We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with superb hospitality!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Kadar

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Kadar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Kadar
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   132 , Derb Jamaa - Arset - Belbaraka, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place with superb hospitality!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was our first time in Morocco and everything was simply prefect! This riad is the place where details count. Michele is the best host, discret but always handy. We have enjoyed the cleanliness in the room provided by the diligent and friendly housekeeping ladies. Every breakfast is unique and very generous. We couldn't expect a better place to stay and we felt like home! Can't wait to stay again and enjoy the magic atmosphere of the Al Kadar which is second to none.

Room Tip: Room Rouge is very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staying at Riad al Kadar made my experience in Marrakech so much more pleasant. The Riad is beautifully renovated. The breakfasts are generous and beautifully presented. Michel, the owner went out of his way to assure a pleasant experience. The Riad was a great base for day trips to the mountains or out to the ocean. The Riad is about a 15 minute walk to the main square through Marrakech's seemingly random street pattern. It takes a while to learn your way, but it's easy to catch a taxi if you need one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This riad, beautifully renovated by the owner Michel, was a real delight. The decor was breathtaking, with great attention to detail, making us feel we were experiencing a luxurious slice of traditional Marrakech life. The breakfasts were beautifully presented and really set us up for the day. We chose to eat dinner at the riad and it was the best meal of our holiday. Our bedroom was spacious, comfortable and we welcomed the life saving air conditioning in such high temperatures! The rooftop patio was a lovely extra - a great place to unwind in the evening. The location would be difficult to find without a taxi but it ideally placed just a 10 minute walk from the main square in a safe and friendly neighbourhood. Michel was the perfect host and made this holiday a truly unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Riad is immaculate with comfortable beds, en suites and air conditioning and a 20 minute walk from the souks which was something we saw as a positive it really is in the heart of where the local people live and if you can't be bothered with the walk it's only £2 in a taxi. Michele (the owner) is fantastic and his attention to detail and desire for you to enjoy your stay was very refreshing, to the point that on our first morning he walked us into the main square to give us our bearings. Breakfast was great and because the weather was so hot we spent some mornings on the roof terrace relaxing and Michele kept us hydrated with water and melon. The personal touches were a joy. If you are looking for a more authentic experience than one of the huge chain hotels can possibly offer then I recommend the Riad Al Kadar absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Although this riad is beautiful inside, our bedroom was like a railway carriage - the only way into the bed was to climb over it from the bottom and just hurl yourself towards the pillows... not very comfortable and there was nowhere else to sit in the room. The riad is beautifully decorated but we found it a very long and complicated walk into town through a very 'local' neighbourhood which was very confusing and very intimidating if you are travelling by yourself. Michael was OK but the place was so locked up, you couldn't get onto the roof terrace unless he unlocked it for you - very strange and uncomfortable. Michael also arranged a trip for us to the Atlas Mountains but it was very over-priced and disappointinng. On the plus side, the the breakfasts are very generous - if a little repetitive.
To be honest, four days was far too long there and we were very relieved to be going home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I could not have hoped for anything better- immaculately clean, EVERYTHING was gorgeous, Michael's level of attention to detail to everything he does creates such a magical and personal experience. Rose petals everywhere, comfortable bed, large rooms and bathrooms, water pressure was amazing, plenty of hot water. I highly recommend eating there as well, the best meals we had in Marrakesh we at his Riad, and to be able to simply walk up to the roof or room after dinner was pure perfection. Michael was so helpful, responsive, generous and caring on all levels. I can't wait to have the opportunity to go back! I still have some of the incense he burns at the riad that he gave to us when we left- it takes me back with a smile every time! There is nothing bad i can say- everything was PERFECT

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

The riad is beautiful, a lot of attention has gone into the smallest detail.
Plenty of hot water, great heating system (which was a bit of a luxury since it's never really cold).
The breakfast was very nice, so one night we had dinner, which was an authentic moroccan experience from start to finish.
We particularly liked the roof top terrace, which is very beautiful and peaceful.
The riad is a bit of a walk from the main square, but at least the location is quiet and great for a good night sleep.
We had no problem finding it unlike others reviewers: Michele, the owner, gave us a map and the name of the next door hammam, which all the taxi drivers knew.
He was also very helpful recommending places to see and things to do and one evening even walked to the main square with us.
If we really have to find areas for improvement, I'd say a more powerful light in the bathroom and my partner found the bed a bit hard, but these are matters of preference (I thought it was fine).
Overall I thoroughly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Kadar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Kadar

Address: 132 , Derb Jamaa - Arset - Belbaraka, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Kadar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Kadar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Kadar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.