We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just came from Harmonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Harmonia

Save Saved
You added Riad Harmonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Harmonia
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   87 Derb Jamaa - Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #477 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Pontevedra, Spain
1 review
“Just came from Harmonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We just came yesterday from Marrakech, and I would like to send you a few words.
Generally speaking, all has been perfect.
Since we arrived at the airport, we were received by the van who drove us to one of the sides of Jemal El Fnaa. There, we had a bellboy waiting for us who took our luggage to the riad.
Upon arriving at the riad we were assigned to each of the rooms (all four rooms on the first floor).
Breakfasts were excellent and well prepared. Always with bread, jams Moroccan toasts (I don't know their name), tea, coffee, orange juice, and one of the days, an excellent omelette/fried eggs.
We were also offered one dinner and it was very good:
Some typical salads, then poulet caramelizé et citroné, that was very good. and some Moroccan pastries as desert.

All in all we have had a very good time. Rooms were always clean and ready when we came back from outside.
The decoration of the Riad is quite neutral, what I think is very good.

Ahmed, Aldo and the girl in the kitchen (I don't remember her name) were very handful all the time. La famme de menáge, I suppose was good also.

If there was something that I would like to have changed is the check-in process.
Instead of being wuite a long time filling up the documents, this could probably have been done by Ahmed the following day when we were having breakfast.

But frankly, you have very competitive prices and value for money the offer is very good.
Congratulations.

Indeed we will recommend the riad to our friends or will come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Located a minute's walk from the hustle and bustle of central Marrakesh. Unbelievablely quiet.

Very friendly and helpful staff, can even watch premiership football if you need a break.

Superior double room is absolutely amazing, def worth paying for. Someone around at all times of day and night. Although down alleys, they are well lit and very safe.

Would not even consider looking elsewhere if returning to Marrakech.

Aldo, the manager, attends to every need. Good breakfast and tea on request. Who could want more.

Room Tip: Superior double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed there in 2010. Typical riad: no central roof and the wedding reception next door for one night went on till 4am! This was unusal. Excellent all round. You get to the riad through an escorted trip along a narrow lane to this door and then it opens up to something special. Generally quiet at night, hospitable folk. Not far from the central square but remarkably quiet. A week in Marakesh is really too long but the four of us hired a taxi for the day (several times) and went off to various places - even an "animal" souk - and Mr Virgin's retreat which costs a lot if you want to stay there!

Room Tip: all room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

I traveled for four days with my friends and we were delighted and amazed at your Riad. The service was incredible and the staff were very hospitable and caring. 
The house is very clean, well maintained and with good finishes. The breakfast is very varied and good. The location is perfect, it's located just a 5 minutes walk from the main square, Djemaa el Fna. The ground floor room, where we installed, is fabulous and very clean. 
Finally, this Riad deserves Rating Excellent! 
I loved and recommend!

Marlene Alves from Portugal

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This riad was an excellent place to stay. We were here for three nights, and all three were incredible. The riad only has five guest rooms, so it really does feel like home. It was beautifully decorated, and captured the exotic Moroccan feel.

Lamia and her staff were excellent hosts, and always took the time to sit down and talk to us about things to do in Marrakech and she also arranged our airport transfers and such.

Despite what some reviewers have said, the breakfast is perfectly adequate. While it is not a big hotel breakfast buffet, it has many courses and is quite good. On all three days, we had eggs and crepes made for us, as well as bread and croissants with a selection of jams, jellies, etc.

Also the location only adds to the charm. When we arrived the first night after dark, navigating the alley was intimidating, but by the next day we had figured out where the riad was and had no trouble getting there and back. It is located centrally, just a 3-5 minute walk from the main square, Djemaa el Fna.

The riad was exceptionally clean as well, our rooms were freshened each day and we noticed the staff cleaning the floors each morning.

The pool shown in the picture is really a big jacuzzi. It is quite nice to use, but is not heated, so I would recommend taking a soak in the middle of the day, when the sun from above heats it naturally.

The rooftop terrace was also a great way to unwind after a day of walking and touring.

In all, I would highly recommend this raid for your stay in Marrakech. Nothing beats the personal touch and B&B feel of this riad!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the orange bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The best thing about Riad Harmonia in our opinion is the location. I see someone has complained about the alleyway location but in my opinion this adds to the charm and lets you live as a local. (with additional luxuries of course!) Booking this riad was simplicity itself as we used luxury-riads.com who not only provided a free transfer from the airport but also guided us right to the front door. The price we paid for our break was actually cheaper than the walk in price which we thought was good as opposite usually applies in North Africa. I must also mention the superb breakfast, absolutely fantastic and definitely worth getting up a bit early for. Great riad, great staff, great time – 10 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was close to the Jema Al Fnaa (main Square) but didn;t realise it would be right along in an alleyway. We had to travel through the back alleyways to get to this Riad and that didnt feel safe at night. The narrow road leading to the alleyways had guys riding mopeds and we had to walk stuck to the walls on the side. Also we didnt feel like hanging out in our rooms because there was no TV, and there was always people talking till late at night and laughing and it was hard to sleep. They said the hotel had a swimming pool but it was a small pool right in the middle of the entrance that you could only paddle in and everyone could see you, it was more for decorative purposes then actuall y being a functional pool. The only good thing was the hospitality by the 2 people there Sam and Lamia was very nice, even though we would wake up way too late for breakfast they would always make us fresh pancakes and eggs which was nice. We initially planned to stay 5 nights but left after 2 nights and moved into the New City area which was nice and modern and our hotel Nassim was on the main road, had a proper swimming pool, restaurant and bar. We would cometo the square - Jema El Fnnaa in the evenings mainly to go to the souks there. I think its nice to visit the square but I didnt want to live right next to it. Too noisy. One major problem was because we had reserved the Room here in Riad Harmonia for 5 nights through the internet we couldn't just pay for 2nights and check out we had to pay for trhe full 5 nights and then check out as they told us this was in the Morrocon Law and we had the pay the full amount via cash as they didnt accept credit cards. But we didnt care after the first day, we just wanted to move into a hotel on a main street, even if it meant paying for both hotels whch is what we did.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Harmonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Harmonia

Address: 87 Derb Jamaa - Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Harmonia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Harmonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Harmonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.