We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven in bustling Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Kadar

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Kadar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Kadar
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   132 , Derb Jamaa - Arset - Belbaraka, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful haven in bustling Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We couldn't have wished for better accommodation in Marrakech. The Riad was spotlessly clean and beautifully restored. Michel the host was extremely welcoming and made us feel at home immediately. We arrived quite late on the first night and so we decided to eat at the Riad. Naima the cook prepared us a delicious meal, so delicious in fact that we decided to eat there every night. It takes roughly 15 minutes to get to the main square. The walk is pleasant and something that you would miss if you were staying in the centre. We couldn't recommend the Riad AND the food highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a lovely time staying at the Riad Al Kadar. Although it is not situated in the central medina, it is only a 10-15 min walk away from the main square down little old streets and souks. The location means that it is a very quiet, peaceful place to stay whilst still being near all the action. The riad itself is beautiful, with gorgeous rooms, an amazing courtyard and even the roof terrace has been thought through in detail. The breakfasts are amazing - Moroccan bread, pancakes, fruit, honey, jams, delicious coffee and fresh orange juice every morning. The owner is incredily friendly and welcoming, very chatty and very helpful, as are his staff. If you don't speak French, it could be a little hard to stay here as english is limited but I'm sure that you would get by.
Definitely stay here - you can't get better service and surroundings for a better price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I can't recommend this Riad enough. The service is fantastic and the Riad is beautiful and so peaceful. Ideal for couples. It's located away from all the tourists... perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This riad has been lovingly and painstakingly restored and is now a beautiful, stylish yet sensitively decorated riad. Each bedroom is unique but all 5 are lovely. The owner Michel has really done an incredible job with the place and as well as providing a very warm welcome and fantastic service he has created an amazing atmosphere with his very talented eye for detail. We absolutely loved our stay in the Riad al Kadar. It was truly magical and very romantic. All the food we had in the riad was absolutely delicious from the freshly baked traditional bread and cakes to the authentic tagines and couscous dishes. I really can't recommend this riad enough!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Riad Al Kadar is the most fabulous place to stay whilst in Marrakesh. The interior is sumptiously decorated, with the utmost care and attention put into every detail, which echoes every aspect of the service we received on our visit. Michele is the most charming and accomodating host, who has ensured that every facet of the experience of staying at the riad is relaxing, peaceful and beautiful. Breakfast is included, which consists of a range of delicious items arranged on small plates to chose from including fresh french bread, jams and honey, cheese, yoghurt, homemade morrocan pancakes cooked fresh, fresh fruit , orange juice tea and coffee. We chose to eat at the riad one evening by arrangement with Michele, and we were able to chose what we wanted to eat and when. The food was beautifully presented and delicious, and included tagines, freshly prepared salads and exquisite homemade cake.
The bedroom was immaculate, with a wonderful ensuite shower room, fresh flowers, lovely fabrics and furniture and a comfy kingsize. The staff are very accomodating to lazy lie-ins, and go about their work in a very harmonious and tranquil way!
It is probably worth noting that it is a ten minute walk into the medina, but Michele is happy to order you a taxi if required. My friend and I really enjoyed walking in as you get to see more of the local day to day life.
I would reccommend this riad to anyone who lovely comfort, pleasure, and beautiful surroundings. I went with my friend, but it would also make a fabulous romantic retreat for any couple. If you're going to Marrakesh, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010 via mobile

I was keen on my first trip to Marrakech to stay at a traditional characterful riad; sumptious, exotic & beautiful. In every way my expectations were exceeded. Michaeli, the charming Italian moved to Marrakech in 2005 & spent two years lovingly restoring this place to magnificent glory. The interior is exquisite with the most amazing carved wooden doors surrounding the interior courtyard, lush fabrics & cushions, ornately painted ceilings & fantastic mosaic tiling. These intricate details are all offset against simple dazzling White Walls which blend together harmoniously. Michaeli has accessorized with the utmost taste & flair & has succeeded to create an incredible atmosphere of serenity & relaxation. The constant tinkling of water from the rose filled fountain is delighful. Even the lovely ladies that work there go about their work with a sense of calm & tranquility. The en-suite bedrooms are again lush but simply designed, comfortable & air conditioned. The roof terrace is amazing with it's muslin-draped gazebo & cushioned loungers. Michaeli is thoroughly charming, amusing, thoughtful & helpful. There are only 4 bedrooms so the service is very intimate. The inclusive breakfast was fresh & delicious & if you wish to eat there Michaeli will arrange for his staff to cook for you if you let him know in advance. We were served a selection of salads, two tagines, breads, wine & desert made with seasonal fresh ingredients. This lavish feast was laid out on a table strewn with fresh rose petals & was really sublime. The riad is immaculate throughout & clean beyond belief. My visit to Marrakech was enhanced so much by this lovely accommodation & Michaeli,s generous spirit & hospitality. I can't recommend it enough & can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I heard about this Riad while I was in Essaouira and took it in good faith to stay here. I was traveling with my mother and as soon as we pulled up to the front, Michele (the owner and our gracious host) gave us a great big welcome along with some of his friends who were staying there. From the outside it doesn't seem like much but once we entered inside we were completely taken aback by the beauty of the interior. Very traditional, superbly designed and decorated. Rose petals in the fountain, gorgeous fabrics, candles, open roof, the works! We were offered mint tea and traditional Moroccan snacks immediately. Michele could not have been any more accommodating! Just a delightful, wonderful spirit. The rooms are immaculately clean and well decorated (plus there is Air Conditioning….big plus).
We opted to have dinner at the riad the following night. WOW!!!!!!! Michele's house chef (a native of Morocco) cooked up one of the most incredible meals I have ever had!!!!!!! I was SO surprised. It was real Moroccan home cooking. Michele and his friends ate with us and we had a wonderful time eating and drinking a little wine and just talking about life. The other wonderful thing about this splendid place is that it’s outside all of the hustle and bustle. It’s about 8 minutes by taxi from insane and hectic Djemaa El Fna. It’s off the beaten path which is nice because you really get to see local culture. And its totally safe! So don't worry. All in all, look no further. I promise you will not regret it. It was a delightful and marvelous experience. Ohhh and I almost forgot.......Michele helped us organize a 4 day trip into the Sahara. He took us to an amazing travel agency that gave us an incredible deal on this adventure. It was unreal. So you can trust him to help you with furthering your trip. What a beautiful and unforgettable place. Definitely staying ONLY here next time!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Kadar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Kadar

Address: 132 , Derb Jamaa - Arset - Belbaraka, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Kadar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Kadar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Kadar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.