We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cannelle

Save Saved
You added Riad Cannelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Cannelle
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very close to the Souks and Jemaa el Fna, this is the perfect place to stay in Marrakech. The rooms are lovely, (just don't slip in the stone floors and break your wrist like I did!!), it's clean, the food's great and the staff polite, friendly and helpful. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear customer,
Thank you for your kind appraisal.
As you noticed, the quality of services -associated with the vast space offered in our suites - is what makes Riad Cannelle an exception and a niche amongst the riads in Marrakech.
With a competitive quality-price ratio, we try to keep this touch of class affordable, to maximise our customers'experience; so that they bring home only good impressions from their Moroccan stay. I hope we had some succes and that your unfortunate wrist problem will not spoil your trip in Morocco.
I'll beg your pardon in advavce, and I assure you that should we had not our pleasant discussion in the Riad which allowed me to appreciate your open-minded dimension, and knowing UK persons for their unrivaled sense of humor, I would have never dare to kindly tease you as I will:
a/ You should admit, that for someone who succesfully climbed the Toubkal's 4 167 m, there is something strange - almost a British sense of provocation, to slip in a bathroom;
b/ It is sometimes difficult to attract customers; therefore, the last thing we want is to see them broken-down (We need you to come back !!!)
OK, now, so much for the bad jokes (but I warned you before), and back to the fundamentals: I really deeply wish you a prompt and easy settlement, for just the good things to stay in your mind.

Christian Rattel, Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We would thoroughly reccommend this riad. We received the warmest of welcomes from Adil and Budar who were very, very helpful, we felt more like house guests/friends. Nothing at all was too much trouble , even on the first night walking with us for a while in order to get our bearings. You feel the real Marrakech staying in such a lovely traditional riad and the food which was cooked especially for us was superb. It was a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of the outside world.The location was about 15mins walk to the square which was not a problem at all even in the 120 + degree heat we experienced in May 2012. Most riads are set down small streets behind a single wooden door, so dont be put off by location or first imperssion, that is just the way it is. If you are looking for a large hotel and pool with lots of add on facilities then a riad is not for you, however we would not have wanted to visit Marrakech without staying in such a traditional lodging and experiencing the most hospitable, friendly and polite service, which Riad Cannelle gave us. Either Adil or Bader were on call 24hrs per day and we were given their mobile numbers on arrival for any help we may need whilst out and about, nothing was too much trouble .We decide to stay in a suite which was perfect with airconditioning, fridge a spacious bathroom and bedroom with seating area to relax. We took the advice of other travellers and organised airport transfers with the hotel and would reccommend that anyone booking any riad to do the same as all of them can be tricky to find, even for the locals!! We also asked Adil to organise a private driver for a day as we wanted to visit imlil, the foothills of toubkal and sette fatma and one of the waterfalls. We were delighted with both the day trip driver and transfer driver that were organised for us. We could not fault our stay and would most definately like to return very very soon.

Room Tip: Suites have airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear customer,
Thank you for the time you spent to share your view point, and for your warmful appraisal.
You have appreciated what we feel is our justification to be there and what we are : a Riad and not an impersonal, standardized and ordinary touristic company.
Being lover of Marrakech, and lucky to have discovered what a riad is, we wanted to share this, and offer travelers the opportunity to get the flavor of what traditional style was. Of course, we had to make some compromises to satisfy expectations for modern fixtures and comfort, and to introduce our concept of large ensuites but we tried to achieve this without prejudice to the classical atmosphere.
As hospitality is a definitive dimension of Morroco, we made this a strong point in our behavior.
Our goal is to make each traveler' stay an unforgettable pleasant event. We are happy when, through your comments, we feel we have contributed.
Christian Rattel
Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We recently stayed at the Riad Cannelle and we had a fantastic stay. The staff at Riad Cannelle are extremely helpful and attentive, they went over and above what I was expecting!! The Riad itself is beautiful and extremely quite which I was surprised at as it has a great location for the souks and all the hustle and bustle of Medina. I would recommend this Riad to anyone who is travelling to Medina as it has everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you !
We try hard to make Riad Cannelle a little gem in the Medina of Marrrakech.
Sure, we are not the only one, but we pretend we've beenn able to develop a niche:
* Small, in term of number of rooms/ensuites, therefore we can offer a very intimate and dedicated service to our customers;
* However, by the same time, the space offered to our clients, both by the quiete exceptional size ou our ensuites, and the vast common areas and patio, intend to carry the feeling you are in a little palace.
It's sometimes a difficult exercise. We are glad when these efforts have been appreciated, as we uunderstand we helped our client to really enjoy their stay in this wonderful and amazing city.

