We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cannelle

Save Saved
You added Riad Cannelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Cannelle
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we would definitely recommend it. The location couldn't be better if you want to wander around the Souks or even venture in to the new town. Adil and Badr were absolutely wonderful hosts and they made us feel very welcome. We ate at the Riad one night and the food and atmosphere was fantastic. The Riad is beautiful and serene and we slept great.I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    19
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Guests are given a really warm welcome at Riad Cannelle. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with tea and biscuits by Adil, the very pleasant, courteous Manager. The chef, Fozzia cooked the tastiest meal I ever had in Morocco over 15 days. It was simply delicious and served by the most attentive waiter, who provided us with good advice and recommendations about food and shopping. We were given telephone numbers by the male staff, in case we needed an escort to our destinations, or needed help. The staff were extremely friendly and solicitous. My friends and I would certainly return to this riad for further short breaks as it is clean, pleasantly furnished and close to the souqs and main square.

Room Tip: It hasn't got a pool or fitness centre but can't remove the buttons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 fantastic nights at the riad with Adir and Badr and nothing was too much. Past posts were spot on regarding the excellent hospitality and assistance and nothing was too much trouble. Great location, fantastic team who were constantly looking after our every need and the food at Cannelle was the best we encountered in Marrakech. The Medina was a whirlwind of culture and new experiences and Cannelle was an oasis for us in the Medina. If you are looking for an authentic Marrakech experience look no farther, we will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a week spent in this wonderful Riad. A calm oasis after the hustle & bustle of life in the Medina. The staff couldn't do enough for us, they made us feel like very specail guests. We mostly ate in the Riad as the cook produced wonderful dishes. The manager Adiz, arranged a taxi from and to the airport, which was a wise choice on our part. Badr the day manager was extremely helpful with choice of restaurant and even took us through the maze of streets. Adiz also showed us the way to the square the first day with some helpful hints to find our way about. He spent time going over the map with us.
We chose to stay in a suite which was spacious & kept beautifully clean.
Staff also arranged a day trip to the Atlas mountains. So thankyou staff at this lovely Riad, you made our stay most memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear customer.
Many thanks to share your opinion on your stay with us in Riad Cannelle.
Your opinion is very important for us, and we take it very serioously, even when - as this is the case - your advice is a reward.
We have developped Riad Cannelle with the ambition to make it a kind of gem.
Among the so many Riads available, we wanted our offer to be somewhat unique, and offer our clients unforgettable pleasant memory, thru specific vectors: spacious area, luxury dimension, highly dedicated sevices -which - on top of personal ones - also includes cooking.
My team and I are really happy that you were sensitive to our efforts, as this tells us that we contributed to make your stay a good event.

Christian Rattel
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Almost hidden away in the north part of the medina, riad Channelle is a true gem. The riad is located on the corner of two alleys just off one of the bigger roads through the medina, so easy enough to find by taxi, we had arrange for a transfer through Adil as we didn't want to stress of finding a taxi and haggling a price straight away. We had a very warm welcome when we got to the riad and Adil offered to walk with us to the Souks / Jemaa el Fna (main square) this was a great help to get our bearings and so that we could easily find out way back.

The rest of the service was exceptional and both Adil and Budar went beyond what you would expect from a typical hotel for example walking us to a local hidden restaurant. The riad was nice and clean, with comfy beds and a great shower and all the comforts. Our room on the ground floor felt a little humid at times, but not enough to affect the experience.

The food was also one of the highlights, we ate in on our first night and the lamb tagine was one of the best we had all trip, breakfast was great too.

In terms of location, we found it perfect the square was probably a 15-20 minute walk and the Majorelle Garden (YSL gardens) were about 25-30 minutes walking, personally I like to walk as you get to see the city and don't miss photo opportunities, "lazier" or less confident traveler might prefer something closer to the square though as you are slightly off the proper tourist area, we had no problems and the staff were on hand if we needed them.

I'd recommend the riad and would certainly go back there again!

Room Tip: If I was going back then I'd go for a room not on the ground floor as the ground floor room we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impresssions about your stay in Riad Cannelle.

As our objective is to be dedicated for making our customer' stay as pleasant and flawless as possible, so that they only have to bother about enjoying this wonderful city and having some rest in an exclusive, intimate and charming riad, we are happy when we had some success.

Our cook has talent and is eager to share it and let our customer appreciate the subtle and refined Moroccan flavours. The lamb tagine was a good choice, but she has plenty other amazing receipes for you to discover... next time.

I share your view on the groundfloor room. One of Riad Cannelles exclusive touch of class lays in the amazing suites on the first floor: vast, with bedroom, inner sitting room, dressing, impressive bathroom, and a second - private - adjacent sitting room on the gallery. The groundfloor standard room allows customers to enjoy the pleasure to stay in an upper-class, intimate and guest-dedicated riad "de charme", without going for the reasonable extra-charge for a suite.

We feel happy reading that you contemplate to come back at Riad Cannelle. The pleasure will be as much ours tnan yours, and we'll dedicate our efforts to make it still more pleasant than the first one.

Christian Rattel
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a fantastic 3 days at the Riad Cannelle. Very close to the Souks and the night market. Rooms are lovely, large, bright and spacious. Had lunch in the riad which was delicious. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when you get lost in the souks at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very close to the Souks and Jemaa el Fna, this is the perfect place to stay in Marrakech. The rooms are lovely, (just don't slip in the stone floors and break your wrist like I did!!), it's clean, the food's great and the staff polite, friendly and helpful. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear customer,
Thank you for your kind appraisal.
As you noticed, the quality of services -associated with the vast space offered in our suites - is what makes Riad Cannelle an exception and a niche amongst the riads in Marrakech.
With a competitive quality-price ratio, we try to keep this touch of class affordable, to maximise our customers'experience; so that they bring home only good impressions from their Moroccan stay. I hope we had some succes and that your unfortunate wrist problem will not spoil your trip in Morocco.
I'll beg your pardon in advavce, and I assure you that should we had not our pleasant discussion in the Riad which allowed me to appreciate your open-minded dimension, and knowing UK persons for their unrivaled sense of humor, I would have never dare to kindly tease you as I will:
a/ You should admit, that for someone who succesfully climbed the Toubkal's 4 167 m, there is something strange - almost a British sense of provocation, to slip in a bathroom;
b/ It is sometimes difficult to attract customers; therefore, the last thing we want is to see them broken-down (We need you to come back !!!)
OK, now, so much for the bad jokes (but I warned you before), and back to the fundamentals: I really deeply wish you a prompt and easy settlement, for just the good things to stay in your mind.

Christian Rattel, Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Address: 10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cannelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.