We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Excellent But...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Des Orangers

Save Saved
You added Riad Des Orangers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Des Orangers
43 Derb El Hammam | Quartier Assouel, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #399 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bamako, Mali
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could be Excellent But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

When we arrived around midday, the staff didn't seem very welcoming as if we had woken them from a nap. They were later very helpful and went out of their way on many occasions. The food was excellent (breakfast and dinner). The Riad was very well decorated and the room was comfortable. We were on the ground floor and the noise was not a problem as it can be in some riads. One problem is that we think the maid took some clothing items. We were not 100% sure so did not say anything to the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We visited this Riad just to shop for Joanna Bristow jewelery as they stock it in their boutique. Whilst there we had a look around and it was very impressive. Certainly worth considering if you're visiting Marrakech. If you're looking for Joanna Bristow jewelery then this is the place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I found Riad Des Orangers onliıne through an Expedia booking. The room was beautifully decorated with all sorts of amazing delights you can find in the souks. The owner and his wife made us feel like family. Breakfast was great and plenty for starting the day. The main square as with all the Riads is a bit of an adventure to find at first but you soon know the beaten path. Ask for a beer and sit on the sundeck for a fantastic vacation feel. We will be sure to return on our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We debunked from a sterile hotel and found this advertising on the tourist map from the Airport. the owner and his wife are a delight but English is limited. Rooms are fab and food was very good and reasonably priced. We were a bit nervous about going out as first time visitors to the Medina, so I would recommend getting a guide if you can find someone to vouch for one. They booked us an airport taxi for E15 (much more civilised than the local taxi drivers (Voleurs in French I think!) for an early start and got up and made us breakfast and saw us off-nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

My wife found this lovely place online. They arranged our transfers to and from the riad with the very helpful driver called Abdul. They were always available to help with any request we had. Nothing was too much trouble. They also provided great home cooking. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this riad to anyone who wanted to stay in the centre of Marrakech. Don't bother staying in one of the luxury hotels if you want to see and hear the real sights and sounds of this wonderful city.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Although not a 5 star hotel i could find no fault so it gets 5 stars.Like every where in the Medina it's difficult to find until you recognise a few land marks.Get a taxi(small one)to take you to the Hospital Antaki and grab a local to guide (every one is a giude £2-3 should do it)to take you there,it really is just a 2 minute walk.Don't be put off by the alley where you will be staying because behind the door is an oasis of warmth and friendliness.The staff could not be more helpful and accomodating,especially Atika the young manageress.Very early breakfast,evening meals,mint tea,and alcohol any time.She speaks no english so a splattering of french helps.She will organize excursions for you and inform you the maximum to pay for taxi's. I hope this is of some help.Jon

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Des Orangers

Address: 43 Derb El Hammam | Quartier Assouel, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Riad Des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.