPITALITY: I arrived all alone in the evening so I was a bit scared to find my way to the Riad. However, the owner of Riad personally came to the parking lot area to pick me up then once we got to Riad, he showed me the rooftop w/ mint tea and thouroughly explained what to see in Marrakech on a map. Then, I asked whether I could get some money exchanged and eat dinner- he walked me to the exchange place then showed me where restaurants were.
This Riad's real charm is its owners. They are a young couple, who took over the lease 3 months ago. They are so honest, hard-working, sincere and kind that I genuinely wish them the best w/ their new business. IF you have any question, you can ask them anytime and they speak English, French, Spanish...etc. you name it.

3. BREAKFAST on the terrace: it is included in the room rate (EUR 50~70 depending on the room type and the season). They serve you yogurt, fresh bread w/ french butter, jams & cheese, FRESHLY squeezed orange juice, a pot of coffee/tea and sweet pastry. I stayed in Marrakech for 6 days and breakfast was the best moment of each day. :-)

4. Clean room w/ free WIFI & lovely patio: rooms are clean and well organized. It is not 5 star hotel but it was good enough for me and my friend to stay 6 days without any issue. Shower had good hote water, and i could get free wifi anywhere in the riad. I even left my ipad on the balcony as i knew it would be all safe. You will feel at home in this place. In the evening, you can sit on the roof terrace having some tea and watch the sunset...or enjoy the fountain in the patio area. It is like an Oasis in the middle of bustling Marrakech - you will understand once you get to Marrakech (it is insanely busy/bustling and you will find the air polluted because of the motorbikes!)

All in all, I highly recommend this place if you want to spend some day in Marrakech. Also, they book taxi service for you from/to the airport for 15EUR so you know you are in good hand.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Owner at Riad azalia, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. You were a pleasure to have as our guests and we hope we will see you again one day.
Best regards,
Abdul, Andrea and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad azalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad azalia

Address: No66 Derb Jamaa Riad zitouni El kdim | Marrakech Maroc, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Azalia places at your disposal 8 carefully decorated rooms, a patio, a kitchen with complete equipement, you will be to benefit from the tea room for your moments of relaxation. Riad Azalia also proposes to you to admire the incredible sight on the medina and the Atlas, from the terrace. Riad Azalia is in heart of Marrakech old city. It is the ideal starting point to survey the commercial streets of the old city, in Riad Zitoune El Kadim, very near to the Mosque, at 5 minutes with foot of the Djemaa El Fna square, you will be near the principal historic monuments of the city. Services : - Airport transfer – Riad Azalia – airport.- Breakfast.- Traditional Hammam.- Restaurant. When you discover Marrakech and its neighborhoods, we will put to you in relation to the various agents for the following activities :- Discovered of Marrakech and its souks.- Circuit of quad and karting.- Excursions in the valley of Ourika, the cascades of Ouzoud.- Visits of Essaouira.- Bivouacs in the desert towards Ouarzazate.- Kasbah of Benhadou.- Imlil.- Oukaimden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad azalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad azalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.