We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cannelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Cannelle to your Saves list
Riad Cannelle
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a beautiful place to stay. It is reasonably priced, the Riad is gorgeous, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. They gave us a tour to orientate us in Marrakech on our first night's stay, and were generally really welcoming. The Riad was very clean and beautifully decorated. I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech and hope to return there myself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Peter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We went to Marrakech for a week and I was not only stunned by that wonderful city but also by this gorgeous riad. Riad Cannelle is well located, offers great services and is absoloutely beautiful. We enjoyed a great stay and l look forward to going again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in Riad Cannelle in July 2011. It was a short walk to the Souks and the Square.
The mananger and Bada were very welcomign and couldn't do enough for you. On our first day we wanted to venture to the Souks and the manager led us the way, making sure we had a good idea of the way back. I cannot praise the staff and hotel enough, it was exceptional value for money.
If I had to pick a fault, it would be that it is at the bottom of a lane which is rather uninviting but behind the door is a hidden gem of Marrakesh.

we ate at the hotel on our last day and we had the most fantastic Tagine, it was out of this world, I regret not eating there more than once during our stay.

As a tip for anyone visiting Marrakesh, I'd say keep it short, 3/4 days is plenty and do avoid late July as the heat was unbearable especially as the Riad doe snot have a pool.

We had a lovely stay at Riad cannelle and would certainly return there and recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Do book the suite, it was a fantastic bathroom and is great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We recently stayed at the Riad Cannelle in April. Badl and Adil could not have been more friendlier and served breakfast every day in the courtyard. The Riad is a fantastic traditional place to stay and our suite was lovely, there was always a cold beer available after a hard day in the Souks.
The Riad is around 15 minutes walk from the Square but you have to pass many streets which gives you a glimpse into every day live in Marrakech. We would definetly return to Marrakesh and stay at the Riad Canelle in the future as we wanted to purchase rugs which Adil has said he has a great contact for. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: The suite upstairs overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Have just come back from Marrakesh and a fantastic stay in Riad Cannelle.
As you are probably doing now...I trawled the web for months trying to find the best accomodation with the best budget. My long search paid off .

Riad Cannelle was just beautiful, small enough to be personal too. The rooms are beautiful and clean as they are cleaned daily. Breakfast is served in the courtyard ( I am sure you could have it wherever you chose ! ) but the courtyard is beautiful, birds singing , the water fountain trickling and peaceful music makes you want to sit there all day ! . The attention to detail is great. The food is lovely too. You can order beer, wine, mint tea , cocktails pretty much whatever you want.

When we first arrived we thought we should use the Riad as we would a usual accomodation, just as a base. However, as time went on we realised that the staff at the Riad were very helpful and so were not just providing accomodation but assistance once we left the riad for the day too. For example. Adil took us to buy tickets to go to Essouaria.

We were caught short one night and had no food. Badr arrived to our room about fifteen minutes later with a beautiful salad as if by magic!
I would definately suggest asking the staff for advice as they are of course very knowledgeable.

I couldnt even describe the experience here as fantastic service. It felt like staying with family. I would just loved to have stayed longer .
Thanks Adil and Badr for making our holiday so special .



The Souks can catch you out if you go there at the wrong time ( ie evening..... dont be caught out by thinking that just because it is light you will be OK !) Badr did advise getting a taxi to the main square in the evening which will avoid the souks . I would definately suggest sticking to the Souks in what would be your usual working hours

Room Tip: perhaps book direct with the riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Cannelle in November 2010. The Riad was fantastic as were all the staff, especially the manager Adil (and the wonderful man who saved me on his motorbike when I got lost in the Souks - thank you again ! ). I can honestly say that this place is a little gem in Marrakech and excellent value for money. I am quite relutant to write this review as I don't want to let the secret out ! I am currently in the process of hiring the whole Riad to take my family back in May this year. Louisa and Sam x

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

The Staff here at Riad Cannelle are definently the main draw card, where else can you find such a personalised service but here at Riad Cannelle. We had only planned to stay for 2 nights but loved it so much that we extended for another 3!

Nothing was ever too much of a problem and the staff were super friendly and genuinely interested in their guests.

We stayed in the smallest of the 4 rooms which is located on the ground floor, but it was perfect for our needs, the whole Riad was done up in a traditional way with loads of drapes and cushions everywhere. I think the best part was being woken up in the morning by the call to prayer, this was a wonderful experience which im sure is not to some peoples tastes.

We never ate any food from the Riad as there were far too many other great options in Marrakech but they did offer a dinner menu for those who wanted to stay in and enjoy the peacefulness of the Riad.

The roof terrace was a great place to relax during the day as was all the comfortable couches on the ground floor in the courtyard. The Riad offered free wifi which was great but it didnt work too great in the room yet it was much better to be sitting on the couches anyway while surfing the internet in the courtyard.

Breakfast consisted of French and Moroccan pastries, Coffee and spreads as well as a yummy freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Address: 10, derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cannelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.