We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tranquil Oasis in the Midst of Hustle & Bustle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cannelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cannelle to your Saves list
Riad Cannelle
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Tranquil Oasis in the Midst of Hustle & Bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just returned back from an Oct 21-25 trip from a very friendly riad run by Adil and Badr. These guys make you feel very welcome and have great knowledge of the local areas, showing you around personally in order to help get your bearings. Souks are a 5 min walk and the Square around 15 mins.

The riad is a very serene place where you can escape the chaotic culture outside. We had a lovely 4 poster bed with lounge area and ensuite. The ladies who service the rooms leave them immaculate and even re-fold your clothes onto a clothes horse, should you leave them out. The outside surrounds as with most riads within the medina are juxtaposed with local life which on first sight seems a bit threatening but you soon realise its not the case.

We had an authentically cooked meal in the riad, but the best food by miles is in the square with the local guys who set up sausage and kebab bbqs every night.

The local restaurant that the riad recommended is extremely expensive - a fixed price of around £100 for 2 people vs a typical evening meal price of £20. However the spa that was recommended was amazing.

A wonderful riad for an amazing city

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Riad Cannelle helped make our Marrakech mini-break absolutely fantastic. This lovely Riad is centrally located in Marrakech old town, just a short walk (10-15 mins) from the main square and souks. We stayed in the double room, which is the smallest in the Riad, and found it to be very comfortable and clean. The courtyard area in the Riad is peaceful and pretty, a lovely spot to relax and chat. The team working at the Riad could not have been more helpful or have made us feel more at home- they greeted us with tea and cake when we arrived, organised our airport transfer and a trip to the High Altas, and even walked out with us on our first day to make sure we wouldn't get lost. We ate at the Riad on our first night, and having requested a light dinner were treated to an absolutely delicious feast of Moroccan salads. We really had the perfect stay here, and would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Marrakech, particularly if you are looking for a relaxing and romantic break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Very peaceful,clean & quiet. Well looked after. Adil and Badr went out of their way to advise us about dos and donts. Showed us around initially to get our bearings. Genuinely concerned for our well being. Centrally located in Medina, good sober decor including terrace with the option of excursions and airport transfer - airport transfers highly recomended. Stayed in Suite and was a grand experience.

Room Tip: All first floor rooms are good. Ground floor room may experience some noise as the breakfast is serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Can confirm what everyone else is saying: stay here if you want peace, comfort, tranquillity and the best customer care available. Adil and Badr couldn't have been more helpful, genuinely concerned for our safety (Marrakesh is not dangerous, just chaotic) and keen to make our stay just perfect. Well situated, with lovely roof-top terrace (great in evening), food excellent and with the option of getting excursions organised for you (and airport transfer - well worth it, especially if new to Marrakesh). Choose suite if you can - double room a bit small, but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Really good location, however would really recommend accepting the airport transfer offered by the riad - we decided just to get a taxi but the taxi drivers are less than friendly and we got totally lost on the first night trying to find this riad, made stressful with the local scallywags insisting on "showing you the way" for a fee. Luckily the riad staff are so helpful, we called them and they collected us from a local landmark.

Breakfast is provided in the courtyard, served when you want it- good strong coffee, bread, pastries and things that looked like a cross between a crumpet and a pancake!

We had a really lovely stay and would return to this raid. We had the suite room which was a double bed, safe, sofa area, big rainfall shower, traditional furnishings. Out on the corridor was a personal seating area where you can overlook the courtyard if you wanted a change of scenery.

Soap and towels and hairdryer provided.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stunning Riad, very clean and staff really friendly and accommodating. With the Riad being located about a 15 minute walk from the square, it was a great location to get a feel of the authentic side of Marrakesh. Both myself and my friends who I stayed with were very impressed and had a great time and would definately stay at Riad Cannelle if we ware to ever go back to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Our visit could have been a very different first experience of Marrakech – had it not been for the exceptional care and assistance of Riad Cannelle staff.
Staying in the Medina with its narrow alleyways can be very confusing but Adil and Badr patiently explained how to get to points of interest and actually accompanied us to exchange currency.
The Riad itself was a delightful heaven of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.
Furnishings had clearly been chosen with care and the rooms and public areas were very clean.
Would definitely recommend this riad for anyone wishing to stay within walking distance of the souks and main square.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Address: 10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cannelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.