We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanity is a crazy town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cannelle

Save Saved
You added Riad Cannelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Cannelle
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sanity is a crazy town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very well presented...friendly helpful staff. Lovely food. Nice terrace to sunbath ...not dark and enclosed like some raids. Open bright space with designer feel. Highly recommend. Do not be put off by dark alley outside riad ...but recommend arranging a transfer from airport as taxis will not drop you outside riad. Good location for sight seeing and the souks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Riad Cannelle is just a really lovely and tranquil place to stay. Perfectly positioned in the Medina, it is easy to find and is very close to the souks and all of the cafes and restaurants are a short stroll or taxi ride away. The courtyard is such a cool area to chill out in, listen to music or drink mint tea. The roof terrace is also a nice spot to have breakfast in the mornings or to just lay in the sunshine when you need time out from the chaos of Marrakech! The rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, complimented by stunning, ornate, morrocan furnishings. You are guaranteed a peaceful nights sleep here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help make your stay a wonderful and memorable experience. Adil, Badr and all of the staff at Riad Cannelle offered us a very warm welcome. Absolutely fantastic! You will love it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Riad was perfect- an amazingly quiet haven from the madness of the souks that are pretty much on the doorstep. It is incredible how peaceful and serene it is once you step through the wooden door into the pretty little court yard, considering it is so close to all the action of Marrakech.

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed coming back to the Riad to relax after sight seeing in Marrakech. Badh and Ali were excellent hosts- very willing to help (even walking with us to various locations to help us get our bearings) and very welcoming. The food is absolutely amazing - we ate twice in the Riad during our trip and the meals were delicious. We are also both vegan and the cook, Fazia, was really accommodating with providing us a vegan meal.

Great location, nice rooms and lovely roof top terrace to watch the sunset from. Would recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we would definitely recommend it. The location couldn't be better if you want to wander around the Souks or even venture in to the new town. Adil and Badr were absolutely wonderful hosts and they made us feel very welcome. We ate at the Riad one night and the food and atmosphere was fantastic. The Riad is beautiful and serene and we slept great.I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Guests are given a really warm welcome at Riad Cannelle. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with tea and biscuits by Adil, the very pleasant, courteous Manager. The chef, Fozzia cooked the tastiest meal I ever had in Morocco over 15 days. It was simply delicious and served by the most attentive waiter, who provided us with good advice and recommendations about food and shopping. We were given telephone numbers by the male staff, in case we needed an escort to our destinations, or needed help. The staff were extremely friendly and solicitous. My friends and I would certainly return to this riad for further short breaks as it is clean, pleasantly furnished and close to the souqs and main square.

Room Tip: It hasn't got a pool or fitness centre but can't remove the buttons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 fantastic nights at the riad with Adir and Badr and nothing was too much. Past posts were spot on regarding the excellent hospitality and assistance and nothing was too much trouble. Great location, fantastic team who were constantly looking after our every need and the food at Cannelle was the best we encountered in Marrakech. The Medina was a whirlwind of culture and new experiences and Cannelle was an oasis for us in the Medina. If you are looking for an authentic Marrakech experience look no farther, we will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a week spent in this wonderful Riad. A calm oasis after the hustle & bustle of life in the Medina. The staff couldn't do enough for us, they made us feel like very specail guests. We mostly ate in the Riad as the cook produced wonderful dishes. The manager Adiz, arranged a taxi from and to the airport, which was a wise choice on our part. Badr the day manager was extremely helpful with choice of restaurant and even took us through the maze of streets. Adiz also showed us the way to the square the first day with some helpful hints to find our way about. He spent time going over the map with us.
We chose to stay in a suite which was spacious & kept beautifully clean.
Staff also arranged a day trip to the Atlas mountains. So thankyou staff at this lovely Riad, you made our stay most memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear customer.
Many thanks to share your opinion on your stay with us in Riad Cannelle.
Your opinion is very important for us, and we take it very serioously, even when - as this is the case - your advice is a reward.
We have developped Riad Cannelle with the ambition to make it a kind of gem.
Among the so many Riads available, we wanted our offer to be somewhat unique, and offer our clients unforgettable pleasant memory, thru specific vectors: spacious area, luxury dimension, highly dedicated sevices -which - on top of personal ones - also includes cooking.
My team and I are really happy that you were sensitive to our efforts, as this tells us that we contributed to make your stay a good event.

Christian Rattel
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Address: 10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cannelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.