Christian Rattel
Owner & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We chose this riad because the reviews were so consistently good and we weren't disappointed. The riad was very peaceful and inviting with high levels of cleanliness and excellent food, and the suite was a great size and very comfortable. The most outstanding thing was the service from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and our every need was catered for particularly by Badr whose customer service is second to none.
We would highly recommend anyone to stay here and we will certainly go back. We would recommend booking the taxi for the airport transfer as it is a little difficult to find at first.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Customer;
Thank you for your appraisal & the time you spent to let us know you appreciated your stay.
I'm really glad, and honnoured with the judgement you placed on the quality of the service we provide, and the vast space we offer our customers.
As you noticed, Riad Cannelle stands in the niche of the small, intimate and high range touristic locations. It has been developped to stand its promisses to make the difference among the hundreds of possible alternatives in Marrakech. Our staff is very concious about this, and wants to make the point undebattable. I will personnaly thanks Badr for your appraisal.
We will be delighhted when you'll put your return intent in practice, or send us some of your friends.

Christian Rattel
General Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The staff at this Riad were perfect - v. well organised, friendly, knowledgable about the local area and where not to go (or when to go there). Service faultless...difficult to find as it's a bit tucked away, but for me that just meant no one else had discovered this little gem.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is considerably smaller than the others (there are more expensive options0 so be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent to share it.
I have to apologize for a late reply, but I was out of town and away from internet during the last few days.
I'm really glad that you feel you received a top quality service: this is our objective to offer our customers the maximum of friendly and dedicated attention, to make their stay as pleasant and flawless as possible. Again, thank you for this recognition.
You're right about your comment r.e. one room being smaller than the other ones. The riad has 3 large en-suites to make the visitor feel being in a dream-trip. On the other side, a smaller room (although reasonable vs other riads) has been created to offer customers the opportunity to benefit our top quality environment, services and dedication to travellers needing to control their budget. We are happy to offer this alternative to travellers with budget concerns: thanks to this, they can enjoy a stay in a high range riad, while spending less money than they would for a large en-suite.
I keep in mind that you stated that you would definitively come again. This is a very warmful statement, which provides us the reward for our activity.
We anticipate, with great pleasure, your return - or the one of your friends - to let us the opportunity to offer an unforgettable stay in Riad Cannelle.
You/they will be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Näfels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

the staying in the riad cannelle was just great. very friendly staff and a excellent kitchen. best dinner we had was in riad cannelle and also the best service.
whenever we go back to marocco we go back to riad cannelle!
greats from snowy switzerland

Room Tip: Suite Almohavide
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your appraisal.
We try hard to bring our customer all aspectsof Moroccan lifestyle. The food being one of them, we pay a special atttention to provide genuine, and varied local cooking.
We are happy when our customers enjoy it and bring back more than images from their trip.
We will be delighted to see you again and let you appreciate other dimensions of Morrocan life.

Christian Rattel, owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The stay at Riad Cannelle was fantastic. We stayed at the beginning of our holiday in Morocco and at the end of our stay. Staff ensured we were well looked cared for taking us to a restuarant and picking us up from the airport for a small fee. Levels of cleanliness are very high courtesy and service excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianRattel, Propriétaire at Riad Cannelle, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
DearCustomer,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your opinion.

We are really happy you appreciated the qualilty of service. As this is an on going dedication to our customers, we're glad to hear we succeeded.
Being a small unit, top-quality personal services is, with large en-suites and fine decoration, the dimension which makes Raid Cannelle on the top end of luxury while intimate riads.

I hope the 10 other days you spent tripping Morocco betwwen your first and last stay with us have given you the same level of satisfaction.

Christian Rattel, Owner & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Address: 10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cannelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.